ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Netflix Reviews and Opinions

Updated on January 22, 2012

My Netflix Review: My Thoughts and Personal Opinion of Netflix

Love it or hate it, Netflix is here to stay. With over 23 million users in the United States and Canada, Netflix, Inc. is the largest internet subscription based service for enjoying movies and TV shows.

After a long period of refusing to jump on the Netflix bandwagon, I finally caved in and decided to give it a try. Now that I've been a Netflix user for about a year I decided to take the time to give my honest review and opinion of Netflix.

I also wanted to create a place where other users can leave their open and honest opinion and personal review of Netflix. Be sure to participate in polls, leave a comment and otherwise let us know how you feel about Netflix.

In this lens I run down everything I love, and don't love, about it. For those who aren't too familiar with Netflix, let's start out with a basic overview of the service.

What is Netflix?

Instant access to movies and TV shows from your TV, computer, gaming console and more!

Netflix is a subscription based service that offers users instant access to streaming movies, videos and TV shows via the internet. There are a variety of different devices where users can access the Netflix service. These include their TV, laptop, desktop computer, all popular gaming consoles and more.

In addition to instant access to streaming movies, Netflix also offers DVD rental via the mail. A variety of pricing options ranging from 2 DVDs out a month to 1 DVD out at a time to 8 DVDS out at a time are available.

What I Love About Netflix

Let's start out on a positive note and discuss the benefits Netflix offers...

Subscription Plans for all Budgets

Economical to Luxury Pricing is Available

One of the things I love about Netflix is the fact that they have a Netflix subscription plan to fit ANY budget. If you just want access to unlimited streaming video, this is available for a low $7.99 a month for U.S. and Canadian subscribers.

U.S. subscribers can step up to access to DVD rentals via the mail for an additional cost each month. Of course, pricing is based on how many DVDs a subscriber wants to have simultaneously checked out at a time.

On 07/12/2011 Netflix announced changes to their subscription pricing and effectively unbundled the unlimited streaming and DVD services that were previously available bundled together at very affordable prices.

As of 7/12/2011 unlimited streaming of video only is still $7.99 a month. The ability to request unlimited DVDs each month, 1 DVD at a time, will cost users another $7.99 a month. The ability to request unlimited DVDs each month, 2 DVDs at a time, will cost you $11.99.

Here's a summary of the current Netflix subscription options:

Unlimited Streaming ONLY: $7.99

Unlimited DVDs, 1 out at a time: $7.99

Unlimited DVDs, 2 out at a time: $11.99

Unlimited Streaming plus 1 DVD at a time: $15.98

Unlimited Streaming plus 2 DVDs at a time: $19.98

Here's how Netflix subscription plans used to look prior to the 07/12/2011 changes:

Unlimited Streaming: $7.99 per month

Unlimited Streaming PLUS:

1 DVD out at a time for $9.99 per month

2 DVDs out at a time for $14.99 per month

3 DVDs out at a time for $19.99 per month

4 DVDs out at a time for $27.99 per month

5 DVDs out at a time for $34.99 per month

6 DVDs out at a time for $41.99 per month

7 DVDs out at a time for $48.99 per month

8 DVDs out at a time for $55.99 per month

Subscribers can keep DVDs as long as they like, (never exceeding the amount of allowed DVDs out a time) with no late fees.

Is $7.99 a little too expensive? Don't have time to watch a ton of movies or TV? U.S. Netflix subscribers can take advantage of the Netflix Limited Plan for only $4.99 a month. This basic and limited plan offers 1 DVD out a time and is limited to 2 DVDs per month and 2 hours of streaming to their PC per month. The Netflix Limited plan offers streaming only to a computer, not a TV or other device.

I think the Netflix current entry to mid level pricing plans are perfect and I believe these pricing options are a large reason behind the success of Netflix. In my opinion $7.99 a month is a great deal to unlimited and instant access to many popular movies and TV episodes. Paying $9.99, $14.99, and $19.99 per month to add 1, 2, or three DVDs out a month is also a great deal.

If you have a large family or a great deal of time to watch dozens of DVDs per month, the more expensive plans are no doubt a good value as well. I just wouldn't have the time to watch enough DVDs to justify the additional cost. However when compared to the cost of your local video rental store, the more expensive Netflix plans are still a good value and great convenience.

