ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Toy Story 3: Hugs-a-lot Does Smell

Updated on December 31, 2012
Toy Story 3 Movie Poster
Toy Story 3 Movie Poster

What Do You Think?

Which Toy Story Movie is the Best?

See results

I'm not usually one to go and see the big summer blockbuster on the day of its theater release, but today was an exception, because we were celebrating my son's fourth birthday, and the characters in this movie are familar favorites in our family's personal DVD collection.

The third movie in the Toy Story trilogy provided a worthy conclusion to the story that involves Andy, his single parent Mom, sister Molly, and a roomful of toys who love him. This warm-hearted family feature by Pixar includes all of the characters you have grown to love in the Toy Story movies, and introduces a few new toys.

Though, as I expected, this Toy Story movie uses some familiar plot devices, there are plenty of new developments to keep this story fresh, including a plot that pokes fun at the virtues of recycling.

In Toy Story 3, Andy is almost grown up. He's 17, going to college in a few days, and his Mother has told him to get his room ship-shape. Molly, now a precocious pre-teen who is plugged in and too old for Barbies, is ready to take over his room. Where will the toys end up? In the attic, being donated, or in the garbage?

Andy's room is no longer the toy friendly paradise decorated with character blankets and cowboy dolls. The toys have been relegated to storage in the old toy box, where they haven't been touched for years. Movie posters adorn the walls from floor to ceiling, and smelly socks and apple cores litter the floor. I found it difficult to see Andy's mom, who was in her twenties when the first Toy Story movie was released, aged to her early forties. Her timeline wasn't too different from my own, and this set a realistic and almost bittersweet tone to the movie for me. Her family has grown up with mine and I was surprised by the emotions this tugged on me.

Well, I won't spoil the whole plot for you, but somehow the toys make it to Sunnyside Preschool, where things aren't quite what they seem. The toys are warmly welcomed by Hugs-alot bear, a worn old overstuffed teddy who still smells like strawberries. Their adventure at and escape from the preschool fills most of the action sequences for this movie, which I felt were a little too intense for my four year old. If you are taking young children to see this flick, make sure to plan for some hand-holding or even possibly some lap sitting.

One of the bad guy characters acts as an enforcer and henchman for the preschool toys. He is a half-naked baby doll with a broken eye. This character hies back to the spike-haired baby-doll head who crawls out from under the bed at Syd's house in the first Toy Story movie . I found this particular character a little too creepy. The baby sounds just like a giggling, cooing infant, and the contradiction between the way he looked and sounded gave me the creeps. Some of the other plot elements were recycled as well. I suppose I expected this from a third movie in a trilogy, and doing so lends familiarity and recalls favorite jokes from the other movies. Fortunately there is enough fresh new material to keep the movie interesting and engaging.

Overall, this Toy Story movie delivers on the action and personalities that have become a hallmark of the Toy Story franchise. Woody remains the fearless, courageous leader who never stops believing in Andy, even when he is the only toy who hasn't stopped believing in their teenaged owner.

Buzz has an identity crisis, as we have come to expect in each Toy Story movie. This time he falls into the hands of the bad guys and he becomes a Spanish-speaking Don Juan, who expresses his feelings for Jessie with bravado. The Potato Heads add some hilarious, wise-cracking humor throughout the movie, and even the squeaky space aliens continue their delusions with hilarious results.

But unlike the other Toy Story movies, the tone of this one is darker and more final. Don't expect a light-hearted frolic from this theater experience. The toys have to come to grips with the fact that they their relationship with Andy has changed. And this is a heady reminder that the child I brought to the movie on his fourth birthday won't stay frozen in that innocent little body forever. Audiences will be faced with the realities that children grow up and become adults, leaving childhood forever behind.

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • wannabwestern profile imageAUTHOR

    Carolyn Augustine 

    8 years ago from Iowa

    Most people I talked with really enjoyed it, I hope you do too!

  • Ingenira profile image

    Ingenira 

    8 years ago

    Good review. We are going for the movie for sure. :)

  • wannabwestern profile imageAUTHOR

    Carolyn Augustine 

    8 years ago from Iowa

    Thanks Mike, I appreciate the correction!

  • profile image

    Mike 

    8 years ago

    It's 'Lots-o-Huggin' Bear...not 'Lotso Hugs'.

  • wannabwestern profile imageAUTHOR

    Carolyn Augustine 

    8 years ago from Iowa

    Thanks, Hello hello and websclubs!

  • Hello, hello, profile image

    Hello, hello, 

    8 years ago from London, UK

    A wonderful review.

  • websclubs profile image

    websclubs 

    8 years ago

    Nice hub.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)