ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

A Wacky Mozart in “Amadeus”

Updated on October 18, 2016
Charito1962 profile image

Ms. Charito is a Filipino based in Manila. She has worked as an executive assistant and a journalist. She is a widow with a grown-up son.


I love watching historical movies about famous artists. And one film I never tire rewatching is Saul Zaentz’s 1984 production of Amadeus.

Though I have never seen the stage version written by Peter Shaffer, I must say that the film is good enough, since it obviously presents a more elaborate 18th century setting.

Flashback style

I have studied how many writers - who use the flashback style - achieve success in their storytelling. Shaffer, I believe, has done just that. At the start - after old Antonio Salieri is rushed to an asylum for attempting to kill himself - the film formally opens with him seated by the piano, narrating to a visiting priest about his experiences with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. I am impressed by the way the writer employs the time element in this story. It takes place in one night until the morning when Salieri is wheeled away from the priest.

F. Murray Abraham

To me, the character of Salieri stands out more than Mozart. F. Murray Abraham (who plays Dar Adal in the TV series Homeland) delivers a superb performance, especially in playing the old Salieri. He truly deserves the Best Actor award.


He had simply written down music already finished in his head! Page after page of it as if he were just taking dictation. And music, finished as no music is ever finished. Displace one note and there would be diminishment. Displace one phrase and the structure would fall. It was clear to me that sound I had heard in the Archbishop's palace had been no accident. Here again was the very voice of God! I was staring through the cage of those meticulous ink-strokes at an absolute beauty.

— Salieri, on Mozart’s score

Salieri (F. Murray Abraham) looks at Mozart’s original copies.

The Mozart monument at Salzburg, the composer’s birthplace in Austria.
The Mozart monument at Salzburg, the composer’s birthplace in Austria. | Source

A different image of Mozart

When I first saw this film, I was surprised to see a Mozart totally different from what I learned from my history classes. Here was a famous composer who was giggly, drunk, and vulgar.

But the acting of Tom Hulce (who voiced Quasimodo in Disney’s The Hunchback of Notre Dame) is really amusing. I loved the way he would do his high-pitched laughter!

Still, I believe Hulce succeeded in performing his role well, as he showed great talent in the delivery of his lines (“It’s the best opera yet written!”), in the conducting of his orchestra, and in his animated games. He definitely adds a comic touch to the story!

Forgive me, Majesty. I am a vulgar man! But I assure you, my music is not.

— Mozart

The funny scenes here include Salieri watching Mozart (Tom Hulce) and Constanze (Elizabeth Berridge), Mozart’s first opera, and Mozart aping Salieri.

A weak leader (“Well, there it is!”)

Even if Shaffer had made an extensive research on Emperor Joseph II (played by Jeffrey Jones in the film), I was still surprised to see this character portrayed as a weak leader.

This is evident in the scenes where he critiques Mozart’s opera for having “too many notes”, and for awarding Salieri’s mediocre piece as the “Best Opera”. Furthermore, he is easily taken in by the poor advices of his two subjects in charge of the theater - Count Orsini-Rosenberg (played by Charles Kay) and Kapellmeister Giuseppe Bonno (played by Patrick Hines).

Emperor Joseph II (Jeffrey Jones): "Too many notes!"

Memorable scenes

No doubt, the opera scenes heighten the quality of this film. Yet, I will mention two scenes I like most. One of these is where Mozart meets the Emperor for the first time. When the young composer is challenged to play Salieri’s March of Welcome, he sits at the piano immediately and plays the piece with much ease - even if he had heard it just once! What delights me is how Mozart embarrasses Salieri by enhancing his composition.

Mozart impresses the emperor and his subjects by enhancing the march composed by Salieri.

Mozart (Tom Hulce) kissing the hand of Salieri (F. Murray Abraham). "It's not a holy relic!"
Mozart (Tom Hulce) kissing the hand of Salieri (F. Murray Abraham). "It's not a holy relic!" | Source

Then, there is that popular dictation scene where Salieri - all through the night - assists the exhausted Mozart in finishing the notation of his Requiem. I find this the most dramatic part of the film because the Requiem is fittingly played in the background, and ends in the scene where Mozart finally dies in the morning.


Dictation scene with Mozart and Salieri

For lovers of historical movies and followers of opera, I would truly recommend Amadeus. Everything in this film is just excellent – from the costumes to the script, to the music, to the acting. Indeed, it deserves the Best Picture award.

Here are great materials to keep :

Amadeus
Amadeus

Saul Zaentz’s superb production of Peter Shaffer’s famous play!

 

Tell us what you thought of the movie "Amadeus".

Submit a Comment

  • Vortrek Grafix profile image

    Vortrek Grafix 3 years ago

    Hi Charito, This was a great movie. Loved the contrast between happy go lucky natural genius Amadeus, and prim, proper and discipline Maestro Salieri. Being brilliant in his own right, Salieri begrudging realizes other composers are merely mediocre in Mozart's presence. And what a twist at the end of that movie!

  • SilverLotus1 profile image

    SilverLotus1 3 years ago

    I love this movie! Glad you did such a good review!

  • profile image

    julieannbrady 4 years ago

    This is the kind of movie I like -- a little culture and a little history and non-fiction.