No Late Fees for DVDs!

Keep DVDs as long as you need!

One of the things I love about Netflix is the fact that you can keep DVDs as long as you need. You'll never be permitted to have more than the allowed number of DVDs out your subsription plan permits, but you keep DVDs checked out with your active subscription as long as needed with no late fees!

I don't know about you, but finding time to head to the local DVD rental store is often difficult enough. Finding time to actually watch the DVD in the allowed time and return it on time without incurring late fees usually proves to be even more difficult. Anyone with a busy life knows how difficult the simple act of renting a DVD or blu-ray can be. All of these worries don't exist with Netflix.

Netflix offers thousands of Movies and TV episodes you can watch instantly!
Netflix offers thousands of Movies and TV episodes you can watch instantly!

Netflix has a Large Selection

<

Netflix has a rapidly growing catalog of movies and TV episodes. Between the available streaming videos and DVD catalog, Netflix has a truly impressive catalog that is continually growing to offer users even more choices.

In addition to popular modern movies, Netflix is also a great source for classics and obscure movies you've never heard of. If you dig the occasional corny B movie now and then, Netflix will definitely make you happy for years to come.

Don't worry because navigating through such a huge selection of movies couldn't be easier. If you know what you are looking for simply search by title. You can also browse through the available selections by category to find movies that interest you.

Overall I'm truly impressed with the massive catalog of movies Netflix has and I can't wait to see how the service continues to expand and evolve.

Highly Convenient

Queues, prepaid shipping envelopes, no late fees and other perks!

Netflix makes everything incredibly easy for users. Signing up for a free trial is a breeze. Subscribing is just as easy. The convience doesn't end there. Once you are a paid subscriber Neflix still takes care of you just as well. Enabling Netflix on your devices is usually as simple as entering a code.

Some of the convenient Netflix features I've come to love are listed below.

DVD Queue and Instant Queue (U.S. subscribers only): Take a few minutes and browse through the great selection of DVDs and instant streaming video available on Neflix. Setup a list of the DVDs you want to receive and Netflix will take it from there. Netflix automatically sends the next available DVD on your list when you return a DVD. Easily add, remove, or rearrange items in your DVD queue with the click of a mouse. Adding items to your queue of instant streaming video is just as easy. Find an item you want to watch via streaming video later on and add it to your queue. There's no need to search for the movie or video again later on when you want to watch it.

No DVD late fees: No more paying your video store to rent the same DVD 2 or three times over before you actually have time to watch and return it!

Prepaid return envelopes: Every Netflix DVD comes with a prepaid return envelope. Pop your DVD back into its sleeve, put it in the prepaid envelope, seal and drop it in the mail. Within a day or two the DVD will arrive back at the closest Netflix center and the next available DVD in your queue will be sent out (usually the very same day).

Dvd shipping notification emails: Netflix will email you when they receive your DVD returns and when they ship out DVDs. This is a great way to know whether your DVD has been successfully returned and what DVD is coming next. I'm sure if you don't want these notifications you can set your account settings to disable these email notifications.

Online Problem Resolution: Although problems with Netflix are generally rare in my experience, they can and do sometimes happen. No worries when the inevitable minor problem happens because Netflix has streamlined the entire process and made it extremely efficient. Was your DVD lost in the mail? Did you receive an incorrect or damaged DVD? Did you have a problem with the quality of streaming video? All of these can be quickly dealt with via the Netflix website. Simply login and report the issue with a few clicks of the mouse. No drawn out customer support tickets, no never ending email tag, no afternoons lost sitting on hold waiting for a customer service representative to pick up the phone!

Put your Account on Hold: If you need to put your account on hold Netflix allows you to do so at any time. Of course this entire process is quick and painless too. Maybe you'll be on vacation or simply too busy to enjoy movies and DVDs. Maybe your entertainment budget took a hit and you simply can't afford Netflix for a month or two. Whatever the reason you can instantly put your Netflix account on hold instantly online. Restoring your account is as simple as logging into your account and clicking the option to reactivate. You can even set Netflix to reactivate and resume billing automatically on a specific date.

Ratings and Suggestions

Netflix recommends movies for you to try.

