ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Nirvana- Nevermind (Review)

Updated on March 24, 2012
The famous artwork for "Nevermind".
The famous artwork for "Nevermind". | Source

Album: Nevermind

Artist: Nirvana

Year: 1991

Score: 94/100

“A Classic, but Nirvana Can Do Better”

Nirvana… my guiltiest of guilty pleasure bands, the only pop band that I listen to consistently. They are hated deeply by most other metalheads, and even some rockers. Yet they’re considered legendary by the vast majority of rock fans and music critics. No other Nirvana album is as recognized as “Nevermind”. While I think that its praise is certainly justified, I do feel that the band has released much better material.

The cool video for "Smells Like Teen Spirit", the hit song from the album.

The music video for "Come As You Are".

Review continued...

Instrumentally, the album is quite simplistic. There are no true displays of technical prowess to be found. The songs are quite easy to follow and they do have a structure very reminiscent of pop music. Nevertheless, the album is a shining gem in the songwriting department. The riffs are generally quite memorable and nothing showcases this better than the hit song, “Smells like Teen Spirit”. The song is a classic and even after hearing every Nirvana song out there, it’s one of my favorite up there with “Blew” and “Pen Cap Chew”. I for one can’t understand the criticism the song gets, both from fans of the band and from people who hate Nirvana. It’s just simply a great song; impossible for me not to like. The songs have a certain charm about them that’s tough to explain. It’s almost like there’s a happy vibe to the songs, which is ironic considering the history of the band and some of the lyrical content.

The cover for the "Smells Like Teen Spirit" single.
The cover for the "Smells Like Teen Spirit" single. | Source

There’s a lot of pop sensibility in the songs, particularly in the latter half of the album. These guys knew how to make a catchy song without sacrificing the hard rock edge that made “Bleach” one of my all time favorite albums. Kurt Cobain’s unmistakable voice is easily the highlight of the individual performers, and the diversity of his vocals is actually pretty impressive. He mumbles, screams, and sings his way through the twelve songs on the release. Dave Grohl’s drums are decent, and they’ve always stood out to me. He didn’t do anything impressive in a technical sense, but his drumwork is fantastic anyway. Also notable is the soft/heavy/soft dynamic found in the songs. Other bands invented it, but Nirvana perfected it. This particular dynamic really adds diversity and strength to the album as a whole and to the songs themselves.

A picture of the band performing.
A picture of the band performing. | Source

The negatives of the album lie in the ballads “Polly” and “Something in the Way”. I’ve always found these songs to be unremarkable and boring (and completely overrated). There is also a certain amount of poppiness to the album, which hinders the experience just a little bit. The whole thing is actually quite smooth and tame sounding, with very little rawness. As someone who is into much more intense forms of music, I generally enjoy a rawer production job and a little more structural variation. The lack of complexity should also be noted, as instrumental skill is important but not always necessary to my enjoyment of an album.

The music video for "Lithium".

I generally prefer the heavier, non ballad songs to the songs that are ballads. I’ve already mentioned “Smells like Teen Spirit”, but I’ll say it again: this is one of my favorite songs. “In Bloom” is also notable, as it contains one of the best Nirvana choruses out there. “Breed” is incredible too; it’s fuzzy and grungy throughout. The bass is nice and loud during this one and its refreshing coming after “Come as You Are”. Speaking of “Come as You Are”, it’s one of the better slow songs from Nirvana. I particularly love the chorus effect on the guitar. “Lithium” is also good, but it’s a little overrated. I like the heavier part towards the middle of the song. “Drain You” and “Territorial Pissings” are two more favorites. The former cloaks its poppiness with heavy guitars, and the latter is a short burst of punky angst that always serves its purpose well. “On a Plain” and “Lounge Act” are two of the most underrated songs on the album. I personally prefer “Lounge Act”, and as I’m writing this I can’t think of why it’s a better song (they’re kind of similar songs, to be honest).

