ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"Winter's Bone" Movie Review

Updated on September 16, 2011
Jennifer Lawrence
Jennifer Lawrence
Ree Dolly and her sibilngs
Ree Dolly and her sibilngs
Ree's Uncle "Teardrop" played by John Hawkes
Ree's Uncle "Teardrop" played by John Hawkes

Winter's Bone

I saw Winter's Bone tonight which is the best movie I've seen in a while. It was so real that it seemed almost like a documentary of life in the Missouri Ozarks in the 1930s. The characters and setting reminded me of the depression photography of Walker Evans and Dorthea Lange.

The heroine of the story is Ree Dolly, a courageous 17-year-old girl played with an award-winning performance by Jennifer Lawrence.

The movie covers several days during which Ree faces a crisis caused by her father's disappearance after posting the family home and farm as bail bond for his trial for cooking meth in a lab in the Missouri back woods. Ree cares for her two young sibilings and her mother who is depressed to the point of being non-functional. The family home and farm will be lost if her father doesn't show up for his trial. The plot revolves around Ree's search to find her father to make sure he shows up for the trial so that the farm won't be sold for the defaulted bail bond. Her search begins with her father's cocaine-addicted brother and ends up with various ruthless relatives and other members of Ozarks drug clan associates of her father who are not willing to help her.

The characters seemed so real that I wonder how the cast was recruited, that is, whether they were played by actors or by real people from the Missouri Ozarks. And all the scenes were definitely shot on location, not on a Hollywood set. The script was written and directed by Debra Granik. It was based on a book by Daniel Woodrell. Several reviewers compared the movie to Frozen River, the prize winning independent movie released two years ago. It's also worthy of comparison of the almost Biblical French movies Jean de Florette and Manon of the Spring. Like them Winter's Bone was not easy to watch.

Note: The movie may sound like a "downer," but I didn't react to it that way. It's an uplifting movie because of Ree Dolly's guts and determination not to give up on doing whatever it took to find her father and save the family farm. She is quite an admirable character, in my opinion, well portrayed by Jennifer Lawrence.


Dortheal Lange Images

Dorthea Lange's Most Famous Photograph
Dorthea Lange's Most Famous Photograph | Source
Source

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • stephaniedas profile image

      Stephanie Das 

      6 years ago from Miami, US

      This was a great movie. Also, I believe the children that played Ree's younger siblings were actually real Ozarks dwellers, not actors.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks for your comments! It's a serious movie, quite well done. Not Hollywood or Bollywood.

    • H P Roychoudhury profile image

      H P Roychoudhury 

      8 years ago from Guwahati, India

      You have presented a great 'Movie Review'. Thanks.

    • profile image

      JBunce 

      8 years ago from Minneapolis, Minnesota

      I had just come here to let you know I've just added a link to your "Winter's Bone" review on the page for mine, and I see you've already added one to my review... for which, my thanks. I'm glad to see that you also mentioned "Frozen River"... I'd like to imagine that at least a few curious fans who are impressed by "Winter's Bone" might check out "Frozen River", too. And just a note to mention that after taking a look at some of your political pieces it looks like we might agree on more than a few things. I'll be checking them out more in the future.

    • Coolmon2009 profile image

      Coolmon2009 

      8 years ago from Texas, USA

      Sounds like an interesting movie. Thanks for this review.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      TNX. Maven's comment is right on. Ree's encounter with the Army recruiter stood out from the rest of the movie. The recruiter was one of the "nicer" people she encountered.

    • suziecat7 profile image

      suziecat7 

      8 years ago from Asheville, NC

      I never heard of this movie before and will have to check it out.

    • maven101 profile image

      maven101 

      8 years ago from Northern Arizona

      Excellent review of this taut thriller. I thought John Hawkes was terrific as the dangerous uncle...

      For all the emphasis on naturalism, the world depicted here seems too cut off from the rest of America to feel totally authentic. That’s brought home in a brilliant scene when Ree tries to enlist with a wise military recruiter — is this the only contact with the greater world (other than a small-town police officer) that she has? Her total backwoods isolation doesn’t quite ring true for our modern times...Larry

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Tnx, all, for the comments. PrettyPanther, you should definitely see the movie although it might change your mind about moving to the Missouri Ozarks although the countryside there is beautiful.

    • breakfastpop profile image

      breakfastpop 

      8 years ago

      Thanks for the great review. I am looking forward to seeing it.

    • KoffeeKlatch Gals profile image

      Susan Hazelton 

      8 years ago from Sunny Florida

      It sounds like a good movie to go see. Great review.

    • PrettyPanther profile image

      PrettyPanther 

      8 years ago from Oregon

      I'm not sure I would have heard of it, if not for your review. I will check it out. Coincidentally, my family and I are moving to the foothills of the Missouri Ozarks in about two months.

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      8 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Tnx for the comments. Actually, the movie was not depressing in the same way Mystic River was. The Ree character was in many ways uplifting in her courage and determination to find her father and save the family homestead.

    • FCEtier profile image

      Chip 

      8 years ago from Cold Mountain

      I enjoyed your review, but the movie sounds really depressing. "Mystic River" was well crafted and acted, many say a "masterpiece" but is was SOOO depressing!

    • zzron profile image

      zzron 

      8 years ago from Houston, TX.

      Really cool. Thumbs up.

    • profile image

      iamqweenbee 

      8 years ago

      Cannot wait to see

    • sabu singh profile image

      sabu singh 

      8 years ago

      Excellent and thrilling trailer Ralph. Thank you for telling me about this movie of which I was unaware. Must see.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)