  • Rosetta Slone profile image

    Rosetta Slone 4 years ago from Under a coconut tree

    I watched this movie years and years ago and had totally forgotten about it. I'll have to watch it again, thanks to your wonderful review :)

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @tazzytamar: Thank you very much! Pleased to know you both!

  • tazzytamar profile image

    Anna 4 years ago from chichester

    You're reviews are excellent - you should be a critic. Ps. I know I already posted on this lens but I just showed it to my mum and she loved it!

  • Arachnea profile image

    Tanya Jones 4 years ago from Texas USA

    I agree, using the flashback device and by extension the dream sequence, is not an easy endeavor for a writer. When it's done well, the results can be what actually makes the writing (or in this case, the movie).

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @smine27: Thanks!

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @tazzytamar: You'll like it, believe me!

  • tazzytamar profile image

    Anna 4 years ago from chichester

    This is brilliantly written and sounds like my kind of film! Will definitely be giving it a go :)

  • Klaartje Loose profile image

    Klaartje Loose 4 years ago

    I love this movie!

  • profile image

    happynutritionist 4 years ago

    I have been wanting to see this movie again, we saw it when it was in the theaters and loved it!

  • Adele Jeunette profile image

    Adele Jeunette 4 years ago

    We just watched it again. It holds up well.

  • jmchaconne profile image

    jmchaconne 4 years ago

    I loved the movie, the acting was superb as was the cinematography, and of course the music of Mozart.

  • Old Navy Guy profile image

    Old Navy Guy 4 years ago

    I really enjoyed the movie when it came out and I even bought the DVD. Also, your assessment of the actors is spot on. The right actors with the right writer's equals an excellent movie. Thank you for sharing.

  • smine27 profile image

    Shinichi Mine 4 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

    I have to say this was one of my favorite films to date. It helps that I've always been a fan of Mozart. Great review.

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @Nancy Hardin: You're welcome! Great to hear from you!

  • Nancy Hardin profile image

    Nancy Carol Brown Hardin 4 years ago from Las Vegas, NV

    I think you hit the nail on the head with your review. There may be others who disagree, but I totally agree with your assessment of the film, the characters and the actors. Thanks for this review, and it will go on my Facebook page Hand in Glove With History and on my blog of the same name. Thanks again.

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @Lynn Klobuchar: You won't regret it, believe me!

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @Donna Cook: Glad you liked the film!

  • profile image

    Lynn Klobuchar 4 years ago

    You are reminding me that I really liked this movie and need to check it out again!

  • profile image

    Donna Cook 4 years ago

    Great review! This movie has everything I love! I'm a huge fan of the Czech American director, Milos Forman and of Mozart's music (like most people). I've seen the phrase "period porn" of which this is an excellent example. I am of Czech descent and get lost in the exterior scenes which were shot in Prague.

    Just a fabulous movie.

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @Gloriousconfusion: Glad you did!

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @MartieG: Glad you did!

  • profile image

    tonyleather 4 years ago

    Loved it!

  • Gloriousconfusion profile image

    Diana Grant 4 years ago from United Kingdom

    I enjoyed your review. I saw the film, and it was really good

  • MartieG profile image

    MartieG aka 'survivoryea' 4 years ago from Jersey Shore

    Nice review-I liked the movie also! :>)

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @tonyleather: That's good to know, sir Tony!

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @CherylsArt: You can say that again!

  • CherylsArt profile image

    Cheryl Paton 4 years ago from West Virginia

    Looks like a fun movie. It is certainly not the Mozart that I heard about in school. : )

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @Aladdins Cave: Thanks for visiting!

  • Aladdins Cave profile image

    Aladdins Cave 4 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

    Love classical music to say I liked this lens. Thank you

    Cheers from DOWNUNDER

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @Colin323: I agree it's really a great film!

  • profile image

    Colin323 4 years ago

    Yes, this is a very good film, excellent acting, and it highlights the contrast between the nobility of Mozart, the Artist; and the fraility of Mozart, the Man.

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @flycatcherrr: Thanks! I'm glad you liked the movie much as I did. Believe me, it's worth re-watching. Best regards.

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @takkhisa: Glad you liked it! It's really worth re-watching.

  • takkhisa profile image

    Takkhis 4 years ago

    This is one of my best movies I have watched so far. The story and music both are great!! :)

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @MarcellaCarlton: You're welcome! Glad you like the movie.

  • profile image

    MarcellaCarlton 4 years ago

    I love this movie! The acting and music were so great. Thank you for reminding us of this film and for sharing what you know.

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @PaigSr: That just shows you have good taste!

  • PaigSr profile image

    PaigSr 4 years ago from State of Confussion

    I have to admit the only reason I watched this movie was for the music.

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @aesta1: Glad you liked it! Regards.

  • aesta1 profile image

    Mary Norton 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

    I love this movie, too. Life stories of people I admire are to me very interesting.

  • flycatcherrr profile image

    flycatcherrr 4 years ago

    Such a powerful film! I hadn't much wanted to see it when it came out in the theatres, but a friend gave it such a compelling review - much as you've done here - that I ended up going to see it, several times. Well done.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)