ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

The Woman In Black Fim Review

Updated on February 10, 2012

Directed by James Watkins

Written by Susan Hill (novel), Jane Goldman (screenplay)

Starring Daniel Radcliffe, Janet McTeer and CiarĂ¡n Hinds

Released in 2012

Storyline

A young Lawyer is handed a last chance to save his career when he is given the task of sorting the final paperwork of a woman who has died in a remote part of rural England. Upon arriving in the village he encounters hostility from the locals who want the newcomer to leave as soon as possible. Upon visiting the house of the dead owner, he believes he sees the ghostly image of a woman, form here on he struggles to decipher the grisly story that lies within.

Review

Set in Edwardian times, Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe) is a young Lawyer who is struggling to hold down his job. He lives with 4 year old son, whose mother died in childbirth, and a Nanny who cares for the boy. Kipps is given the opportunity to revitalise his ailing career when his give the task of sorting the paperwork of a woman who has recently died in a village called Crythin Gifford on the east coast of England.

Kipps travels up to the village by train and meets Sam Bentley (Roger Allam) who informs him that after he has finished dealing with the paperwork, he will not find a local buyer for the house, but does not explain why. Bentley is kind enough to offer Kipps a ride from the station to his lodgings and Kipps' journey seems to be of to good start. But upon meeting the owner of his lodgings he is met with a decidedly hostile welcome and is informed that he can only stay for one night, then he must leave.

Eel Marsh House, is situated on a causeway and is cut off from the main land as the tide comes in. He is left by his driver and told that he will picked up at 5pm when the tide allows. Kipps sets about finding all of the paperwork in the house to get the job done and await the arrival of his son at the weekend. It is now that he believes he sees a Woman dressed in black, a shadowy figure that disappears as soon as she appears, is this a ghost? Kipps also hears strange noises coming from different rooms in the house, but determined to finish his job, dismisses them.

As Kipps becomes more of a feature in the village and his sightings of the mysterious woman increase, he starts to investigate the paranoia that seems to be gripping the village. During his stay there are disturbing deaths involving only children, and the house, through it's paperwork and memories make Kipps think there is far more to this whole situation than any of the locals are letting on to.

As far as ghost stories go, this is up there with anything that a big time picture has had to offer. If you really want a film that makes you jump, go Japanese, they are, and always will be the true masters of this genre. But in The Woman In Black James Watkins delivers an atmospheric, eary film that has just enough bumps in just the right places to make it work really well. I don't scare easily, but there where a couple of instances where you know something is going to happen but you're not quite sure what and yes I jumped (a little bit!)

The film is shot extremely well, the location of the house on its lonely island, cut off by the tide is brilliant. The first scenes of the house with its unkempt grounds and tree shrouded facades give a sense of neglect that this place has been wantonly forgotten. (I actually thought it looked a little like Arkham Asylum!) I especially liked the child's room filled with all of the wind up toys that would have been popular in that time. The glazed looks on their faces are used to great effect when we encounter scenes of fear, they almost seem to be mocking Kipps.

It is great to see the name of Hammer, up on the big screen as well. Although I am a little too young to have been watching their hey day films the first time around, I'm well aware of their work and for them to back and producing quality horror again is fantastic!

And so to Harry.....Sorry, I mean Daniel Radcliffe. Has he been able to shrug off Mr Potter? A definite yes from me. He slipped in to this role incredibly well, his pallid expression complimented the dark and colourless backdrops of this bleak and foreboding place. And a well delivered performance all bode well for his post Potter film career.

Enjoy!


Trailer

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • gabrielthomas72 profile image
      Author

      gabrielthomas72 6 years ago from Shrewsbury, England

      @SonQuioey, thanks for the comment. It's a well done ghost story, with the right amount of jumpy moments!

    • SonQuioey10 profile image

      Toni Northern 6 years ago from Williamston NC

      I am trying to find the time to watch this. Very interesting review, I can't wait to see it. Thanks.

    • profile image

      gogogo 6 years ago

      I enjoyed reading your review especially since I will never go to the movie. You explained it so I could just visualize the different scenes. Thanks

    • Birgitta Zoutman profile image

      Birgitta Zoutman 6 years ago

      Thanks, another excellent review that makes me want to see a film even more, cant wait to see Daniel in another role.

      voted up

    • priley84 profile image

      priley84 6 years ago from Warner Robins, Ga

      Oh absolutely! That's why I enjoyed reading your review so much. I mean, sure, it's nice to read an opinion you agree with, but it's a lot more interesting and fun to read an opinion you disagree with. It gives a person the chance to understand another person's point of view. Like I said, it was a very good review! :)

    • gabrielthomas72 profile image
      Author

      gabrielthomas72 6 years ago from Shrewsbury, England

      If we all liked the same things, it would be a very boring place!

    • priley84 profile image

      priley84 6 years ago from Warner Robins, Ga

      A very good, well-written review. I didn't like the film, but I did enjoy reading your opinion of it. :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)