ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Iron Maiden- Powerslave (Review)

Updated on February 19, 2012
The cool, Egyptian artwork on the cover of "Powerslave".
The cool, Egyptian artwork on the cover of "Powerslave". | Source

Album: Powerslave

Artist: Iron Maiden

Year: 1984

Score: 100/100

“Iron Maiden’s Signature Album”

When I think of consistent bands, Iron Maiden is the first that always comes to mind. For the number of albums they’ve made, they’re probably the most consistently good band I’ve ever listened to. Three of their albums I would give a perfect score and this album is certainly one of them. “Powerslave” isn’t even my favorite release from Iron Maiden, and yet it sits amongst my all time favorite albums by any band. It’s a flawless album; each song is perfectly crafted. “Powerslave” definitely needs to be heard by every metalhead.

Of all the Iron Maiden albums, “Powerslave” most represents their signature sound. In terms of sound it continues the trend of the two previous albums, “The Number of the Beast” and “Peace of mind”, by utilizing the galloping guitar riffs and prominent bass that made those previous albums so incredible. The difference is that everything is much more memorable, and maybe a bit more complex. Additionally, there are more melodic guitar portions sprinkled throughout “Powerslave”. There’s also no filler, which I felt was something that plagued those other two albums.

The bass might be a bit more audible than usual, which is always a huge plus for me. In fact, one of the first things that drew me to this album was the sound of the bass. Upon hearing “Powerslave” for the first time I was so surprised at the consistent nature of the bass work; how it was a big part of the sound but it wasn’t flashy and it didn’t interrupt the flow of the songs. I’ve always been a huge Bruce Dickinson fan, and he doesn’t disappoint on this album. The vocals are outstanding throughout the whole album, and it is my second favorite vocal album from Iron Maiden (behind “Somewhere in Time”). The drums are also great; they do their job perfectly. They’re never too flashy or too dull, which makes them perfect for this kind of straightforward heavy metal album. The guitars are brilliant as well. They retain the sound found on previous albums, but do seem to be a tad more melodic. This is particularly noticeable during songs like “Flash of the Blade” and “The Duellists”. I’ve always loved dueling guitars, and this is one of the greatest albums to use the technique. Dave Murray and Adrian Smith are one of the greatest guitar duos in the history of music.

I’m going to state this flat out; there is not a bad song on the whole entire album. It opens strong and finishes strong, as well. “Aces High” is one of the greatest songs the band ever made. Of their hit songs, it’s probably the one I favor the most. “Two Minutes to Midnight” is a little overrated, but it’s still good. I believe this was the most popular song from the album, and it kind of makes sense. It’s probably the most accessible off this release. “Powerslave” might just be in my top three Iron Maiden songs; it’s a perfect song with one of the best choruses the band has ever done. It’s the hidden gem of the release; I have no idea why more people don’t love this song. I’m always one for Egyptian sounding metal tunes, and “Powerslave” is the definition of this particular sound. Even more underrated is “Back in the Village”. The verses are absolutely great on this song, and I love the guitar riff during the chorus. “Flash of the Blade” is yet another highlight, with a powerful chorus and some great guitar work. The vocals are outstanding in “Flash of the Blade”, with Bruce giving one of his finest performances. “Rime of the Ancient Mariner” is Iron Maiden’s signature epic piece. It was the first song over ten minutes that I ever listened to, and therefore it is always going to be one of my favorite songs. It may even be the epic that I judge other epics by. It’s almost pointless to mention the rest of the songs, because they’re all incredible. Bands like this just don’t exist anymore.

“Powerslave” is, perhaps, the best example of what Iron Maiden is good at. The songs are perfectly heavy and catchy at the same time. If a person asked me what heavy metal is, I would hand them this album. “Powerslave” is recommended for anyone who likes anything about music, and it is a mandatory listen for anyone into rock or metal. The album defined what traditional heavy metal was during the 80s. It’s actually shocking how old it is, because it’s still very fresh sounding to this day. “Powerslave” is simply essential listening. It is absolutely great, and one of the best albums that I’ve ever heard.

This review was originally posted by me at: http://theheavyreview.blogspot.com/2012/02/iron-maiden-powerslave.html

Thanks for reading! Feel free to comment!

Which Iron Maiden instrumental is the best?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Ant 

      3 years ago

      I love this album, but it is sorely overrated. The album comes to a screeching halt at the instrumental and does not pick up again until the song Powerslave. 4 out of the 8 songs are OK or worse. During the 4 song slump there is not ONE but TWO songs about SWORD FIGHTING!!! Give me a break!!!!

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment! I've never noticed the similarity between those two songs; I'll definitely have to listen again. Keep it heavy!

    • Shinkicker profile image

      Shinkicker 

      6 years ago from Scotland

      Great album, Nice Hub.

      I would say though that 'The Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner' was tainted for me when they kicked in the Sabbath rip-off at the end. The riff sounded far too much like Children of the Grave.

      But a classic album nonetheless.

      Cheers for an interesting Hub, voted up.

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment! "Somewhere in Time" is my personal favorite, but "Number of the Beast" and "Piece of Mind" don't really even compare to this. Any kind of perfect score is definitely appropriate for this one. :) Don't worry, I don't intend to stop my reviews anytime soon. ;)

    • Steve Orion profile image

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      Hell yes! This is my favorite from Maiden. I don't think Number of the Beast or Piece of Mind can compare, this is the definitive album. Haha I do think 100/100 is appropriate, you could even do 1000/1000 without splitting hairs. Keep the reviews coming, I need my opinions validated =)

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment! I sadly haven't seen Iron Maiden live yet, but I know they're touring this summer... maybe I'll go and see them for the first time. Even though "Powerslave" isn't my favorite Maiden album, I would consider it their 'signature' release for sure.

    • FatFreddysCat profile image

      Keith Abt 

      6 years ago from The Garden State

      This is my "go-to" Maiden album as well. Sadly I didn't get to see them on the POWERSLAVE tour in 84-85 (one of my friends did, though, and he speaks about it in tones of awe to this very day)... but seeing the "Somewhere Back In Time" retro-tour in 2008 almost made up for it.

      Great album, great band, great hub!

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Wow! That definitely makes me want to go see them even more. I hope they have a new album out soon!

    • markmic36 profile image

      Mick Smith 

      6 years ago from Warwick, RI

      yeah check them out if you haven't seen them live you are in for a real treat. they sound just as good live as on any recordings. ive seen them about seven or eight times and every time they never disappointed.

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment! Iron Maiden is definitely one of the best and most consistent metal bands ever. I was excited to hear that they are touring this summer, perhaps I will go see them.

    • markmic36 profile image

      Mick Smith 

      6 years ago from Warwick, RI

      I agree awesome album, Iron Maiden is one of the greatest metal bands of all time, and consistantly put out good stuff. They are coming around my area this year, and I can't wait to see them. My old band covered a few of their songs, they were fun to play.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)