ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Meals Ready - Short Film Review

Updated on September 20, 2014

About this Film

In India, Kalaignar TV is conducting Film show among the young talented directors, titled "Naalaya Iyakkunar" which means "Tomorrow's Director". In this program me number of directors will participate with their short film, which will run for 10 to 12 minutes.

One of such contested movie is Meals Ready. This short film was produced by Atheetha productions and directed by Nithuna Nevil Dinesh. After contesting with many short films this one has won the best short film.

You can just view the short film and the review of this short movie, as opined by my friends,

Positive Review

The standing sign post is never going to make it beyond here (it is too far along in his life and he got there because there was no alternative to getting there). But the question is what about his son/daughter and grandchildren? I have a feeling that they are, with every generation, likely to progress much further than the generation before. Yet, the 350 Million population during Indepedence is now 1.2 Billion That means new standing sign posts have been generated in more absolute numbers than used to exist in the past. If you look in the urban roads of today, you probably see a lot more acute signs of poverty than seen in this short film.

When outsiders look at India, they see a big opportunity in our country and the people within finding a way to use the potential to really get moving. Yet, the realists are quick to see that these things take time, given the sociopolitical system that we see in the country and it is very slow evolution and very little chance of a big revolution. For a revolution to happen, we need to see those affected by the inequalities (i.e., the wrong end of the stick) feeling very unhappy, triggering unrest - but what we see is the acceptance personified by the old man and his wife in this short story.

When I was on some serious recruitment of young staff, I did notice that a lot of candidates were coming from families whose heads were probably the standing sign post we see in the short story. I saw during my 3 years working with these staff that while they were never likely to be brilliant, they understood the reason for establishment of R&D in India, learnt enough skills to get done what was needed to be done and the stake holders were quite happy and eager to give more responsibilities to us.

The flip side was that since they were content with what existed, they did not have the hunger to strive for having a bigger vision and work towards bigger responsibilities.

Source
Filmmaking for Teens: Pulling Off Your Shorts
Filmmaking for Teens: Pulling Off Your Shorts

The book takes the reader through the entire process of making a short film, planning for a shooting schedule of 3 days

 

Negative Review

There is this 60-70 year old man, willing to act as sign post for 4-5 hours. Why a sign post can't be put? Probably because that eatery is in an unauthorized place, but has come up because of political/caste/communal powers.

Now, what can a man, whom the owner doesn't even consider fit to work as waiter/cook and only substitute for sign post expect out of life? Just few tit bits here and there.

Even that cat has been rendered worthless by this environment. It is a countryside with plenty of rats/small animals for it to eat, but that cat is content sitting with that old women eating few tit bits of old rice!

Please understand, we need lions, not these signposts and pussycats. Use your brains and emotions in the right direction.

Meals Ready - short film - Video

© 2012 Ahdilarum

Your Comments - Don't forget to say Hi

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      A. SELVENDHIRAN 

      17 months ago

      let us share our love towards other. this film is inspiring and motivating. try to help others where others are in struggles and try to vibrate with them.

    • Ahdilarum profile imageAUTHOR

      Ahdilarum 

      3 years ago

      @ Lady_E : Video of the short film is already provided in this page.

    • Lady_E profile image

      Elena 

      3 years ago from London, UK

      Thanks for the review. I look forward to seeing the movie.

    • Ahdilarum profile imageAUTHOR

      Ahdilarum 

      3 years ago

      Thanks Venkatachari M for posting your valuable comments about this short movie.

    • Venkatachari M profile image

      Venkatachari M 

      3 years ago from Hyderabad, India

      It is a good posting. A food for your mind. Most of us do not know all these naked realities of life and feel world is very Good to Live.

      It will be better if we can think of those helpless creatures and try to do something worthy to better their lives.

    • Ahdilarum profile imageAUTHOR

      Ahdilarum 

      4 years ago

      Thanks aussiewriter and Sukran for posting your views here..

    • sukkran trichy profile image

      sukkran trichy 

      5 years ago from Trichy/Tamil Nadu

      actually i am not a cinema goer, but i love short films particularly the 'nalaya iyakkunar'. this meals ready is a heart touching creation. i love it.

    • Jo-Jackson profile image

      Jo-Jackson 

      5 years ago

      Sounds interesting!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)