ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

When love blossoms “Somewhere in Time”

Updated on August 30, 2016
Charito1962 profile image

Ms. Charito is a Filipino based in Manila. She has worked as an executive assistant and a journalist. She is a widow with a grown-up son.


Even if some critics had given it a poor rating, Somewhere in Time is still one of my favorite romance movies, since I like watching films with a historical setting.

Based on the 1975 novel Bid Time Return by Richard Matheson (who wrote many episodes of the TV series The Twilight Zone), the movie stars the late Christopher Reeve (best known for his Superman role), Jane Seymour (star of Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman) and Christopher Plummer (who plays William Fawcett Robinson).

Summary of story

Somewhere in Time opens with a college theater scene where young playwright Richard Collier (played by Reeve) is celebrating with his friends after the staging of a play he has written. He is suddenly approached by an elderly woman (played by Susan French) who hands him a gold pocket watch and begs him to come back to her.


An old lady (Susan French) hands Richard (Christopher Reeve) a gold pocket watch. "Come back to me."

The Grand Hotel (between circa 1930 and circa 1945) in Mackinac Island, Michigan where the story takes place.
The Grand Hotel (between circa 1930 and circa 1945) in Mackinac Island, Michigan where the story takes place. | Source

The story then moves forward to eight years later, showing Richard now successful in his writing career. When he decides to relax and spend some time at the Grand Hotel, he sees an old portrait of a beautiful woman hanging on a wall of the hotel’s museum. Captivated, he starts a thorough research on her and discovers later on that she is the old lady who handed him the pocket watch. He also learns that she is Elise McKenna, once a famous stage actress.

Richard is enchanted by the woman in the portrait.

His search further leads him to seek the advice of his college professor (played by George Voskovec) who wrote a book on time travel. Following his instructions and succeeding in going back to 1912, Richard finally meets the young Elise (played by Seymour), and they instantly fall in love. Their love affair ceases, however, when Richard – at the sight of a penny with the date “1979”! – is suddenly pulled back to that year.

Please, don't leave. You have no idea how far I've come to be with you.

— Richard Collier
Richard (Christopher Reeve) and Elise (Jane Seymour) warm up to each other.
Richard (Christopher Reeve) and Elise (Jane Seymour) warm up to each other. | Source

Memorable scenes

One scene in this movie that freaks me out is where Richard, one night, goes to the hotel’s attic and finds a dusty 1912 guest book where written on one of the pages is his signature! This confirms that he was indeed present in that year.

Another good scene is where Richard painstakingly hypnotizes himself by listening to tape-recorded suggestions that would enable him to return to 1912. For this, I credit Matheson for cleverly creating this episode, as well as the scene where Richard’s professor advises him that for him to travel through time, he must remove from his sight everything of the present!


Richard hypnotizes himself.

But like any woman, I am thrilled at the scene where Richard and Elise meet for the first time by the lake. Being a foolish romantic, I find this moment happening in the perfect time and place!

I also appreciate the natural beauty in the scenes where the lovers walk leisurely around the garden and enjoy a boat ride. To me, these are the most pleasant settings for courtship.

Richard and Elise (Jane Seymour) meet for the first time. "Is it you?"

The man of my dreams has almost faded now. The one I have created in my mind. The sort of man each woman dreams of, in the deepest and most secret reaches of her heart. I can almost see him now before me. What would I say to him if he were really here?

I cannot find the words. Except for these: I love you". Such would I say to him if he were really here.

— Elise McKenna

But perhaps the most dramatic scene for me is where Richard - due to his carelessness - is dragged back to 1979, and in his desperate attempt to re-hypnotize himself, he fails and cries bitterly. It is at this part that I feel deep sorrow until the end of the story.

Music

I guess what makes this movie popular is not the story, but the score composed by John Barry. Its melody definitely sets the romantic mood. I enjoy listening to this especially when it is played at wedding receptions in Manila.

For viewers fond of romances, I highly recommend Somewhere in Time. It is, indeed, a beautiful love story blended with a good sense of mystery.

If you had a way, would you go back in time to reunite with the one you truly loved?

See results

This is a great romantic film starring Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour :

Somewhere in Time (Collector's Edition)
Somewhere in Time (Collector's Edition)

The story of a love that breaks the barriers of time!

 

Tell us what you thought of "Somewhere in Time" :

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      acmmelchor 3 years ago

      "Somewhere in Time" is a classic love story!

    • LornsA178 profile image

      LornsA178 3 years ago

      Nice movie review, now it made me interested to watch the movie. I heard about it but don't have a chance to see. Thanks!

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 3 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      I love the story. You got me interested to watch it.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @aesta1: It's really one of my favorite love stories.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @takkhisa: Yes, do watch it! It's a great film.

    • PaigSr profile image

      PaigSr 3 years ago from State of Confussion

      I have heard of this movie but never seen it. Thanks for a bit more. I may have to add this onto my to do list.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @PaigSr: You won't regret it!

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 3 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      I loved it! It was so touching and imaginative. Great review of it too. Have to watch it again now!

