ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory Film Review

Updated on April 3, 2018
Actor
 
Gene Wilder
Willy Wonka
Peter Ostrum
Charlie Bucket
Diana Sowle
Mrs Bucket
Jack Albertson
Grandpa Jo
Julie Dawn Cole
Veruca Salt
Roy Kinnear
Mr Salt
Michael Bollner
Augustus Gloop
Ursula Reit
Mrs Gloop
Denise Nickerson
Violet Beauregarde
Leonard Stone
Mrs Beauregarde
Paris Themmen
Mike Teevee
Nora Denney
Mrs Teevee

About the film

Released: 1971

Director: Mel Stuart

Producers: Stan Margulies, David Wolper

Running time: 1 hr 40 mins

Genre: Fantasy, Musical, Family

Distributed by: Paramount Pictures

Budget: $3,000,000


About the film

As a lover of musicals, this is one film which I always enjoy watching it. Although I've watched it many times over the years, I still enjoy watching it when it comes on TV. The story begins with young Charlie Bucket visiting a candy store to purchase some chocolate. There's a few other children in the store getting chocolate and candy. When Charlie is walking home, he walks past the chocolate factory that Willy Wonka owns. This is the first time we get a glimpse of the mysterious building.

The next day, news quickly spreads around the world that Willy Wonka is giving away just 5 tickets to someone, and 1 accompanying person, to visit the factory on a guided tour. As the world goes mad on trying to acquire one of these exclusive tickets, Charlie becomes more and more disappointed as one by the one the tickets are slowly being claimed from around the world. Although Charlie comes from a poor family, living with his mother and grandparents, his family are loving and deeply care for him.

When the last ticket is believed to have been won by someone in Paraguay, this deeply disappoints Charlie, and he resigns himself to the fact that all the tickets have been won. But when he finds a coin is a drain, he fishes it out and buys a chocolate bar. With the change, he busy a Wonka bar for his Grandpa Jo. As he walks out of the shop, he overhears people saying that the last ticket that was believed to be won in Paraguay, was in fact a hoax. So Charlie slowly opens the Wonka bar and discovers he had, in fact, got the last golden ticket. Running home, he is stopped by a mean looking man called Slugworth, who tells him he wants the secret ingredients to the everlasting gobstopper.

Throughout the film we see how Charlie and the other children and their parents deal with all the surprises that the chocolate factory has, and the quirky little ways of Willy Wonka. And, of course, there is plenty of music and songs in the film to sing along to. Of course, once inside the chocolate factory, we get to meet the Oompa Loompa's who Willy Wonka had taken under his wing. These little men with green hair and orange faces are fascinating little men that amuse and surprise the visitors. I think these actors are wonderful at playing the Oompa Loompa's.

My thoughts

I love this film. I am a big fan of musicals, and this is a timeless classic. Gene Wilder was a wonderful actor, and I always enjoy watching him in this. Although made in 1971, it is still enjoyable to watch. The chocolate factory itself is a marvel to look at, and a magical place. With surprises and shocks around every corner, you never know what to expect in this weird and wonderful place. We get to see who the real Slugworth is. What I like about this film is the fact that is highlights honesty and being trustworthy. Through the storyline, it shows how the children in the film can be honest and upfront. At the end of the film, we get to see the real reason why Willy Wonka opened up his factory and offered this exclusive prize to people.

Personally, I love this film and love singing along to the songs. Peter Ostrum, who plays Charlie Bucket, plays an excellent part and is a sweet kid in the film. The chocolate factory itself is very colourful and full of wonderment and surprises. The chocolate river is my favourite!

The songs in the film

The song
The performer
The Candy Man
Bill (Candy store owner)
Cheer Up, Charlie
Mrs Bucket
I've Got a Golden Ticket
Charlie Bucket
Pure Imagination
Willy Wonka
Oompa Loompa (Augustus)
The Oompa Loompas
The Wondrous Boat Ride/The Rowing Song
Willy Wonka
Oompa Loompa (Violet)
The Oompa Loompas
I Want it Now
Veruca Salt
Oompa Loompa (Violet)
The Oompa Loompas
Ach, So Fromm
Willy Wonka
Oompa Loompa (Mike)
The Oompa Loompas

Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory Official Trailer

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Natalie Frank profile image

      Natalie Frank 

      3 months ago from Chicago, IL

      This is one of my favorite movies although it does have its creepier aspects and Willy Wonka always seemed to me like he sets the kids up so he can punish them and teach them a lesson by terrorizing them and their parents. Between the boat ride in this movie and the flying monkeys in The Wizard of Oz I had my share of nightmares as a kid!

    • DREAM ON profile image

      DREAM ON 

      4 months ago

      This is one of my wife's favorites. We have to spend time to watch it. Great job exciting both of us to watch more t.v. Have a super day/

    • Missy Smith profile image

      Missy Smith 

      4 months ago from Florida

      Wow, you really did some research! You know the year it was out, the budget, and all the songs and who sang them.

      As far as the description of the movie itself; good job! I have watched this one many times myself, and you described the whole thing to a t. :)

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      5 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Oh no Jo, nothing wrong with you at all! But, your grandchildren will love this film for sure!

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 

      5 months ago from Tennessee

      Even though I raised two daughters and now have four granddaughter I have never seen this film. There must be something wrong with me.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      5 months ago from Norfolk, England

      I didn't know that Gene Wilder didn't like children, Mary. Interesting fact! Yes, I like Johnny Depp too, but I prefer the old film. Thanks for reading my article.

    • Blond Logic profile image

      Mary Wickison 

      5 months ago from Brazil

      It's one of my favorite films. I love the song 'Pure Imagination'. I like Gene Wilder and apparently, he didn't like kids so making this film must have been awkward. Although I admire Johnny Depp as an actor, his version just didn't match up to the first, in my opinion.

      This was just a fun, original and quirky film.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 

      5 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Interesting and I liked this one. The review is useful and you shared with lovely pics.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      5 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes Dora, he was a brilliant actor wasn't he?

    • CaribTales profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      5 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for the story. Seems fun. I've seen Gene Wilder in other movies and liked his work. I bet her's good here too.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      5 months ago from USA

      I recall watching this several times when I was a kid. Gene Wilder was made for that part.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      5 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I've seen part of this movie and thought it was so much fun. I need to watch the whole film some time.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      5 months ago from The Beautiful South

      I haven't seen this with Gene Wilder and I did love that man so much! Thank you. I will make a point of seeing this.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      5 months ago from Norfolk, England

      I agree Frank, I wasn't too keen on the newer one either. I much prefer the old one.

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      5 months ago from Shelton

      wow this review brought back some old memories.. I so enjoyed this movie.. the newer version with Depp, I didn't care for... but No one beats Wilder... what a fun trip back through memory lane I experienced reading this hub Coffee Queen..:)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)