ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo--Movie Review

Updated on June 22, 2011
Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist
Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist
Noomi Rapace, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
Noomi Rapace, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

If you like complicated mysteries and don't mind a couple of graphic, kinky rape scenes you'll like "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" based on the first book of a trilogy by Swedish writer Stieg Larsson. I haven't read Larsson's book but I'm told that the movie follows its main and sub-plots faithfully. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Lisbeth Salander, played by Noomi Rapace, is an improbable character--a 24-year-old skilled computer hacker, investigator, practitioner of martial arts, motorcycle rider, rebel who helps middle aged reporter, Mikael Blomqvist, solve a 40-year mysterious disappearance of a retired Swedish industrialist Henrik Vanger's favorite niece. She also helps Blomqvist turn the tables on another industrialist who set him up for a libel conviction which got him a jail term. She has been likened to Pippi Longstocking.

Henrik Vanger, played convincingly by Sven-Bertil Taube, is the 80-year-old patriarch of the Vanger family and retired CEO of the Vanger Corporation. Henrik and several other members of the Vanger family live on an island not far from Stockholm. Henrik is a sympathetic character, but his brother and nephew are fans of Hitler. Vanger believes that his favorite niece was murdered by another member of the family although her body was never found. Before she disappeared mysteriously at age 18, Henrik's niece, Harriet Vanger gave him a gift of pressed flowers on his birthday every year. After her disappearance or murder Henrik continued to receive pressed flowers on his birthday every year mailed from various places around the world. Vanger believes the flowers are being sent by Harriet's murderer in order to taunt and torture him. He hires Mikael Blomqvist to unravel the mystery of Harriet's murder or disappearance. Blomqvist convinces the Girl with the Dragon tattoo to help him solve the mystery.

The movie is in Swedish with English subtitles. It broke all attendance records in Sweden and is expected to win prizes at the Cannes Film Festival.


NOTE: The videos on this hub below can be watched by clicking on the arrow, and then clicking on the underlined message "Watch on YouTube."


Who is the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Sven-Bertil Taube and Michael Nyqvist
Sven-Bertil Taube and Michael Nyqvist
Michael Nyqvist as Mikael Blomqvist with photo of Harriet Vanger
Michael Nyqvist as Mikael Blomqvist with photo of Harriet Vanger
Pippi Longstocking with a nose ring and a Dragon Tattoo
Pippi Longstocking with a nose ring and a Dragon Tattoo
Stieg Larsson
Stieg Larsson

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks for your comment. A comment from your wife would be welcome as well.

    • Brian Burton profile image

      Brian Burton 

      7 years ago

      Ah, like a good review. The wife has read the trilogy and will be wanting to see this soon. I really liked your explanation of the main character "Noomi Rapace, is an improbable character--a 24-year-old skilled computer hacker, investigator, practitioner of martial art..." Glad to know this so I can shut the mind off and just go with it :) Great review, thank you!

    • jeremytorres profile image

      jeremytorres 

      7 years ago

      Great review. Wanna watch this movie.

    • raystine profile image

      raystine 

      7 years ago

      I read the book and found it interesting and thought the Swedish movie version was good too. I hear a US version is coming out soon. I hope it's as good as the Swedish one!

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      The longtime companion of Stieg Larsson, the posthumously best-selling author of the Millennium trilogy, has resorted to unusual means to win control of Larssons literary legacy.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      I believe there are three movies made in Sweden and one or more coming this year from Hollywood. Thanks for you comment.

    • Jean Bakula profile image

      Jean Bakula 

      7 years ago from New Jersey

      I read all three books and wrote a review on both The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played With Fire. I am gearing up for my last review of the trilogy. I have not seen the movies though. Are there two different sets of movies? I hear different things which lead me to believe this?

    • prettydarkhorse profile image

      prettydarkhorse 

      7 years ago from US

      nice and I haven't seen this yet. I think I will have to wait for it to be on a DVD. Thank you. Maita

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Alisha, thanks for your kind comment. Hubpages may be the best publishing medium for movie reviews, much better than newspapers and magazines because it offers the opportunity to pull together live videos, a variety of photos and links to other reviews and sources of information about the movie and the actors.

    • Alisha W profile image

      Alisha W 

      7 years ago

      You did a fantastic job no your hub! I did one on the book and the movie, but nothing as good as yours! I have read all three books and have seen all three movies.The movies were awesome!The two movies, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and The Girl who played with fire are out on dvds. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest, is still showing at theaters.Noomi Rapace did an outstanding job playing Lisbeth Salander. In the last two movies she got top billing, which is good because of all the stuffs she had to do to make her character so believable.And yes the movies are a lot different then the books!

    • pinkdaisy profile image

      pinkdaisy 

      8 years ago from Canada

      This movie is amazing!

    • Kelly Comas profile image

      Kelly Comas 

      8 years ago

      Saw this just yesterday and thought it was a pretty good whodunit. I hope Hollywood doesn't mess up their version.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      We saw "The Secret is in Their Eyes" last week. I agree with your reaction. I've been meaning to do a HubReview but haven't had time due to other commitments (three days of racing on Lake St. Clair with two of my kids).

      Thanks for your comment. You should do a HubReview.

    • profile image

      Wiz 

      8 years ago

      I enjoyed this movie as well and I just wanted to give you all a heads up on a film that I thought was even more fascinating and enjoyable. It won the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film this past year, but it was far better than any movie I've seen in the last five years. The plot and story is so well written and executed that I can't praise it enough.

      Here is a link:

      http://www.sonyclassics.com/thesecretintheireyes/

    • barranca profile image

      barranca 

      8 years ago

      I watched this movie on the internet and enjoyed it quite a lot. Particularly liked the performance of Noomi Rapace.

    • profile image

      remogrv@yahoo.in 

      8 years ago

      so cute

    • profile image

      90% off on all Premium Magazines 

      8 years ago

      Larsson builds his characters beautifully

      __________________________________________

    • profile image

      The other Ralph 

      8 years ago

      I've been noticing this one at the local San Antonio art-film house and decided not to see it. But your review changed my mind, so I will chance it.

      Thanks for the good review.....

      H. Ralph

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      One to watch out for then Ralph

    • patrick fealey profile image

      patrick fealey 

      8 years ago from California

      nyqvist looks like journalists i have known, a balance of idealistic enthusiasm and burn-out. i'd like to see it.

    • breakfastpop profile image

      breakfastpop 

      8 years ago

      I have read a lot about this movie and I am planning on seeing it. Thanks Ralph..

    • Coolmon2009 profile image

      Coolmon2009 

      8 years ago from Texas, USA

      Interesting article, think I will have to see this movie thank you for the review.

    • alekhouse profile image

      Nancy Hinchliff 

      8 years ago from Essex Junction, Vermont

      I love complicated mysteries, and this looks like a good one, never mind the rape scenes. Looks like the acting will be great. Probably will watch it. Do you think I can get it at Netflix?

    • cajunrooster profile image

      John David LeCoq 

      8 years ago from San Antonio, Texas

      I am going to have to see this movie. I don't mind some graphic content and the plot seems riveting. I do write screenplays and I love to go and see good movies and how they are crafted. Thanks for the heads up. Another great hub, Mr. Ralph.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      It's been playing for three weeks or a month in Detroit. It premiered in the U.S. March 6, 2010 at the Miami Film Festival. Thanks for your comment. (I wouldn't recommend it to my grandmother or the preacher's wife because of its graphic, violent sex scenes.)

    • FCEtier profile image

      Chip 

      8 years ago from Cold Mountain

      You got my attention. May have to check this one out. Did you mention the release date for the movie -- or did I miss it?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)