ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Iron Lady Film Review

Updated on June 24, 2020
Actor
Character
Meryl Streep
Margaret Thatcher
Alexandra Roach
Young Margaret Thatcher
Jim Broadbent
Denis Thatcher
Harry Lloyd
Young Denis Thatcher
Olivia Colman
Carol Thatcher
Richard E. Grant
Michael Heseltine
Paul Bentley
Douglas Hurd
Michael Pennington
Michael Foot
Robin Kermode
John Major
Micholas Farrell
Airey Neale

About the film

  • Released: 2011
  • Director: Phyllida Lloyd
  • Producer: Damian Jones
  • Running time: 1 hr 45 mins
  • Genre: Drama, Biography
  • Budget: $13,000,000


The Film

This biographical film tells the story of the late Margaret Thatcher, who was Prime Minister of Great Britain for 11 years. It covers her life from her early days when her parents owned a Grocers shop in Grantham. It also covers her political rise from the early days to her role as Prime Minister, and the course she took in a very male dominated world to the doors of 10 Downing Street.

The film begins with a now elderly Mrs Thatcher at home. Her husband, Denis, has recently passed away and her daughter, Carol, is with her. Throughout the film we see Mrs Thatcher talking to Denis as if he is still there. Although the film is set in the present, it will flash back to her time in her political and personal life. Basically, Margaret Thatcher is reflecting on her life as she sorts out her late husbands belongings.

It is interesting to see her in your younger days. Back in those days, it was a very male dominated environment, but this didn't seem to put her off one little bit. She was certainly a very head strong and outspoken woman, and didn't let this put her off one little bit. When she told Dennis and Carol that she was going to run for leader of the Conservative party, they both stood there with their mouths wide open. They could not believe what they were heading. But the Iron Lady, as she was affectionately known, did just that. She admitted herself she didn't think she would ever make it to number 10. She was, however, the first woman to ever make it to Prime Minister.

The film covers major points in her political career such as The Brixton Riots in 1981, The Falklands War and The Miner's Strike in 1984/5. But aside from her political career, you also get to see more personal moments when she is at home with her family. I thought it was really nice to watch how she met Denis and when he asked her to marry him over tea. She did remind him that she was not going to be the sort of wife that stays at home dong the cooking at washing up. She did, indeed, rule the roost. What is interesting is you also get to see little snippets of real life news reel clips from when she was leader of the Conservative Party and the riots that were happening at the time. Her term in office was certainly rocky at times, but as was typical of the woman, she was head strong and obstinate. She didn't beat around the bush when it came to making decisions. This made her a lot of enemies, but also gained her a lot of fans.

My Thoughts

What I like about this film is that it humanizes her. We all know Margaret Thatcher as a strong woman that led the Conservative Party for 11 years. But throughout the film we see little titbits of her private life. From growing up as Margaret Roberts in Grantham, and when she first entered politics. As I say, politics were very different in those days, so she had to fight to get to where she did. Whether you agree or disagree with her politics and what she did during her term as Prime Minister, she was certainly a very strong and independent woman and didn't take any crap from no one.

Margaret Thatcher was indeed a controversial person and even some of her own party didn't agree with certain matters. Saying that though, she has gone down in history for not only being the first female Prime Minister, but also for shaking things up in the Conservative party and in the country.

There's also little bits in the film that sees her for the human being she was. For instance, very early on in her political career, she was advised to not wear a hat, change her hair style and change she way she talks in public. So she took elocution lessons. It's these scenes I found heart-warming and made me think twice about her as a human being. Yes, she was a highly intelligent, independent and formidable woman that stood at Prime Minister for 3 terms, but there's another side to her too. She was also a wife and mother, and you get to see a bit of this in the film. Personally, I really enjoyed this film and it opened my eyes into seeing another side of this woman.

The Iron Lady Official Trailer.

© 2020 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • grand old lady profile image

      Mona Sabalones Gonzalez 

      12 months ago from Philippines

      Margaret Thatcher was such an iconic woman in her time. When she believed in something, nothing and no one could convince her otherwise.

    • Nela13 profile image

      Manuela 

      13 months ago from Portugal

      I haven't watched this movie yet but your review make me curious about it.

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      13 months ago from UK

      I recall watching this a few years ago. I was impressed at how well made it was. It's strange looking back now at a period of time familiar to me.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      13 months ago from The Caribbean

      Based on your review, I would also like to watch this movie. T'would be great seeing the non-iron side of this great female leader.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      13 months ago from USA

      I remember this movie. I liked it like you did. It’s too bad that someone with her strength and sharp mind struggled with Alzheimer’s later in life.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      13 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I think this would be an interesting movie to watch. I've heard and read a lot of criticism of Margaret Thatcher. It would be interesting to learn about another side of her life and personality.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      13 months ago from Sunny Florida

      I think I would really enjoy this movie as I admire Margaret Thatcher and this is a very good article. Your review of the movie makes it sound very good, Louise. Thank you for sharing this information.

    • Lorna Lamon profile image

      Lorna Lamon 

      13 months ago

      An excellent review Louise and I'm glad we get to see this side of Margaret Thatcher. I always felt that due to the fact she was the first female Prime Minister she had to prove her worth even more. Yes she made mistakes, however, she had a steely resolve which she probably needed given the times. I wonder how she would have coped today with Covid-19 - I imagine a lot better.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)