ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Valkyrie Film Review (2008 Movie)

Updated on June 21, 2018
Journey * profile image

Nyesha loves writing about cooking/recipes, restaurant reviews, movie reviews, weddings, and poetry.

Movie star Tom Cruise acts in Valkyrie

Directed by Bryan Singer under the United Artist studios, Valkyrie is a 2008 film that depicts the historical events leading up to the last known foiled assassination attempt of Adolf Hitler. There have been many, many assassination attempts of Adolf Hitler and since none were successful, Hitler often boasted that the failures were divine plan. He was not meant to be killed. He did however take his own life in 1945, just nine months after the July 1944 assassination attempt depicted in Valkyrie.

Tom Cruise stars in the film. He plays a German soldier who becomes jaded. His belief in the mission of Hitler's Germany is thwarted because he sees that innocent people are being hurt and killed. He feels that this can not be right. He is ashamed for the role he is playing in the war and wants to turn things around. He endeavors to do so as a member of the German resistance and turns to his comrades for help.

Movie Poster for Valkyrie starring Tom Cruise

theatrical poster, courtesy wikipedia
theatrical poster, courtesy wikipedia

Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg against Hitler's tyranny

Cruise's character, Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg, is pleasantly surprised when he gains many advocates. It turns out that many, many men had begun to doubt the mission and were beginning to look toward their own better moral compasses as opposed to Hitler's tyranny. That is a preeminent reason for their joining the German resistance, although some had various reasons.

Colonel von Stauffenberg with the support of his colleages is now able to devise a plan for an attack on Hitler. There is no doubt that von Stauffenberg is a good leader and a good soldier. To emphasize this, the fact that he was badly injured including losing an eye in battle and still overcame his injuries to continue as a soldier is highlighted.

Colonel von Stauffenberg is so tough that sometimes he will wear an eyepatch in scenes but then habitually carries his eye around and as he thinks the circumstance dictates, he will pop it back into the socket to feign still being able to see with that eye. He does this often throughout the film and it gives me a queasy feeling every time. Especially, when meeting with Hitler, he makes a point of not wearing the eye patch.

Okay, so we know von Stauffenberg is tough but can he pull off the attack on Hitler?

Turns out he gets closer than many others have. He successfully plants a bomb to set off an explosion in a room where Hitler is meeting with soldiers. As von Stauffenberg runs away from the scene, the bomb does indeed activate and there is an explosion as he barely gets out of harm's way.

Because of this, he is confident that Hitler must have been killed. We are given the impression that he is lying to himself but he wants to believe so badly that he relays the message of Hitler's death to his comrades without waiting for confirmation.

This lie to himself and others is what sets off the attempted takeover of Hitler's Germany. Operators at various switchboards are instructed to type "Hitler's dead, Hitler's dead".

Colonel von Stauffenberg continues his plot with only a few accusing him of blatant treason. He attempts to shut those few up by threatening imprisonment. He states in effect, Hitler is dead and I am leading Operation Valkyrie which was to be put into effect at the time of his death. If you disagree and do not follow, you will be imprisoned.

Operation Valkyrie

In actuality, Operation Valkyrie is not a plan that Hitler would have approved of in a million years but Colonel von Stauffenberg was so trusted as an admirable soldier that he had successfully gotten Hitler to sign off on the plan without even reading it. Hitler did not read the document for Operation Valkyrie but instead added his signature to it while chatting with von Stauffenberg and stating, "I trust you."

So, it took this German soldier on the inside of the operations to be able to get as close as he did to assassinating Hitler.

He is almost but not quite successful. He is still touted a hero by his comrades for how far he came.


A true German countryman

Colonel von Stauffenberg is a true countryman and as he expresses with his sentiment, "Long live Germany", he cares very much for Germany just not the path the country has taken under the reign of Hitler.

It would not be difficult to guess the fate of Colonel von Stauffenberg in his ill-fated plot but here is where I will end the review to avoid spoilers.

I highly recommend this film and although I did not enjoy it quite as much as Defiance (a similarly themed film released around the same time and for which I have also written a review), I thought it was very well made and Tom Cruise gave a great performance.

I rate it 3.5/5

Rated PG-13 for violence and brief strong language

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi daryl2007, thanks for your comment and for sharing your link.

    • daryl2007 profile image

      daryl2007 

      8 years ago

      The movie is superb... and I like the way it is created and it really depicts what really happens in the past.

      http://worldwar42.blogspot.com/

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi Nancy and Dolores, thanks for leaving comments!

    • Dolores Monet profile image

      Dolores Monet 

      8 years ago from East Coast, United States

      I like to read reviews after I've seen the movie sometimes. The movie was, for me, good enough that I was rooting for the assasination even though I knew, of course, that it would fail. So, pretty good except that Hitler was depicted as a dottering old fool and I don't think that he was exactly feeble as shown.

    • profile image

      Nancy's Niche 

      9 years ago

      Sounds like a good movie and I might see it. Just don't enjoy Tom Cruise and his acting. But the story content sounds like it worth setting through.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      9 years ago from USA

      Hi Jenny and ethel, thanks for commenting. I'm sure you won't be disappointed when you see this film.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      9 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      I think I might enjoy this film. Thanks

    • Jenny30 profile image

      Jennifer 

      9 years ago from Canada

      I have to check that movie out! I haven't seen it yet, Sounds interesting!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)