ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Valentine's Day (2010)

Updated on January 25, 2011

A Tale About Love, Romance, Heart Break, And Making Up. Got To Love Valentine's Day.

Love is in the air. Young lovers are rejoicing and making plans to celebrate this most romantic of days. Even the elderly celebrate it together. Although not every love story is perfect in life, but what relationship is? Before I saw this film, I didn't think I was going to like it to be honest. As most modern romantic comedies tend to be ridiculously cliched and unrealistic, to the point where I could just gag at how utterly shameful it is. However, "Valentine's Day" was surprisingly not only funny and amusing, it was also genuine and heart felt. The story essentially follows intertwining couples and singles, in Los Angeles, break-up and make-up based on the pressures and expectations of Valentine's Day.

Featuring an all star cast of Ashton Kutcher (Reed Bennett), Jessica Alba (Morley Clarkson), Kathy Bates (Susan), Jessica Biel (Kara Monahan), Bradley Cooper (Holden), Eric Dane (Sean Jackson), Patrick Dempsey (Dr. Harrison Copeland), Jamie Foxx (Kelvin Moore), Jennifer Garner (Julia Fitzpatrick), Topher Grace (Jason), Anne Hathaway (Liz), Julia Roberts (Captain Kate Hazeltine), Taylor Lautner (Willy), Queen Latifah (Paula Thomas), and many others.

What I found most intriguing about this film is how each individual story intertwined with each other so perfectly. Where one story affected the other so seamlessly that it perfectly blended movie together quite nicely.

Although some of the love stories didn't get fully fleshed out like the high school romance with Taylor Lautner's character, or the loneliness that Queen's character suffers during the movie. As it seemed their stories were rushed for the sake of time constraints. Plus, the movie is a bit predictable at times, but it does throw in a few plot twists here and there, to surprise the audience, so they're not completely bored watching the film.

Yet, despite this film's flaws story wise, I found the rest of the movie to be quite charming in it's own unique way. As each actor filled out their roles perfectly. I was really amazed by the the versatility of some these actors, who I used to think were vastly over rated like Ashton Kutcher. Of course, I was so used to seeing Ashton playing the moronic imbecile, Michael Kelso in "That 70's Show", that I just couldn't imagine him being that versatile of an actor. However, this was one of the rare moments, I was glad to be proven wrong. As Ashton is far greater of an actor, than I ever gave him credit for.

As I said before, the story isn't perfect as it comes off predictable and rushed at times. However, the acting performances along with some of the unique plot twists, make it worth watching. It's like Jason said around the end of the movie: "When you love someone, you have to accept them for who they truly are. Not just for all the easy to accept parts about them (i.e. the parts that you like), but you have to accept and love the parts you might hate about them as well. For that's what love truly is." Or something like that, as I forget the exact wording at this time, but you get the idea. Overall, "Valentine's Day" is a delightful romantic comedy that any couple would enjoy to watch together.  It may not be perfect but like all romances, what love story ever is? 


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      Thanks Betty. Well I hope you enjoy the film when you see it. :)

    • Betty Reid profile image

      Betty Reid 

      8 years ago from Texas

      Thanks for reviewing this movie! I thought it looked cute and fun, but then I heard it was not so good. I'm glad to hear you liked it.

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      lol. yeah, i feel the same way too. that's one of the reasons why i was skeptical about this movie, when my brother and his wife requested me to review this for them.

      however, it's surprisingly better than i thought it was going to be. Sure, the film is predictable, but there's a few plot twists to keep it from getting boring.

      well have fun being in the unknown zone. lol. I hope you don't have to wait there by yourself, as you seem too sweet of a person to have to wait that long alone. lol. anyway, thanks again for stopping by, as it's always a pleasure seeing you, Ann. :)

    • Ann Nonymous profile image

      Ann Nonymous 

      8 years ago from Virginia

      Personally I have a strong aversion to movies that are jammed packed with too many high profile stars..It always seems to ruin the movie then as each vie for more camera time, attention and ways to outshine their fellow cast members.

      And of course anymore romcoms are sooo predictable but given your great review maybe I'll watch it...next Valentines Day... Because you haven't given any spoilers away so until then I'll be in the unknown zone! LOL

      I love your ending remarks, Steven!!!!! Sweet and personal! Good job!!!!

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      @faybe

      no, ive sadly never seen that movie. however, after this movie, i'll definitely check it out then. anyway, thanks again for stopping by. :)

      @paradise7

      yeah, i agree with you about that now after seeing this. in a way, it reminds a lot of how christina applegate couldn't escape the image of her role as Kelly Bundy, in "married with children", when she first tried to break into movies with roles like "don't tell mom the babysitter is dead." however, over time she's actually managed to turn into a pretty solid actress in hollywood now these days, as she kept taking on roles to allow her show more of her acting versatility.

      i think its the same with ashton kutcher. as long as he continues taking on roles to display his versatility, i think we can all expect great things out of the guy. :)

    • Paradise7 profile image

      Paradise7 

      8 years ago from Upstate New York

      I liked Ashton in one outstanding role where it was kind of a meet the parents movie, but he was white and his girlfriend was black and his girlfriend's father was Bernie Mac. He has a lot more range than he's usually allowed to use, I'll grant you that.

      Good review, thank you, and I think I'll put this one on my "Red Box" list.

    • Faybe Bay profile image

      Faye Constantino 

      8 years ago from Florida

      Ashton? Have you possibly missed Butterfly Effect?

      Great review. I know he's young and crazy and married, but I love Ashton Kutcher movies. I would see it just for that, but this cast sounds phenomenal.

    • Stevennix2001 profile imageAUTHOR

      Steven Escareno 

      8 years ago

      your welcome pinky. i hope you like the movie. :)

    • profile image

      pinkylee 

      8 years ago

      oh i can't wait to see this one steven! thanks for the reveiw

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)