ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Perfect Stalker Film Review

Updated on January 17, 2018
Source

About the film

  • Director: Curtis Crawford
  • Producer: Donald M. Osborne, Curtis Crawford
  • Released: 2016
  • Running Time: 1 hr 30 mins
  • Distributed by: Reel One Entertainment


Each afternoon there is a film on Channel 5 here in the UK, and if it takes my fancy I will sit down and watch it. One film that was on the other day that interested me was a film called The Perfect Stalker. I like Crime and Thriller films and this one looked good. Of course, being an afternoon film, it had to be suitable for daytime TV too, but I thought the storyline looked good.

The film begins with Grace and her husband Harvey at a therapy session. The therapist diagnoses her with Histrionic Personality Disorder (HPD), and offers her help for this. But Grace refuses to believe there's anything wrong with her. Harvey even takes her back to a time at a dinner party when she showed up one of the guests due to her behaviour. Later on, Grace murders Harvey when she electrocutes him when he is fixing a light, causing him to fall over and break his neck. Grace subsequently moves to a new area where she meets her new neighbours Robert and Erin. They are a lovely couple and invite her round one afternoon to introduce her to the other neighbours and generally to be neighbourly.

It doesn't take long for us to see another side to Grace though. She becomes fixated on Robert and starts thinking about the life she can have with him, and having him all to herself. So she hatches a plan so she can get her claws into him. She invents a stalker, so he has a reason to come round and protect her. So Robert and Erin start assisting her in protecting her property, putting in an alarm system and having her stay round their place when she gets scared. But what we see is another side to Grace when things start going wrong. Wayne is the local neighbourhood watch and keeps an eye on what's going on in the area and is there to generally help people with concerns and the wellbeing of the residents. But when he starts getting a sniff of what Grace is up to, he 'accidentally' falls down the stairs. We also see the murder of Erin. In Grace's eyes, and bearing in mind she has a personality disorder, Erin was getting in the way of her and Robert, and Erin was no good for him.

The film ends in a way I didn't expect, and I like that in a movie. What is interesting is that, although there were only 4 main characters in the film, it had drama and plenty going on to have me watching till the end.

Source
Actor
Character
Jefferson Brown
Robert Harris
Danielle Sarve
Grace Winston
Krista Morin
Erin Stevens
John Koensgen
Wayne McNeely

My thoughts

I found the film interesting and engaging. I had never heard of Histrionic Personality Disorder before, so this is something I've learned. And by Grace having HPD, it shows how much she wants and needs attention from the people around her. And also, how far she'll go to get the person she feels she needs. I certainly found the film gripping towards the end, and the outcome is different to how I imagined it.

The storyline I thought was well written, and the acting was excellent. I thought the characters of Robert and Grace worked well together and had a connection on screen. It surprised me how Grace can seem to be 2 very different people. On the one hand, she comes across as a normal, everyday young lady who interacts well with people. Then on the other hand, we see a deranged and lying killer. Her erratic and eccentric behaviour is shown throughout the film as she lives with this condition, which she is in denial of.

The Perfect Stalker Official Trailer

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • nikkikhan10 profile image

      Nikki Khan 

      7 months ago from London

      Thanks for your amazing review Louise, I love crime thrillers, would watch it to see her two sides of personality.Seems very interesting and thriving.

    • profile image

      Carl Heenan 

      8 months ago

      I think The Perfect stalkers ending leaves some unanswered questions, does Grace recover from her illness? does she escape from the Hospital? I think there should be a sequel to this film.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      8 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes it was very interesting. I like these kind of films.

    • Margie Lynn profile image

      Margie's Southern Kitchen 

      8 months ago from the USA

      Louise I want to see this, my kind of movies, thanks for the awesome review! Have to see how it ends!

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      10 months ago from Ohio

      Sounds like a good movie! I like TV movies because they are toned down in violence I think. You have peaked my interest.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      10 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This sounds like a dramatic film. I've never heard of it before, but I like the fact that the acting is good. Thanks for sharing the information, Louise. I'm learning a lot about films by reading your articles.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      10 months ago from USA

      This sounds like something I would want to see!

    • Larry Rankin profile image

      Larry Rankin 

      10 months ago from Oklahoma

      I've not had a chance to see this one.

      Compelling review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)