I have to admit when I first saw the "Suggestions for You" section of Netflix I was not expecting much. I figured it would function like some of the recommendations or "you might also like" features of other websites, returning irrelevant and useless results. I was glad to learn my assumptions were wrong. This feature has recommended quite a few good movies for my son and I. The best part is it encourages you to honestly rate and review movies you've seen in the past. The more you rate and participate the better the feature seems to be at recommending movies for your consideration.

Although the feature does seem to sometimes make some comical suggestions, it's still pretty useful. It's not perfect but it does do a decent job of pointing out movies you might have overlooked.

Put your Account on Hold or Cancel at Anytime!

No worries about being left in customer service limbo. . .

Another great aspect of Netflix is the fact that you can put your account on hold at anytime. On a tight budget that doesn't allow Netflix for a month or two? No problem! Going out of town or leaving the country for a month or two? No worries! Whatever your reasons, you can put your Netflix account on hold at anytime with a click or two of the mouse. You can even set the account to automatically reactivate itself!

In the unlikely event you decide you want to cancel your Netflix account the process is just as easy. There is no need to sit on hold to wait for a live customer service representative to pressure you into keeping your account.

Video Quality Based on your Connection Speed

Netflix determines the speed and quality of your internet connection to determine the quality of streaming video you will receive. This feature ensures users with high speed connections receive the best quality streaming video available to them. The features also ensures users with a slower internet connection can receive the best quality video their internet connection can provide without the need for annoying load or buffering times.

Overall this setup works very well in my experience, but it can be a slight inconvenience to users with a slower internet connection. That's why you'll see me list this features as both a positive and a negative in this review.


What's NOT So Hot!

Nothing is perfect, and Netflix is no exception to the rule. Although I'm generally VERY pleased with Netflix, here are some things I don't love about the service.

Problems Can and Do Happen

Damaged DVDs, Incorrect Disks . . .

Unfortunately with a service as large as Netflix, problems can and do happen.

During my time with Netflix I've received two damaged DVDs in the mail. One had a small crack in the inner hub which made the DVD unreadable. The other DVD had a crack and chip on the very outside edge. This made the last 15 minutes of the movie unwatchable. These were undoubtedly damages that occurred during shipment. Netflix ships DVDs in white sleeves and paper envelopes. While this much less heavy and bulky mailing method keeps their postage costs down, it doesn't offer much in the way of protection for the DVDs.

I also had one other issue with Neflix. My son and I are fans of the 2004 movie "Dawn of the Dead" starring Ving Rhames. We wanted to see how the original 1978 version of the film compared because neither of us had seen it. We were excited to receive what we thought was the 1978 version of the film in the mail, only to discover someone at Netflix had mistakenly labeled the 2004 version of the film as the 1978 version. We promptly returned the DVD and Netflix shipped us the correct disc which we received a couple of days later.

In my overall experience problems with Netflix are few and far between. I've never had an issue with streaming video yet to date. Any problems I've encountered have been minor problems associated with DVDs. These problems were minor inconveniences that I suppose are to be expected. After all, when a company likely ships millions of DVDs each day, errors are going to be unavoidable.

My only real complaint with regard to the few problems I've experienced with Netflix is the way they handle an issue when a problem is clearly their fault. I'm my experiences I've discussed above I totally accept that things get damaged in the mail. It happens. I also understand the additional costs of extra packing materials to better protect the DVDs and the additional postage required would end up trickling down to the subscriber costs. I'm totally fine with accepting that I'll receive a damaged DVD now and then. However, I think Netflix should show a little more concern when a problem is clearly their fault. In my example above the incorrectly labeled disc was clearly the fault of Netflix. I don't think it should be approached the same way as receiving a damaged disc. An extra DVD from your queue or a simple "We are so sorry for the inconvenience" email would go a long way to improving customer satisfaction!

You May Have to Wait on That HOT New Release. . .

New releases are sometimes NOT so new

Are you excited for the release of that hot new movie on DVD or Blu-ray? Are you just waiting for the release date so you can request it on Netflix? Well the bad news is you are probably going to be a little disappointed. New releases are usually delayed a month or more on Netflix. I believe this varies depending on whatever deal Netflix has arranged with particular movie companies.

The short version of a long story is Netflix has generally signed agreements with major companies to delay the release of new releases on Netflix. That means if you want to see a new DVD or Blu-ray on the release date you'll still have to buy it or at least head to your local movie rental store. I understand the reasoning behind all of this, but it is still one of the biggest drawbacks of Netflix.

