ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"Win Win," Paul Giamatti's Latest Movie, Review

Updated on April 8, 2011
Alex Shafer and Paul Giamatti
Alex Shafer and Paul Giamatti
Jeffrey Tambor
Jeffrey Tambor
Amy Ryan
Amy Ryan
Bobby Cannavale
Bobby Cannavale

Win Win

Win Win is a warm-hearted little movie about a struggling lawyer in a small town in New Jersey whose financial straits tempt him to petition to the court in order to become the guardian of an elderly client suffering from dementia in so that he could collect a $1500 per month guardian fee so that he can pay his family's health insurance premium. Neither Giamatti nor the court was able to locate the man's daughter whom he hadn't seen or heard from in 20 years. Giamatti promised the judge he would help the elderly man remain in his home as he wished rather than be put in a nursing facility. Once he became the man's guardian he promptly places him in a quite nice nursing home.

Soon a teenage boy shows up on the doorstep of the elderly man's empty house. He tells Giamatti that he's come to live with his grandfather. Giamatti takes him to visit his grandfather in the assisted living facility, and they have a nice visit. The boy's mother is in a drug rehabilitation facility in Ohio and he wants nothing to do with her. Giamatti and his wife take the boy in and try unsuccessfully to contact his mother. The boy gets along well with Giamatti, his wife and two small daughters.

Giamatti and his law partner coach the highly unsuccessful local high school wrestling team. They discover that the boy had been one of the top high school wrestlers in Ohio. He works out with their team and nobody can touch him. So, Giamatti convinces the boy to enroll in the school and join the team which ends up in the state finals and he's recruited by a college based on his wrestling successes. Then the boy's mother shows up with a lawyer bent on taking charge of her father's care and his money.

The movie deals with human frailties and motivations in a warm and human way. None of the characters is perfect and none is totally evil.Giamatti is a much nicer character in Win Win than in Barney's Version, and he delivers his usual stellar performance of a humorous, sad sack character who tries to do the right thing. Alex Shafer does a marvelous job as Kyle, the teen runaway, and Amy Ryan is quite good also as Giamatti's wife. Bobby Carnavale and Jeffrey Tambor add humor as assistant coaches of the wrestling team.

Giamatti fans will like this movie as well as anyone else who enjoys movies that treat serious moral issues with subtlety and a light touch.

The movie was directed and written by Tom McCarthy; based on a story by Mr. McCarthy and Joe Tiboni; director of photography,

“Win Win” is rated R (Under 17 requires accompanying parent or adult guardian). Language familiar to anyone who has driven in New Jersey.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • .josh. profile image

      .josh. 

      7 years ago

      Excellent review here, Ralph - I was actually wondering about 'Win Win,' so it's great to have come across this review. Might even have to catch it this weekend!

      (And I loved the "language familiar to anyone who has driven in New Jersey" bit. Good stuff.)

    • Mimi721wis profile image

      Mimi721wis 

      7 years ago

      Thanks for the info.

    • The Jet profile image

      The Jet 

      7 years ago from The Bay

      I will check it out when I can. Thanks for the review.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks, Jeff.

    • Jeff May profile image

      Jeffrey Penn May 

      7 years ago from St. Louis

      Thanks Ralph, I thought this looks like a good movie, and now I want to see it even more.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      7 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks for your comment. I'm pretty sure you'll enjoy the movie. I'll look for your review and link it to mine.

    • profile image

      JBunce 

      7 years ago from Minneapolis, Minnesota

      Thanks for the review. I not only loved the director's earlier movies (especially "The Station Agent"), but I've been planning to see this one on Monday the 11th and review it on Tuesday the 12th, so this was especially interesting.

    • profile image

      Fay Paxton 

      7 years ago

      Thanks for the trailer and the review. It sounds like a movie I might enjoy and I'm always looking for a good movie.

      up/useful

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)