ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Tom Thumb Film Review

Updated on September 7, 2019
Actor
Character
Russ Tamblyn
Tom Thumb
Jessie Matthews
Ann (Tom's Mother)
Bernard Mules
Jonathan (Tom's Father)
Terry Thomas
Ivan
Alan Young
Woody
June Thorburn
Forest Queen
Peter Butterworth
Kapellmeister

About the film

Released: 1958

Producer: George Pal

Director: George Pal

Running Time: 1 hr 28 mins

Genre: Fantasy, Family, Musical

Budget: $909,000

Distributed by: MGM


About the film

This film is based on the fairy tale called Thumbling by The Brothers Grimm. Jonathan is a lumberjack who lives in the forest with his wife, Anne. When Jonathan is in the woods 1 day, the Forest Queen appears in front of him while he is chopping down a tree. She tells him to stop cutting down the tree as it is home to a family of birds. He eventually agrees. To say thankyou, she grants him 3 wishes. When he gets home, he informs Anne of what has just happened. Between them, they manage to waste the wishes as they mistakenly wish for things. They later regret wasting them, and Anne says that she wish she had wished for a child as this is what she has always wanted. Even if the child is no bigger than her thumb. Jonathan tells her that the Forest Queen may grant them 1 more wish.

Later on, they are woken up by someone knocking at the door. They find little Tom Thumb standing at the door. He is, indeed, the size of a thumb! They are happy and glad to finally have a son. But having a son comes with worries. When a carnival comes to town, family friend Woody takes Tom. But Tom inadvertently gets involved with 2 thieves, Ivan and Antony. They get Tom to help them steal gold as he is so small.

There is also the added story of Woody and the Forest Queen's budding romance, with the help of Tom. What is also unique in this film is the toys in Tom's bedroom come to life, making for interesting viewing.

My Thoughts

Russ Tamblyn, who plays Tom, will already be familiar to a lot of people as he played one of the brothers in the film Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. This family film is unique in the fact that the toys come to life. There is the lovely scene with The Yawning Man for instance. With all of the little toys singing and dancing, I think this was particularly well shot, considering this film was released in 1958. Made in colour, this film is a colourful and classic, fantasy film. I also like how they shot the film in such a way so Tom looks small to everything around him. Now, I'm on technical wizard so don't know how they did this, but I think it's very well done how they made him look so tiny, almost as small as the toys themselves.

There are plenty of songs in the film to keep the viewer watching. And I like the fact that there is the love story between Woody and the Forest Queen. And you've also got the typical baddies you get in any fantasy film with the gold thieves. This is a fun and entertaining film and is all round family film. Although made more than 50 years ago, I still think it's still watchable today that children will enjoy. I remember watching this film as a child, so watching this again as an adult brings back fond memories for me. Personally, I think this a lovely film and and all round feel good, family film.

Song
Sung By
Tom Thumb's Tune
Russ Tamblyn & the Puppetoons
After All These Years
Jessie Matthews
Talented Shoes
Ian Wallace
The Yawning Song
Stan Freberg
Are You a Dream
Alan Young

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      20 months ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      I love this film. I have watched it many times. Hope it is on again this Christmas.

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      22 months ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA.

      Seems to be quite an enjoyable film with something for everyone. A very helpful review, Louise. Thank you.

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      22 months ago from Shelton

      wow, it's been such a long time since Ive seen this movie.. great review coffee.. maybe I'll see it again.. thanks

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      23 months ago from Houston, Texas

      This is one I missed seeing when it was first shown but after your description of it I am sure I would enjoy viewing it now. Thanks!

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      23 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I've never seen this movie, but based on your description I think I'd enjoy it. I like watching fantasies.

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 

      23 months ago from Bangalore

      Another one in my list now :-). Great review.

      - Hari

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      23 months ago from USA

      Although I’ve heard of the story I never knew much about the plot and certainly hadn’t watch the movie. Thanks for your excellent review!

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      23 months ago from the beautiful south

      Might be fun to watch!

      Happy 4th!

    • swalia profile image

      Shaloo Walia 

      23 months ago from India

      Nice review..Thanks for sharing!

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      23 months ago from Ontario, Canada

      I watched this film a long time ago but I can watch it again. Old, wholesome films are more enjoyable for me. I agree that it is entertaining to watch with family.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)