Streaming Video Quality Based on Connection Speed

Slower internet connection speed means lower quality video

As I've mentioned before, Netflix determines the speed and quality of your internet connection to determine the quality of your streaming video.

This feature allows users with fast internet connections to stream the highest quality HD video available to them. At the same time, users with lower connection speeds can still enjoy the highest quality video available to them without annoying lagging, choppiness, or constant buffering. While this means users with slower internet connections can reliably view Netflix video, it does mean their video is of a lesser quality.

Overall this setup works great in my personal experience. I access Netflix from both a very high speed and a slower internet connection. I find the quality and watch-ability of Netflix to be great in both cases. This could be a drawback if you have a very slow connection, which is why you'll see it listed as both a negative and positive in this lens.

Netflix currently recommends a minimum connection speed of 0.5mbs to enjoy their service.

Browsing the Complete Selection is Difficult on Some Video Game Consoles

One of my biggest complaints about Netflix is the inability to easily browse the entire catalog on video game consoles like the Nintendo Wii. The entire catalog of available instant streaming videos on Netflix just isn't easily viewable via the Wii. While I'm not certain whether this is more of a complaint about Netflix or Wii it can be frustrating either way.

I generally find it much easier to browse the entire Netflix catalog on my PC or laptop and then add movies or TV episodes to my instant queue. This is much easier than trying to find movies via the Wii or other gaming console.

Overall this is a minor irritation but it is something that needs to be improved upon, particularly for those unlucky individuals who access the service via a video game console exclusively.

Streaming Netflix on your Xbox 360 Isn't Free.

Free to Unlimited Users on Wii and PS3, but NOT the Xbox 360!?

Ok..this one probably isn't Netflix's call, but it still makes me mad. Unlimited Netflix subscribers can watch unlimited streamed video on their Nintendo Wii or Sony Playstation 3 for no added cost. Users simply download the required software and then enter a code on the gaming console to activate their device. It's not quite as easy on the Xbox 360.

You need to be a paid Xbox Live Gold MEMBER to get access to Netflix on your Xbox 360. I realize this is probably due to the greed of Micro$oft, but it's still pretty lame. I also realize most serious Xbox 360 owners probably already have an active Xbox Live Gold Membership. However you are still basically FORCED to have an Xbox Live Gold Membership whether or not you want one to access Netflix on the Xbox 360. That's something I don't feel is right, especially since Netflix subscribers can access Netflix for free on all other major gaming consoles.

Would I Recommend Netflix?

The Final Verdict? - A thumbs up!

Netflix: Fun, Affordable, and Convenient!
Netflix: Fun, Affordable, and Convenient!

So what's my final verdict?

I give a big thumbs up to Netflix.

As of May 30th, 2011 I'm still very pleased with Netflix. Although there are a few minor things that could use improvement, overall I love Netflix. The service offers convenient and instant access to a TON of great movies. There's simply nothing like the ability to instantly start a late night movie on the weekend. There's no rushing to make it to the video store before closing, no worries about late fees, and no stress.

The biggest problem you'll likely have with Netflix is getting the entire family to agree on what to watch.

There is a Netflix plan to suit any budget and I highly recommend anyone who thinks they are interested to try the no strings attached free trial.

UPDATE: 07/12/2011

While I still like and recommend Netflix for affordable unlimited streaming I'm NOT pleased about the recent 60% increase in my cost to continue receiving DVDs via the mail. All I can do is hope Netflix listens to the masses and makes some changes to the new pricing they have announced.

See for Yourself!

Sign up for your FREE NETFLIX TRIAL today!

Why not see for yourself and form your own opinion? Netflix offers a one month trial absolutely free of charge. It was this same free trial that got me hooked!

Get Connected!

To access Netflix you'll need a Netflix ready TV, a Roku Player, a popular video game console (PS3/ Wii/Xbox 360), a Netflix capable mobile device, or a laptop or home computer!

Roku Player

A Roku player can be one of the most affordable ways to receive streaming video on your TV. When upgrading to a Netflix enabled TV isn't in the budget, a Roku player can be purchased for as little as $59.99! With a Roku player you aren't limited to receiving Netflix videos. You also have the ability to receive streaming video on your TV from Amazon Video On Demand, MLB.com, Pandora and more.

