ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Hound of the Baskervilles Film Review

Updated on September 7, 2019
Coffeequeeen profile image

I am a film enthusiast and enjoy reviewing films I have watched. I like all sorts of films but mainly black & white ones from the 50's & 60s

Actor
Character
Andre Morell
Doctor Watson
Peter Cushing
Sherlock Holmes
Christopher Lee
Sir Henry
David Oxley
Sir Hugo
Marla Landi
Cecilie Stapleton
Miles Malleson
Bishop Frankland
Francis Wolff
Dr Richard Mortimer

About the film

Released: 1959

Director: Terence Fisher

Producer: Anthony Hinds

Running time: 1 hr 27 mins

Genre: Mystery, Horror

Distributed by: United Artists


The Film

Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson are asked to investigate the murder of Sir Charles Baskerville by Dr Richard Mortimer. Mortimer believes that Charles was killed by a terrifying hound. The legend is that this hound also killed Charles' ancestor, Sir Hugo Baskerville centuries before. The film is set in Baskerville Hall. Holmes and Watson have the job of solving this curious case, and try to figure out why and how Charles Baskerville was killed. Sir Henry is the owner of Baskerville Hall, and Dr Mortimer is worried that he will be in danger of this curse that has befallen the Baskerville family for centuries. Sir Henry doesn't actually believe that the hound is real, but that a psychopath is roaming loose around the Moors. He thinks this because he was told that a convict has recently escaped from Dartmoor Prison. Sir Henry has recently returned from South Africa to take control of the estate, and Holmes warns him of dangers out on the Moors.

With this intriguing case going on and Holmes and Watson trying to figure out what has been going on, the film takes us on a dark journey in and around Baskerville Hall and we witness what has been going on. This film unravels the mystery of the hound and what really happened. It also explores what really happen to Sir Hugo and Sir Charles and the real reason behind the curse that has afflicted this aristocrat family for so many years.

My thoughts

Written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and coming from Hammer Film Productions, this film does not disappoint. Sherlock Holmes with his famous hat and pipe with his sidekick Dr Watson delivers a fantastic and enjoyable film. Peter Cushing who plays Holmes plays a strong character in the film, and does a wonderful job at playing the famous detective.

This film has a slightly dark and gothic feel to it. The storyline, however, is really good and the acting is strong. Christopher Lee plays Sir Henry. I've always really liked him as an actor, and he does not disappoint in this film. He plays an excellent part of the British aristocrat and works well the Peter Cushing and Andre Morell. Christopher Lee has played Sherlock Holmes in subsequent films. I've not seen these though, so can't compare his performance in those films. But I think he plays Holmes well in this film.

Towards the end of the film we get to see the hound. I did find this a little disappointing to be honest as it lacked the fear factor you'd expect in a film like this. Although the ending was a little bit less dramatic than I anticipated, I still found the film on a whole enjoyable and watchable. The storyline is good and the actors played a strong part and came across well on screen.

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • rdsparrowriter profile image

      Rochelle Ann De Zoysa 

      24 months ago from Moratuwa, Sri Lanka

      My favourite is Sherlock Holmes :) Interesting :)

    • clivewilliams profile image

      Clive Williams 

      2 years ago from Jamaica

      Anything Holms is a hit with me

    • Sean Dragon profile image

      Ioannis Arvanitis 

      2 years ago from Greece, Almyros

      I am a huge fan of Sherlock, and I have seen and read everything!

      This one is a good film, consider the time that filmed, and I really liked Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee and the gothic feel.

      Excellent review my dear Louise, as always!

      Sean

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      2 years ago from USA

      Never saw this one but enjoy Sherlock Holmes. Thanks for the review!

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      2 years ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Margie. Yes, I love them too.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      2 years ago from Norfolk, England

      Oh was it? It was on TV the other day, but can't remember what side I watched it on now. Thanks Frank for the lovely comment.

    • Margie Lynn profile image

      Margie's Southern Kitchen 

      2 years ago from the USA

      Louise, I love the older movies, thanks for your great review!

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      2 years ago from Shelton

      Coffee.. you really trigger my memories with your reviews.. I enjoyed this movie and the few remakes.. but none better than the original score.. in fact I saw it on BBC a few months back and it was a treat.. just like your review...:)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)