ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

To Kill a Mockingbird Film 1962 Review

Updated on March 27, 2018
Coffeequeeen profile image

Louise is a film enthusiast and enjoys films particularly from the 40's and 50's era & enjoys writing about films she has seen.

Actor
Character
Gregory Peck
Atticus Finch
Philip Alford
Jem
Mary Badlam
Scout
Craham Denton
Walter Cunningham
John Megna
Charles 'Dill' Harri
Rosemary Murphy
Miss Maudie Atkinson
Ruth White
Mrs Dubose
Brock Peters
Tom Robinson
Robert Duvall
Arthur 'Boo' Radley

About the film

Released: 1962

Director: Robert Mulligan

Producer: Alan J. Pakula

Running time: 2 hrs 9 mins

Genre: Drama, Crime

Distributed by: Universal Pictures

Budget: $2,000,000

About the film

The film is set in the 1930's in the fictional town of Marycomb in Alabama, USA. Atticus Finch is a widowed father of 2 children, Scout and Jem. Atticus is a lawyer and he believes strongly that everyone, whoever they are, should be treated fairly and equally.

Atticus is appointed to defend Tom Robinson, a black man who has been convicted of raping a white woman called Mayella Ewell. Tom strongly denies the charges, telling the court he had simply gone to help her in chopping up a piece of furniture. The film ultimately covers a lot of social issues at the time, including racial tensoin and how people can be outcasts in their community. The film spans over 3 years and shows how the children grow up with adversity around them and living when tensions was high. The children, Jem and Scout, are taunted at school because their father is defending a black man.

Another significant part of the film is where Jem, Scout and their friend Dill spy on their neighbour Arthur 'Boo' Radley. Arthur hasn't left his home in a long time, and naturally rumours and stories are told in the neighbourhood about Boo and what he's like. Of course, these are just rumours, but this goes to show how when rumours are spread it can damage a person.

Source

My Thoughts

I've not read the book, so can't compare it with the book, but the film is excellent. The 2 main child actors in the film who play Jem and Scout play an outstanding part. Gregory Peck plays an outstanding part as Atticus Finch. This timeless classic shows us how people in the 30's dealt with racial discrimination and bigotry. It is told through the eyes of children and also from the adults in the courtroom. The film is just over 2 hours long, but I felt that the 2 hours passed quickly and there's enough going on in the film to keep you wanting to watch. I really felt sorry for Tom. Watching him sitting in court, my heart went out to him. The poor man was being unfairly treated by those in the courtroom, and Atticus Finn was doing all he could to defend the man.

I feel the film is a real learning curb and shows us how people can be so narrow minded and judgemental towards others. The injustice this man went through in court sadly happens in the real world. Atticus is a strong believer that all people should be treated equally and fairly, and Gregory Peck. I think the film does well in promoting a strong message to viewers in the fact that the large part of the story is told through the eyes of the children and how they deal with prejudice from the people around them. Personally, I found the film an eye opener and really enjoyed it. Now I think I should read the book!

Source

To Kill a Mockingbird official trailer

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Senoritaa profile image

      Rinita Sen 

      6 weeks ago

      This is an excellent review. I am not much into films but this is one of those that I watched before reading the book. As with any film based on a book, the details have been shortened in this one, but if we look at it independently, it is an outstanding film, with great actors.

    • Gerry Glenn Jones profile image

      Gerry Glenn Jones 

      4 months ago from Somerville, Tennessee

      This is a very nice article! I fell in love with the movie as a kid, and several years ago, I portrayed Bo Radley in a "To Kill a Mockingbird" stage play.

    • profile image

      Gerry Glenn Jones 

      5 months ago

      Your article was very good. I love movies and stage plays and have been involved in both since 2010. I am a retired police officer who was looking for a new career in 2010, so I began writing, acting in many stage plays and some minor movies. I have also written a commercial, in which I was also an actor. I've written one screenplay (which has not been made and one stage play which I have not submitted. I am waiting for the right time. Please continue your wonderful articles and I will always be a fan.

    • Reginald Thomas profile image

      Reginald Thomas 

      6 months ago from Connecticut

      Nice review of one of my favorite films. Gregory Peck was a perfect choice for this role.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      6 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      Though I've heard a lot about the movie, I've never watched it. I want to very much, especially now that I've read your review.

    • Genna East profile image

      Genna East 

      6 months ago from Massachusetts, USA

      What a nice review. I can't imagine anyone else playing Atticus other than Gregory Peck. The film brings forth the tone of the book quite well, as well as the words from many of its pages. Nell Harper Lee served as a consultant during filming, and became good friends with Peck and others. One of my favorite films; and Lee is a favorite author.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      6 months ago from The Caribbean

      I've watched the movie a few times, but you make me want to watch it again. Thanks for the review. You would enjoy the book too.

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      6 months ago from Queensland Australia

      It's a long time since I read the book or saw the movie, but I remember the movie following the book amazingly well. Great acting, as you say, and Gregory Peck was always outstanding. Yes, very much an eye-opener. Good review here Louise.

    • Carb Diva profile image

      Linda Lum 

      6 months ago from Washington State, USA

      To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favorite movies, and I have lost count of how many times I have read the book. You really must pick up a copy. The movie is very true to the original story by Harper Lee.

      One other "character" in the movie that is worth mentioning is the hauntingly beautiful score by Elmer Bernstein. The opening theme speaks to the magic of a child's world. There is a wistfulness, an innocence captured in the flute solo that brings tears to my eyes.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Frank. I've bought the book on my Kindle now, so looking forward to reading it.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      6 months ago from USA

      The book was excellent as was the movie.

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 

      6 months ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      A great book and a great movie without question.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      6 months ago from The Beautiful South

      This really may have been the only movie that I know of personally that does credit to the book. What would it have been without these very actors even though most books really are better than the movie?

      I just can't imagine.

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      6 months ago from Shelton

      To Kill a Mockingbird is my favorite book of all time.. the movie did it justice and vice versa.. Peck was amazing.. Your review was spot on kudos to you

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)