Roku and other Neflix Devices on Amazon - Get your TV ready for Netflix!

Unless you have a Netflix ready TV, you'll need to have a way to receive Netflix on your TV via your internet connection. These can include a Roku box, video game console, a DVD/Blu Ray player with built in Netflix, or similar device. A ton of great deals are available on Netflix capable devices at Amazon.

Netflix Devices on eBay

Ebay is yet another great source for Netflix capable devices. Check out some examples below:

Now It's YOUR Turn!

Now its your turn to share your opinion. Use this section to let us know your opinion about Netflix. Sound off here by taking polls, leaving a comment and more!

Netflix Videos on YouTube

YouTube is full of videos pertaining to Netflix. If you are looking for honest reviews, tutorials or more information about Netflix, Youtube is a great place to visit.

Are you, or Have you Ever Been, a Netflix Subscriber?

Are you a Netflix subscriber now? Have you been one in the past? Let us know by taking our poll.

Are you (or have you been) a Netflix subscriber?

See results

What Do you Think of Netflix Offering DVDs and Bluray?

Do you like the option to receive discs via Netflix?

What do you think of DVD/Bluray rental via Netflix?

See results

What do you think of Netflix? - Let everyone know how you feel about Netflix.

Whether you are a current Netflix subscriber, or you've had an account in the past, we want to hear from you. Take our poll and share your honest opinion of Netflix.

What is your opinion of Netflix?

See results

How do you Access Netlix?

What is your primary way of accessing Netflix?

Which of the following is the primary way you access Netflix?

See results

Highlights of my Personal Netflix Experience. Regular updates of my personal Netflix opinions!

Follow along with updates of the highs and lows of my personal experience with Netflix!

I thought it would be beneficial if I share my personal experiences with Netflix. I decided to set aside this area of this lens just to share some quick updates of the highs and lows I experience with Netflix. Don't expect anything fancy here, it's just intended to be a short and sweet summary of any major experiences I have with Netflix whether they be good or bad.

Free Trial: My free 30 Day trial of Netflix was very smooth. Signing up was very easy. I did have to supply credit card information for the trial but my card wasn't charged until the free trial was over. Netflix provided the exact date the free trial expired. My next billing date is also always clearly shown on my main account page so there are never any billing surprises.

Putting My Netflix Account on Hold: I've put my Netflix account on hold 2 or 3 times since I've been a member. I've found it a great option that is extremely easy to take advantage of. Simply log in and select the "Put membership on hold" link from your main account page. You can then select the date you'd like your account to automatically reactivate, from 7 to 90 days out. Of course you can sign in and manually reactivate your account prior to your automatic reactivation date. Netflix won't bill you while your account is on hold but naturally you also won't be able to receive DVDs via the mail or watch video instantly while your membership is on hold. The process is extremely quick and easy.

04/06/2011 - Received Damaged DVD: I received a damaged DVD on April 6th. I noticed a chip and crack on the outer edge of the DVD. It looked like something may have been dropped on the disc during shipment. Knowing a DVD is read from the inner to outside edge I had a hunch the DVD wouldn't play toward the end of the film. I popped it in the DVD player and skipped to the last 20 minutes or so of the film. Sure enough the Disc froze and wouldn't play. I'm certainly glad my son and I didn't invest over an hour of our time only to discover we couldn't finish the last 10 or 20 minutes of the movie! Netflix shipped the disc on the 5th. I noticed the damage and reported it on April 6th and Netflix shipped a replacement on April 7th. Although receiving a damaged disc was unpleasant, Netflix handled it very well. They sent out a replacement the day after I reported it and before they had even received the damaged disc returned.

04/30/2011 - Received Mislabeled DVD: April 2011 just wasn't a good month for Netflix. My son and I have been into zombie movies lately. One of our favorites is the 2004 remake of George A. Romero's Dawn of the Dead. We wanted to see how the 2004 version compared to the 1978 version of the film. I requested the 1978 version of the film on DVD but when we received the disc it was actually the 2004 version in the sleeve describing the 1978 film. It was a little disappointing to wait for Netflix to fix the problem, but overall it is an understandable mistake. I received the mislabeled DVD on April 30th, and reported the issue and returned the disc the same day. Netflix shipped out a replacement a few days later.

