ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Band Review - The Bloodhound Gang

Updated on March 30, 2010

The Bloodhound Gang

Bloodhound Gang History

Bloodhound Gang (1992-Present)

The Bloodhound Gang was formed in Collegeville, Pennsylvania. As a musical Genre, they would probably be classified as Comedic punk/alternative rock. Their lyrics tend to be lude and crude, and by no means is good listening for the younger audience. Sexually explicit, racially charged, just down right wrong. Although I say this. It is all meant in tongue and check. They are just guys being guys and saying things that are a bit ridiculous, but do it in a playful way. And, their musicality is so good, and the talent so high, they are well worth giving a shot, if you are not overly sensitive to questionable lyrics.

Currently the band members consist of:
Jimmy Pop – Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Evil Jared Hasslehoff – Bass
DJ Q-Ball – Turntables, Keyboard
The Yin – Drums
Denial P. Carter – Lead Guitar

From 1992, the band went through some changed, Originally they called themselves Bang Chamber 8 and were more in the Rap Genre, but renamed themselves to The Bloodhound gang early on, even before their first Demo record, called Just another Demo. Tracks on this demo show up later on their EP and First album also.
1. Coo Coo Ca Choo
2. Rang Dang
3. No Rest for the Wicked
4. She Ain't Got No Legs
5. Mama Say

In April of 1994, they released their second demo, called The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack to Hitler's Handicapped Helpers, this demo resulted in a record deal with Cheese Factory Records. This demo included tracks that were later re-released on Dingleberry Haze, their first EP, and again on their first album, Use your Fingers.
1. Coo Coo Ca Choo
2. Rang Dang
3. No Rest for the Wicked
4. She Ain't Got No Legs
5. Mama Say

Their first real release came in the form of a song on the sound track for the short, independent film, The Chick That Was Naked

DingleBerry Haze - 1994

They released their first EP, Dingleberry Haze, with Cheese Factory Records in November of 1994.  They intended to include more songs on this album, but time constraints caused them to cut it a little short.  This EP included the tracks:
1. Go Down
2. Cheese Tidbit
3. Legend In My Spare Time
4. Neighbour Invasion
5. Mama Say
6. Rang Dang
7. Earlameyer The Butt Pirate
8. One Way
9. Record Offer
10. Coo Coo Ca Choo
11. Live At The Apollo

Use Your Fingers - 1995

In 1995 Bloodhound Gang signed a deal with Columbia Records. Use your Fingers was released in July of 1995, it was their first full length album. This gave them their first U.S tour. During this time Daddy long legs and M.S.G left the bad due to issues with Columbia house. They started their own Band called Wolfpac. Evil Jared Hasselhoff and Tard-E-Tard joined the band to take their place. The album featured a lot of the same tracks previously released, but did include several new tracks as well. Tard-E-Tard left shortly after the tour, to pursue other opportunities. After the tour, Clumbia Records dropped the deal.

1. Rip Taylor Is God
2. We Are the Knuckleheads
3. Legend in My Spare Time
4. B.H.G.P.S.A.
5. Mama Say
6. Kids in America
7. You're Pretty When I'm Drunk
8. The Evils of Placenta Hustling
9. One Way
10. Shitty Record Offer
11. Go Down
12. Earlameyer the Butt Pirate
13. No Rest for the Wicked
14. She Ain't Got No Legs
15. We Like Meat
16. Coo Coo Ca Choo
17. Rang Dang
18. Nightmare at the Apollo
19. K.I.D.S. Incorporated
20. Untitled Hidden Track

The Bad Touch

Album cover

One Feirce Beer Coaster - 1996,1998

In March of 1996 One Fierce Beer Coaster was released under Cheese Factory. This album had their first big hit “Fire Water Burn”. And the Controversial track “Yellow Fever”, that was removed from the album at some point, for a while. The album was re-released under Geffen Records in 1998, and they embarked on their first real tour, covering the United States and Europe.

On a personal note. I think this is a great album. All the tracks are well done, from start to finish.

1. Kiss Me Where It Smells Funny
2. Lift Your Head Up High (And Blow Your Brains Out)
3. Fire Water Burn
4. Yellow Fever
5. I Wish I Was Queer So I Could Get Chicks
6. Why's Everybody Always Pickin' On Me?
7. It's Tricky
8. Asleep at the Wheel
9. Shut Up
10. Your Only Friends Are Make Believe
11. Boom (ft. Vanilla Ice)
12. Going Nowhere Slow
13. Reflections of Remoh
14. Hidden Track

Album Cover

Hooray for Boobies - 2000

Hooray for boobies what the bands third album, and featured the hit single “The Bad Touch”, it was released in February of 2000. This album led to two European tours and generated over 5 million album sales.  In 2003 The band released a DVD of “Hooray for Boobies” tour, titled “Once fierce Beer run”
1. I Hope You Die
2. The Inevitable Return of the Great White Dope
3. Mama's Boy
4. Three Point One Four
5. Mope
6. Yummy Down on This
7. The Ballad of Chasey Lain
8. R.S.V.P
9. Magna cum Nada
10. The Bad Touch
11. That Cough Came with a Prize
12. Take the Long Way Home
13. Hell Yeah
14. Right Turn, Clyde
15. This Is Stupid
16. A Lap Dance Is So Much Better When the Stripper Is Crying
17. The Ten Coolest Things About New Jersey
18. Along Comes Mary
47. Studio Bullshit

Album Cover

Hefty Fine - 2005

Hefty Fine was released in September of 2005, and features several great tracks.  “Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo” was the first single released, followed by "Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss“ (Love that song).  The band is currently working on a new album, but no dates have been set as of yet.
1. Strictly for the Tardcore
2. Balls Out (Franks/Jimmy Pop & Stigliano/Lüpüs Thunder)
3. Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo (Franks/Jimmy Pop & Hennegan/Evil Jared)
4. I'm the Least You Could Do
5. Farting with a Walkman On
6. Diarrhea Runs in the Family
7. Ralph Wiggum
8. Something Diabolical (Franks/Jimmy Pop & Dean/DJ Q-Ball)(Featuring Ville Valo)
9. Overheard in a Wawa Parking Lot
10. Pennsylvania
11. Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss Uhn Tiss (Featuring Natasha Thorp)
12. Jackass [exclusive to European release]
13. No Hard Feelings

In Conclusion

The Bloodhound gang is an interesting and talented group.  Well worth giving a shot.  With the understanding that once in a while they way things that are a little over the top.  Personally, I find One Fierce Beer Coaster and Hefty fine to be the best albums, but all have tracks worth having.  Definitely two thumbs up for this group and the music they provide.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.