ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Secret Garden (1993) Film Review

Updated on July 10, 2020
Actor
Character
Kate Maberly
Mary Lennox
Maggie Smith
Mrs Medlock
John Lynch
Lord Archibald
Heydon Prowse
Colin Craven
Andrew Knott
Dickon Sowerby
Laura Crossley
Martha Sowerby

The Film

  • Director: Agnieszka Holland
  • Producer: Francis Ford Coppola
  • Running Time: 1 hr 41 mins
  • Genre: Family, Fantasy, Drama
  • Budget: $18,000,000

The Film

Set in 1911, young Mary Lenox is orphaned when her parents are killed in an earthquake in India. So the little girl is shipped home from India to live with her Uncle in his mansion. 10 yr old Mary was never shown any love or emotion from her mother, who much preferred partying and socialising than spending time with her daughter. So it is little wonder that Mary has grown up to be a cold and hard little girl, showing no emotion or empathy towards other people.

Mrs Medlock, Lord Craven's servant, is in charge of taking care of Mary. But she has a job on her hands with this young lady as Mary is so rude towards her. Ordered to stay in her room, young Mary has other ideas when she starts to hear noises. So she starts exploring the house. As she then starts to explore the large gardens she comes across a locked door, thanks to the help of a little robin. The garden behind the locked door has not been accessed since her Aunt Lillia accidentally died 10 years previously. Mary eventually finds the key to the secret garden though.

Meanwhile, Mary meets Dickon, who is the brother to the housemaid, Martha. Dickon say he can talk to animals. And there are lots of cute furry animals in this secret garden. You can see him whistling to the birds in the film, which is cute. And then there is Colin Craven, who is Mary's cousin. It was his mother, LIllia, who had died in childbirth. He has been confined to his room and says he is dying. Much like Mary, he is rude and obstinate. But what we see in this film is Mary convincing him that he is not in fact dying, and encourages him to leave his room where he has spent the last 10 years. Colin's father, Lord Archibald, is often away and is so protective of his son. This is understandable, but the poor boy doesn't seem to have any sort of life and is looked after by Archibald's staff. He hasn't even seen daylight as the shutters on his windows are always closed.

The 3 children strike up a friendship and Colin learns not only to walk, but that there is life outside the 4 walls of his room. Mary also starts planting seeds in the secret garden and restoring the garden to its former glory.

My Thoughts

This story has been told many times over the years. This is the first time I've seen the 1993 version of this film though. Watching this has taken me back to my childhood. I had forgotten how good it is. I really love how Mary changes from the hard-hearted little girl to a warm, cheerful and generous girl. The same could be said for Colin. His father, Archibald Craven, has always been over protective of him, which was why he was made to stay in his room for all these years. But when Mary and Dickon start taking him out, he seems to get a new lease of life. It's really quite endearing to watch how these 3 children learn and grow from each other. The change in both Mary and Craven's life is quite magical to watch onscreen.

Mrs Medlock, played by the wonderful Maggie Smith, plays an excellent role in this film. She is in control of looking after the children and worries about Craven and his health. But what we see towards the end of the film is so heart warming. I love the reaction of both Mrs Madlock and Archibald Craven when they see these children playing.

I loved the acting with the children. The 3 actors who plays Mary, Craven and Dickon played really strong parts and they seemed to have a good acting relationship onscreen. Although Archibald Craven isn't in the film as much as some of the other actors, I still think he plays a good role. You get the sense that he worries over his son and is an over protective father. This is only natural after what he's been through, but I also think it's good to see that the son, Craven has made some friends and got out into the fresh air and is starting to learn that there is life outside of his bedroom.

The Secret Garden Official Trailer

© 2020 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      3 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      I've never seen Maggie Smith act in a drama I didn't like, and the changes in the children are tempting. Thanks for this review of a film I''d like to watch.

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      3 weeks ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA.

      The movie seems quite watchable from the review. Thank you for sharing.

    • ChitrangadaSharan profile image

      Chitrangada Sharan 

      4 weeks ago from New Delhi, India

      A great review of the movie, ‘The Secret Garden.’ Makes me want to see the movie. You have covered it nicely.

      Thank you for sharing.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      4 weeks ago from British Columbia, Canada

      "The Secret Garden" has some lovely aspects. I've read the book many times. I think I would enjoy seeing the film that you've described very much. Thanks for sharing the review, Louise.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      4 weeks ago from USA

      A good review and I would love to see the film. Thanks for presenting the information.

    • Lorna Lamon profile image

      Lorna Lamon 

      4 weeks ago

      I have always loved this story which has never lost its charm for me. The ending just makes me feel good. A great review Louise and I think I would enjoy the original. Take care.

    • Cheryl E Preston profile image

      Cheryl E Preston 

      4 weeks ago from Roanoke

      This is the never f my favorites. I watched it with my children many times. “I have spoken, all depart”.

    • Ivana Divac profile image

      Ivana Divac 

      4 weeks ago from Serbia

      I really enjoyed reading this. Great review!

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      4 weeks ago from Sunny Florida

      I think this is a story I would enjoy. You thorough writeup of the movie gives us many details, which sound very good to me. Thank you for this film review, Louise.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)