06/01/2011 - Changing my Netflix Password: I misplaced my Netflix password and had to change it today. Once again Netflix has streamlined this to be quick and painless. From the main log in section I simply clicked the link next to "Need help signing in?" and Netflix emailed me a link to reset my password. The entire process took about 30 seconds and Netflix even sends an email confirming the password change! I'm sure if you forgot the email address you used to signup for Netflix, or no longer have access to that email account, the process may be a little more involved, but Netflix has a solution for that situation as well.

06/01/2011 - Funny Netflix Movie Suggestions: Netflix suggests movies you might be interested in or might like based on movies you've rated in the past. As you'd probably expect, this feature is far from perfect. Today I noticed a funny suggestion. Back when I was a kid I liked the hokey and campy 80s classic, Weird Science starring Kelly Lebrock and Anthony Michael Hall. Based on my interest in Weird Science Netflix suggested 1994's The Crow starring the late Brandon Lee. WTH?

I've seen both movies and, like anyone else who has, I see absolutely no similarities between the two films. Netflix was dead right that I'm interested in The Crow, I just thought it was pretty funny that this determination was based on my interest in a completely unrelated 1980s comedy. I thought that was funny enough to share.

In defense of Netflix, even though I've seen (and love) The CrowI've never taken the time to rate it. Had I done so the film never would have been suggested to me in the first place. I've only rated about 50 movies and the suggestions are supposed to improve as I rate more an more movies. Netflix uses these ratings to attempt to "learn" what your individual tastes are. I will say the feature has suggested many interesting films I've never seen, even if the way it reaches its determinations sometimes leaves me scratching my head.

06/13/2011 - Newly Redesigned Netflix Site: So Netflix just redesigned the site and some people are all worked up over it...it seems many people hate the redesign. The new design is supposed to make showcasing Netflix instant streaming selections easier and more user friendly.

The biggest changes are that the movie cover pictures are slightly larger and they now automatically scroll horizontally from left to right when you hover over a category with your cursor. You hover over an individual title with your cursor when you want to see more info, a title, ratings etc.

I think the new design is much more attractive. I like the larger cover images and the design gives the main user area of the site a clean and uncluttered look. The red play button that appears when you mouseover/hover over a selection is pretty cool as well. However, I think from a user standpoint the design needs a little tweaking.

The auto scrolling feature on the main page area is a little slow when you are just browsing and painfully slow if you want to go forward or back for a movie you've passed and want to go back to. I like the concept of being able to browse the instant selections this way but it is a little slow at times. Some sort of scrolling speed control or a way to advance more quickly manually if desired would be better. The current design is a little clunky and slows me down a bit.

Hovering over a movie cover image to get more info and the title etc doesn't bother me. While some cover images aren't exactly clear with what the title is or what the movie is about, these are the exception and not the rule. If I'm curious I just hover and figure it out! What DOES bother me a little is the fact that you can't see ratings unless you hover over the cover. What bothers me even more is I'm not seeing any way to filter results or sort results by ratings, which really sucks. My biggest complaint is the current lack of ability to sort things.

Overall the new design takes a little getting used to. I like the uncluttered look but don't like the functionality the way it currently exists. I don't feel as strongly about the redesign as others do. For me it was a "meh" redesign. Many people hate the design. I can live with it, but I'm not sure what it does to improve things from a functional point of view. I admittedly haven't spent a great deal of time using the newly redesigned Netflix account but I've played around with it enough to know I can live with it. I definitely don't love the design, but I don't hate it either. I'm not losing sleep over it or threatening to cancel my account. I'm assuming Netflix will respond to user criticisms of the design and tweak it for some minor corrections. Time will tell if I'm right.

06/13/2011 BONUS! Netflix error in my favor.So I currently subscribe at the "only one DVD out a time" level with Netflix. I receive a movie and when I return it they send out the next DVD in my DVD queue. That's the way its supposed to be and that's the way it's always been until today. For whatever reason in the mail today I received a DVD from my DVD list even though I still have the previous DVD they sent. I'm returning both tomorrow, but it was cool to finally see a company make a mistake in my favor! It doesn't happen nearly enough.Thanks Netflix!

