ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Webslinging Review of Spiderman Homecoming

Updated on July 17, 2017

Plot

Meet Peter Parker. A high-school kid like no other. Sure, he is a bit of a nerd and is highly intelligent, but there is something else about this teenage kid that separates him from the rest of the kids. I guess you could say there is another side to Parker that no other kid has. He is the web slinging, crime fighting hero named Spider-Man.

With the help of the Avenger Tony Stark, also known as Iron Man, Peter Parker will try to balance being a hero and living the life of a regular teenage high school student. But all that is about to change and put Parker to the test when a villain by the name of Vulture, played by Michael Keaton, begins to terrorize the city of New York. Peter wants to be the hero and put being an ordinary kid aside, but he is advised otherwise by Tony Stark and others. Will he be able to live a normal life, or will his powers and heroic passion take over?

Review and Rating

First off I want to say that I was a fan of the other Spider-Man movies, so I went into this film expecting to be blown away by this addition to the web series. With the connection to Captain America: Civil War, big hype and expectations were building before I saw this film. So here is my review and rating for this film.

I believe that Tom Holland plays an amazing Spider-Man and Peter Parker. I felt the finally nailed this character as the nerdy kid with super powers. He does a great job as both characters. What I felt were lacking in the other Spider-Man movies was the ability to pull of the best Peter Parker impression, and Holland did that.

The plot of the movie was good. The Vulture villain was done great. The action and special effects were stunning. But for some reason, I was expecting more from the film. I enjoyed it very much and I do think this is the best Spider-Man movie yet, but with the connections to Marvel and the Avengers movie, I did not feel this movie lived up to all the hype. I was not at all blown away by this film like a few of the other Marvel films.

Another thing I felt was that they never really explained the back story of the character and how Parker got his powers. I guess Marvel felt since the previous films, fans would already understand. But for those that Spider-Man: Homecoming is their first Spider-Man film, you just assume he was bitten by a spider and got powers. It raised a lot of questions for my niece and nephew who knew only a little about Spider-Man.

Overall I gave this film a 3.8 stars out of 5 stars. Spider-Man is my favorite Marvel comic character. Best version of this character. Best film in the Spider-Man universe. I would advise seeing this film. I cannot wait until the sequel which I feel will be amazing.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      15 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Pat, I agree with you on that. The second Spider-Man in that series was awesome. I would love to see where this franchise will go. I know it will have some involvement in the Avengers series, but I would like to see this succeed on its own.

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 

      15 months ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      I, too, would like to see Tom Holland reprise the role, and see what happens next. I also like what Sam Raimi did in the Maguire Spider-Man franchise - especially Spider-Man 2. If Watts and Holland build on this franchise, they have the potential to be the best Marvel has produced in this series.

    • profile image

      Tamara Moore 

      16 months ago

      Thank you!

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      16 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Hey Tamara, good to see you. I am glad you liked my review. I do like that first image, that's why I had to make it the main one. I hope you enjoy the movie.

    • profile image

      Tamara Moore 

      16 months ago

      Ryan, I want to see this. Thank you for the concise review! Your front picture is rich and stunning. It might seem strange to me seeing a different character playing Spidey...

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      16 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Kira it did seem like there was some things that were missing, and that is why I think the sequel is going to be way better

    • profile image

      Kira Critchlow 

      16 months ago

      I thought Spider-Man: Homecoming was a pretty good movie overall, I think that Tom Holland is a fantastic Spider-Man but there were definitely some points where the plot sort of lingered and dragged on unnecessarily. Although, I definitely can't wait to see more of this Spider-Man in the upcoming Infinity Wars films.

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      16 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      I rarely get to them too. My niece and nephew wanted to see this which made me super happy. They really enjoy Superhero movies and I do as well so it is a win for both of us.

    • Carb Diva profile image

      Linda Lum 

      16 months ago from Washington State, USA

      I rarely go to the movies; when I do it's typically to take my daughter who favors animated films and just about anything Disney.

      That said, I might treat my husband to a trip to the theater--he really enjoys action movies and I'm pretty sure he has seen the other Spiderman flicks. I would not have given this movie a second thought , but based on your great review, I'm changing my mind!

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      16 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Good to see you Eric. I agree with Aunt May being younger even though many didn't like that. Glad you enjoyed it

      Flourish I hope you enjoy it when you see it. Thank you for the comment

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      16 months ago from USA

      I've heard this is a good one but haven't seen it yet. Bas d on your review it looks like the should go!

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 

      16 months ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      Just took my boy to watch it. I think you nailed this review. I like a little more sarcastic/funny Spidey. I also liked our modern day lady caretaker. Here I felt more auntie and less grandma. And I hope nobody misses the last line of the movie setting up the sequel perfectly.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)