ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Keeping Up Appearances: Review

Updated on February 25, 2016
Source

The adventures of Hyacinth Bouquet or should that be Bucket?

The complete and entire series of Keeping Up Appearances is to be found in this wonderful DVD set.

What a treat. You read that right, the entire series. Truly.

Some people might think that the character of Hyacinth Bucket is just a little over the top. Are there really people like that? Maybe she is a caricature, but in many episodes, she really does remind me of my mum.

The ultimate social climber

The first indication that Hyacinth's life is devoted to climbing the social ladder is the fact that she insists on pronouncing her last name, which is Bucket, as 'Bouquet'. Nice. My mum couldn't do anything with Jackson, but if our last name had been Sidebottom, you can bet she would have pronounced it 'Siddi-both-am'.

The comedy of class

This series started on TV in 1990, a time when I was still in the UK. I didn't watch it when I was in England - it was introduced to me by BBC America once I'd moved to Florida. What's funny is that many non-Brits think that we are a class-riddled society. This series goes to show that we actually think the whole class and social climbing thing is really rather daft, pretty funny and just a little sweet.

Characters

I wish I had the skill to invent characters like these. The lovely Hyacinth obviously comes from a 'working class' background as witnessed by the rest of her family. Of her sisters, all named after flowers like Hyacinth herself, we only ever see two. Daisy and Rose. Daisy is a chubby and jolly lady who is married to the ultimate lovable slob, Onslow. The other sister, Rose, is Daisy's direct opposite - skinny, tarty and on the hunt for a man. Sister Violet is never seen but obviously is similar to Hyacinth as we are reminded every episode that she has a Mercedes and 'room for a pony'.

The hapless husband

Her poor husband is often drawn into her social climbing activities - activities that never work out. If her plans aren't scuppered by the arrival of Daisy, Onslow and Rose in their beat-up, backfiring car, then they come to grief thanks to Hyacinth over-reaching herself.

The best rating

I have been buying goods from Amazon for many years and I always look at reviews and star ratings given by other buyers. I have never before seen a product that has 4.9 stars out of a possible five. I was gobsmacked. Oh, sorry Hyacinth and Mum, that wasn't too elegant - I was astounded, then.

Take a look at this...

Take a look - see for yourself

One of my favourite episodes is when Hyacinth and her neighbor Liz, are planning to take their turn working at the charity shop with 'Mrs Councillor Nugent'.

However, sister Daisy calls and says that there is an unknown woman in their senile 'daddy's' bedroom. Hyacinth wants to call round but doesn't want Liz to see her sister's run-down home. The things she'll do to 'keep up appearances.' It is,of course,on the DVD you see above.

In the clip below, see just an average day in the Bucket household.

It's Bouquet--Not Bucket!
It's Bouquet--Not Bucket!

Any anglophile, or fan of this comedy TV show will be delighted to receive the DVDs above as a wonderful gift and this book is the perfect companion piece, describing the making of the series.

 

Do you want to see some outtakes? They are always such fun.

Below, see the full cast of this incredibly popular television series.

Keeping Up Appearances ran for five years on television,starting in 1990.One of the reasons that it appealed to the public so much was because in England, such social niceties were a thing of the past.

But did they ever exist at all?

Many people from other countries sometimes get the erroneous impression that England is very class-conscious. But that isn't the case. It's an attitude that is fostered by the fact that there are ancient British titles such as 'lord', 'marchioness' and so on.

However, most British people will tell you that these titles mean nothing. We're a small island and as such, we're all accustomed to mingling freely with all 'classes'.

But that doesn't mean that there aren't social climbers such as Hyacinth Bucket. Hopefully there always will be because there's nothing the British like more than laughing at themselves.

© 2013 Jackie Jackson

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Virginia Allain profile image

      Virginia Allain 

      4 years ago from Central Florida

      These are so much fun. Love all the characters.

    • profile image

      tonyleather 

      4 years ago

      Hyacith Bucket is my all-time heroine. Hilarious series!

    • profile image

      ChocolateLily 

      4 years ago

      I cut my teeth on this series with my mom. Now that I am older, I do find some bits more questionable now that I understand them better (Rose...). I do love Hyacinth, Richard, and the rest though!

    • Marinna profile image

      Marinna 

      4 years ago

      I love Hyacinth, your lens was a treat. Thank you!

    • ayannavenus profile image

      ayannavenus 

      4 years ago

      I love this show one of my all time favourite! I

    • profile image

      Ruthi 

      4 years ago

      I love this show! Hyacinth is delightful in her attempt at Keeping Up With Appearances!

    • corinnephillips1 profile image

      corinnephillips1 

      4 years ago

      Great lens I watched the episode you featured it was great especially the ending where onslow say great then you can give me a lift

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @Nancy Hardin: Thank you! I am always completely amazed by the acting in this series. Patricia Routledge is a genius comedy actor.

    • Nancy Hardin profile image

      Nancy Carol Brown Hardin 

      4 years ago from Las Vegas, NV

      I know you have no idea how many of these episodes I've watched over and over again. And no matter how many times I watch them, they're just a hilarious each time. We discovered this series a few years back and watched it on our local PBS station. They've taken it off (more's the pity!) so now to get my "Hyacinth fix," I guess I'll have to buy them. Thanks so much for this review.

    • BritFlorida profile imageAUTHOR

      Jackie Jackson 

      4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @sousababy: They're old - but good :)

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 

      4 years ago

      OMG, that episode is hilarious. "That's Boo - KEH, the emphasis is on the second syllable" - HA!There's a lot of energy invested in keeping up with the Jones's . . it's good to find humor in it. (Never heard of this show before).

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)