07/12/2011 Netflix Price Increases and Other Changes Announced: Today I found out come September, 2011 I'll be paying more for Netflix. Netflix has split up the combination unlimited streaming and DVD options. Subscribers now need to pay for each service separately. Of course the news came with the announcement of price increases. Unlimited streaming is a still reasonable $7.99 a month. However users now need to pay $7.99 a month for 1 DVD at a time or $11.99 for 2 DVDs out at a time.

As I've mentioned I like the unlimited streaming and 1 DVD at a time option. I was paying $9.99 for this service. Netflix has raised the price of this same package by 60%! Instead of $9.99 I'll now be paying $15.98 a month. I'm not happy and the buzz around the web and social media clearly indicates I'm not alone!

Netflix Announces New More Expensive Price Plans for U.S. Customers - 07/12/2011

This cartoon is probably blowing things out of proportion, but we savvy consumers know it's only a matter of time!
This cartoon is probably blowing things out of proportion, but we savvy consumers know it's only a matter of time!

Netflix announced changes in their subscription plan options and pricing in an official press release today. The press release cleverly begins announcing the bad news by attempting to paint a positive picture:

"Netflix Inc. (Nasdaq: NFLX) announced today it is launching new unlimited DVD-only plans in the U.S. at their lowest price ever- only $7.99 a month for the 1 DVD out at-a-time plan and $11.99 a month for the 2 DVDs out at-a-time plan."

Lowest price ever offered? That's great! Not really! Hold the phone because there is more to the story. Netflix's PR goons then go on to drop the bomb that Netflix will now be separating all unlimited DVD and unlimited streaming plans in the U.S.

That's right! If you want to receive DVDs via Netflix you'll be paying more for the privilege. Come September, 2011 for existing subscribers (or effective immediately for new subscribers) the beloved $9.99 unlimited streaming plan and one DVD out a time option are long gone. Also gone are the days of me telling friends and family what a great Netlix is if you want to get unlimited streaming and DVDs.

Netflix subscribers now need to pay $7.99 for unlimited streaming. That's still a great deal and doesn't really affect users too much who don't take advantage of the DVD option. If you want to receive DVDs you'll now be paying more each month. If you choose the "one DVD out a time option" you can get an unlimited amount of DVDs per month for an additional $7.99. If you want to step up to the "2 DVDS out at a time" option you'll need to pony up $11.99 per month.

The new costs for unlimited streaming and unlimited DVDS are as follows:

Unlimited Streaming $7.99 + Unlimited DVDs via Mail 1 out at a Time $7.99 = $15.98

Unlimited Streaming $7.99 + Unlimited DVDs via Mail 2 out at a Time $11.99= $19.98

While the price increases may not seem all that drastic on the surface, they are much more significant when you look at them on a deeper level. My current subscription level is, or should i say WAS, the $9.99 unlimited streaming /1 DVD at a time plan. To continue with the same service I'll now be paying $15.98. I hear all of you saying it's only $5.99 more a month. True. That's also a 60% increase! That $5.99 a month might not sound like a drastic increase, but it adds up to $71.88 more a year!

The price increase wouldn't be so hard to swallow if Netflix had done something to add value for current subscribers along with raising the monthly cost. Instead we get the same exact thing and we pay more.

I feel this is a bad move for Netflix and I have a feeling they will be losing many subscribers. I also fear this price increase, although not terribly dramatic, is just the beginning of the end. The days of paying double digits for unlimited streaming are not too far off. I'm sure Netfix will eventually phase out the DVD option all together and simultaneously raise prices on their unlimited streaming option.

I haven't made up my mind yet whether I'll keep my current plan and pay more, drop the option to receive DVDs, or cancel my subscription altogether. I'd love to hear what all of our visitors have to say.

What do you think about the 7/12/2011 Netflix price increase?

Is this a clever way for Netflix to start phasing out the DVD via mail option?

Is it just a modest increase to cover increasing postage costs?

Is this the beginning of many more Netflix price increases to come?

Vote in the polls and share your opinion below!

Poll: What Do You Think of the New Netflix Price Plan? - Cast YOUR Vote!

What Do You Think of the New (07/12/2011) Netflix Price Increases?
What Do You Think of the New (07/12/2011) Netflix Price Increases?

How do you feel about the 07/12/2011 unbundling of services and price increases on Netflix? Vote in the poll below.

What Do You Think of the New (07/12/2011) Netflix Price Increases?

See results

How Will You React to the Netflix Price Increase?

