ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of "The Cutting Edge" Movie

Updated on February 12, 2014

In 1992, "The Cutting Edge" was released to theaters. It was a month or so after Valentine's Day but I convinced my husband that it was the perfect movie for us. It was equal parts:

  • Sports (for him)
  • Comedy (that we both love)
  • Romance (for me)

I reasoned that this movie about pairs skating and training for the Olympics, with comedic situations throughout that eventually turns into a love story was the perfect fit for our relationship. He couldn't argue with my logic.

He grudgingly agree to take me to see it. He ended up loving it as much as I did. (He should listen to me more often!)

A few years back, we bought it on DVD and have watched it a bunch of times -- I especially have a yearning to watch it during the winter Olympics, like now.

About the Story of "The Cutting Edge"

The story plot is pretty classic -- boy meets girl --> boy and girl hate each other --> boy and girl fall in love. We've all seen it a thousand times. It's the details, surroundings and situations that make this one different.

Doug Dorsey is a hockey player on his way to the top. In the opening scenes we see that he's a member of the USA Olympic hockey team and late for a game at the 1988 Winter Olympics in Calgary, Alberta, Canada games.

In the corridors of the ice rink facility, he literally runs into another Olympian -- Kate Moseley, a pairs ice skating contender. Unfortunately for both of them, their Olympic dreams are shattered. Doug sustains an injury permanently affecting his peripheral vision and Kate falls during a life in her pairs skating competition.

Through some twists and turns and some hysterically funny circumstances, they end up as adversarial partners shooting to be named to the 1992 USA Olympic pairs figure skating team.

The Actors

Moira Kelly plays the spoiled little rich girl and Olympian hopeful, Kate Moseley. She is superb! The combination of indignant outrage, comedy and buried insecurity are so evident in her facial expressions. Talk about "reading her like a book". It was fantastic!

D.B. Sweeney plays the playboy, fun loving but serious athlete Doug Dorsey. He can switch gears so fast from cracking a joke to being deadly serious about training and performing, you have to hold on for the ride. I think D.B. is one of the main reasons my husband enjoyed the show so much. (Even though Moira was a knockout.)

I don't want to ruin the movie for you so I will stop there and let you watch it for yourself!

Have you seen the original "The Cutting Edge"?

See results

Don't say we are not right for each other, the way I see it we might not be right for anybody else.

~Doug from "The Cutting Edge"

Some great, short videos from the movie!

Love to hear from you and your impressions of the movie "The Cutting Edge". Leave me a comment!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • BuckHawkcenter profile image

      BuckHawkcenter 

      4 years ago

      This is such a great movie during the Olympics (like now!). Typical storyline, with the greatest twists and turns. You are right - it's the settings, and the characters that make typical into something entirely different!

    • DecoratingEvents profile imageAUTHOR

      DecoratingEvents 

      4 years ago

      @Ruthi: I do love that part of the Olympics too! combined with the love -- hate story, it was great!

    • profile image

      Ruthi 

      4 years ago

      I loved The Cutting Edge, too, great storyline, but skating best of all! Olympics skating, especially the pairs, are my favorite to watch.

    • DecoratingEvents profile imageAUTHOR

      DecoratingEvents 

      4 years ago

      @Diana Wenzel: Tonight would be perfect! I may have to get my copy out too! Great idea!

    • DecoratingEvents profile imageAUTHOR

      DecoratingEvents 

      4 years ago

      @mbgphoto: You will love it Mary Beth! I just know it!

    • DecoratingEvents profile imageAUTHOR

      DecoratingEvents 

      4 years ago

      @Sylvestermouse: Thank you very much! Happy Valentine's Day to you as well!

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 

      4 years ago from Colorado

      Okay, I officially need to see this movie... like tonight. Love these kinds of flicks. Thanks for providing my entertainment for Valentine's Day. It will be perfect.

    • mbgphoto profile image

      Mary Beth Granger 

      4 years ago from O'Fallon, Missouri, USA

      Can't believe I missed seeing this movie. Your review has certainly made me put it on my list of movies to watch.

    • Sylvestermouse profile image

      Cynthia Sylvestermouse 

      4 years ago from United States

      Stopping back by today to let you know that this article has been featured today on Review This! by the Forever Hopeless Romantic Contributor on Squidoo.

      Thank you for this awesome Romantic Movie Review. Happy Valentines Day!

    • DecoratingEvents profile imageAUTHOR

      DecoratingEvents 

      4 years ago

      @Sylvestermouse: I love it too! It's fun to bring it out on a cold or dreary day and laugh and cry!

    • Sylvestermouse profile image

      Cynthia Sylvestermouse 

      4 years ago from United States

      Man, I loved this movie! I haven't watched it in years! Going to find my copy now and guess what I am doing tonight! An awesome review! I will never see show again that I don't think of you. Thank you so much for reviewing and reminding me of this movie. It is, of course, most excellent!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)