The cover of the "In Bloom" single.
The cover of the "In Bloom" single. | Source

Is “Nevermind” a classic album? Yes, it is. I recommend a listen to anyone who is into rock. Most people have already heard it, though. I like both “Bleach” and “In Utero” more than this, though “In Utero” is only slightly better. On a different note, I really enjoy the remastered version that came out in 2011. It’s worth replacing an old copy of the CD, as it also comes with bonus tracks. Most of these bonus tracks are found on “With the Lights Out”, but the new live and demo performances of some of the songs make the new package worthwhile. I actually like the demo version of “Lithium” more than the version on “Nevermind”, and it’s rare for me to say that. All in all, “Nevermind” is a classic album well worth anyone’s time and money. Fans of pop, rock, and even punk should find something to enjoy on “Nevermind”. I certainly did, and I never thought I would ever like Nirvana.

Best songs: “Smells Like Teen Spirit”, “In Bloom”, “Breed”, “Lithium”, “Territorial Pissings”, “Lounge Act”, and “Drain You”.

This review was originally posted at: http://theheavyreview.blogspot.com/2012/02/nirvana-nevermind.html

Thanks for reading, be sure to comment and vote!

What are your thoughts on "Nevermind"?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      5 years ago

      Thanks for commenting, Aleister888! Nevermind is still a great album, and pretty much the quintessential album of the grunge movement...at least in the popular view.

    • profile image

      Aleister888 

      5 years ago

      Excellent Hub my man! was great to hear a review of Nevermind after all this time, I just happened to create a Nirvana Hub myself and while working on it was listening to Nevermind and thought to myself ...

      You know, this truly has to be one of the "Masterpieces" of the Grunge genre.

      Loved the Hub and keep up the great writing man, your a legend!

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment Olde Cashmere! I definitely love Nevermind, but I prefer In Utero as it's more along the lines of what I usually listen to. Believe it or not, Bleach is actually my favorite from Nirvana- I just love the rawness of it.

    • profile image

      Olde Cashmere 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for reviewing this classic album. I also prefer In Utero, but this is surely up there for me in albums I really appreciate. Great job writing this. Voted up, awesome, and interesting :)

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment, PegCole17! The Weird Al parody was great, very funny indeed. It's interesting that you heard the parody before the actual song. "Smells Like Teen Spirit is, honestly, one of the catchiest songs I've ever heard.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 

      6 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Interesting review. My introduction to this group was via Weird Al Yankovic who did a parody of the "Smells Like Teen Spirit" number. Pretty funny rendition of this catchy tune.

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment, Jon Kohan! "Polly" is definitely a lot better than what comes on the radio today. I do feel like it's a bit overrated, though.

    • Jon Kohan profile image

      Jon Kohan 

      6 years ago from Pittsburgh Pa

      i do agree with you that Polly is a song on the cd that most of the time i skip, but if i could only listen to Polly or anything on the radio today, i'd gladly listen to Polly till the day i die.

      nice review, thanks for sharing.

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment, KikiCobain! I'm glad you liked the review! "Nevermind" is great, for sure.

    • KikiCobain profile image

      KikiCobain 

      6 years ago from Lancaster, Lancashire

      Thank you, Thank you, thank you! Great review! i am pleased with 94.

    • TheHeavyReview profile imageAUTHOR

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the comment! I didn't get into Nirvana until after I was heavily into the classic metal bands such as Metallica, Maiden, Slayer, etc. I never wanted to check them out because I didn't think I would like "grunge" music. Turns out I did, and I've found lots of other great grunge bands now (although I've still never warmed up to Pearl Jam or Soundgarden). \m/

    • Steve Orion profile image

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      I only know their most famous songs, but, as a metalhead, I don't really hate them, don't really love them. Some good tunes they've released so there should be some respect and they also influenced some other great metal bands. Good reviews, as always! Keep it heavy

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)