Will you Make Changes to YOUR Netflix Subscription?
Will you Make Changes to YOUR Netflix Subscription?

How are you reacting to the 07/12/2011 Netflix price increases and unbundling of streaming and DVD plans? Are you just paying more for the same service? Are you downgrading? Are you canceling your Netflix account all together? Share your views in the poll below.

Are you Making Changes to Your Netflix Subscription Due to the Recent Price Increase?

See results

Disclaimer, External Links Policy, and Other References

This lens is in no way affiliated with, or endorsed by, Netflix, inc. or any of its subsidiaries, employees, or associates. We offer no suggestion that the work presented on this web page is "official" or produced or sanctioned by the owner or any licensees of the aforementioned trademarks. The author of this lens will take all steps necessary to ensure that any usage of trademarked items in no way confuses the audience of this site as to its origin. This lens, and its creator make no claim to own Netflix, inc. or any of the copyrights or trademarks related to it. Images that are displayed on this site have been released into the public domain or are copyright of Netflix, Inc., the creator of the image and used with permission or under terms of fair use.

External links policy: In the interest of fairness and full disclosure, the following external links policy is offered voluntarily. This lens may contain links to many other web sites. The author and creator of this lens, user-name ClinicallySignificantProductions, (henceforth referred to as "author") cannot guarantee the accuracy of information found at any linked site. Links to or from external web sites sites not owned or controlled by the author of this lens does not constitute any actual endorsement by the author, or any of its employees, of the sponsors of these sites or the products or information presented there. Although the main objective of this lens is to provide valuable information and useful content, a small royalty or commission may be earned by the author from purchases made after clicking on some of the external links in this lens. It doesn't make anyone rich and hey, we gotta eat too! Plus I'm a single dad and toys, clothes and school supplies don't buy themselves! The author is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com, as well as other affiliate marketing programs. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the author with questions, comments, or concerns.

Offer up your thoughts on Netflix, comment on our lens, or just drop in and say hello by leaving a comment below!

Leave a comment!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Netflix should add Sailor Moon with all seasons

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Don't dubbed movies you guys kill it when it is dubbed. Just leave the original voice.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Hi there i was wondering if youguy could updates on the movies thanks

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      How often does the movie list get updated and can u please add the movie Mulan to instant watch

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Have been a Netflix subscriber for years and overall am happy with it. My big beef with them? Dishonesty when writing a review! Only 1 time have I felt compelled to do it...but the dishonesty that I encountered has left a bad taste in my mouth. The ratings they show are NOT tallied correctly, nor are the reviews in any logical order...other than to prove, along with the tallies of helpful vs non-helpful, to skew the results. Not a big deal...but this proves to me that Netflix is dishonest in this respect (I have proof) and leaves me wondering what else they are dishonest about???

    • castellucci lm profile image

      castellucci lm 5 years ago

      Very thorough, thoughtful and well-balanced. I especially like how it doesn't read like a sales page for Netflix. I've linked up to it on my lens: How to Watch Tons of TV Without Cable or Dish. Too many textboxes, IMHO; I use them only when I want to emphasize a small block of text, not an entire section or paragraph. The thick borders make for difficult reading and distract from your great content.

    • cinstress profile image

      cinstress 6 years ago

      good lens

      we get the two Blue Ray a month plan for only 5.99 (they add a buck to the regular DVD plan)

      you can't beat that price for Blue Rays!

    • ClinicallySigni profile image
      Author

      ClinicallySigni 6 years ago

      @GrowWear: I definitely agree..I think the future is streaming media but Netflix definitely needs to change their business model if they hope to continue to dominate the market. I currently stream Netflix via PC, Laptop and gaming consoles but I think it's time to buy a Roku player to open up my options for streaming BEYOND Netflix.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by and comment!

    • profile image

      GrowWear 6 years ago

      Thinking all such as Netflix will be streaming only, eventually. Right now, we've been with Netflix for two years and stream through Roku. But, as far as loyalty goes when all is streaming only, that goes to the company that will do it better--which means good relations with the movie owners so that streaming is up-to-date with a good selection of the latest in film.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      OVER 1,000 likes in a dayhttp://www.facebook.com/pages/1000000-people-who-w... ............. plus rates are going up so u may wanna change that.... and sony pictures wont let netflix live stream their movies bc of wht netflix said about them