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @Merrci: Glad you liked the movie!

    • notsuperstitious1 profile image

      Edith Rose 3 years ago from Canada

      Saw this movie and loved it.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @notsuperstitious1: Glad you did.

    • Heidi Vincent profile image

      Heidi Vincent 3 years ago from GRENADA

      Captivating clips and lens review, Charito1962. I have already put this movie down on my 'must see' movie list. Thanks for sharing. I have always loved the Dr. Quinn Medicine woman series. Happy New Year!

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @Heidi Vincent: Believe me, you won't regret re-watching "Somewhere in Time".

    • profile image

      marsha32 3 years ago

      I may have seen this, I'm not sure, but either way it's on my to watch list now!

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @marsha32: Good. I hope you enjoy it.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @acmmelchor: Hi! Glad you like the movie as I do!

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @LornsA178: Hello, Lorna! Yes, it's really a movie worth watching. Regards.

    • Flora Crew profile image

      Flora Crew 3 years ago from Evanston, Illinois

      Wow, that sounds really good, I definitely want to see it. Good lens too!

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @Flora Crew: Thank you!

    • profile image

      DebMartin 3 years ago

      I've never seen this even though it was filmed in my home state of Michigan. I love finding new movies and old classics to get me through the long winter months. Thanks for your review.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @DebMartin: You're welcome. Hoping you enjoy watching it.

    • ValerieJoy profile image

      Valerie Smith 3 years ago from New Zealand

      After reading your review of Somewhere in Time this is a film that I must see. I felt a mystical air when reading about Richard receiving the gold pocket watch from the old lady, then later discovering her portrait. So well written Charito1962. Congratulations.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @ValerieJoy: Thank you very much! Hope you enjoy watching it.

    • CampingmanNW profile image

      CampingmanNW 3 years ago

      Excellent review. Thanks for sharing

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @CampingmanNW: You're welcome! Nice meeting you.

    • MrChipss profile image

      MrChipss 3 years ago

      Hello Charito, I absolutely love this movie. I have been trying to convince my wife to watch. Hopefully I will be successful soon. Your review is great and right on!

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @MrChipss: Thanks! Hope your wife finally watches it.

    • profile image

      susan369 3 years ago

      I remember seeing this movie years ago - would love to see it again! I'm fascinated with the concept of time travel. Reeves was so incredibly attractive, wasn't he? (Thanks for the like by the way!)

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @susan369: Yes, he was!

    • JessicaLVine LM profile image

      JessicaLVine LM 3 years ago

      Very cool. I hadn't heard of this movie. I'll have to check it out. :)

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @JessicaLVine LM: I'm sure you'll love it!

    • Rangoon House profile image

      AJ 3 years ago from Australia

      I don't remember seeing this movie, but you now have me intrigued - will look out for it at the DVD store.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @Rangoon House: Yes, please, do that!

    • Sylvestermouse profile image

      Cynthia Sylvestermouse 3 years ago from United States

      This is one of my all time favorite romantic movies. Not only is the story compelling and excellent, but Christoper Reeve and Jane Seymour are simply beautiful to watch.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @Sylvestermouse: I perfectly agree!

    • andreea22 profile image

      andreea22 3 years ago

      It's true that I had second thoughts after reading the bad criticism, but I don't regret I saw it! It really is one of the most beautiful and touching movies I've always seen! I'm glad I got to read your review which is great, by the way. :)

    • ElizabethSheppard profile image

      Elizabeth Sheppard 3 years ago from Bowling Green, Kentucky

      I loved this movie too! It's a wonderful movie and so emotional too. I know I will be watching it again and again.

    • profile image

      tonyleather 3 years ago

      Lovely movie! Nice review!

    • kenweiss66 profile image

      kenweiss66 3 years ago

      I always remember the scene where they were falling in love, then he puts his hand in his pocket and pulls out a penny with recent date, and his dream ends in such tragedy....very much a premonition of his own tragedy in life.

    • Arachnea profile image

      Tanya Jones 3 years ago from Texas USA

      I remember now, reading your review, that I watched this before. I loved Dr. Quinn medicine woman. I recall enjoying the movie very much. I need to watch it again.

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 3 years ago

      Oh I love this movie.

    • KimGiancaterino profile image

      KimGiancaterino 3 years ago

      I watched this movie recently and it was as good as I remembered.

    • Felicitas profile image

      Felicitas 3 years ago

      I saw this movie years ago. Reading your review makes me want to see it again.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @Felicitas: You won't regret re-watching it!

    • paperfacets profile image

      Sherry Venegas 3 years ago from La Verne, CA

      I believe the song in the portrait scene is a Rachmaninoff Concerto, maybe No. 2. I like your review, good job.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @paperfacets: Thank you!

    • tazzytamar profile image

      Anna 3 years ago from chichester

      I've never seen this film, but your review has convinced me to try it out! Thanks

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 3 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @tazzytamar: You'll like it, believe me!

    • Bob Schroeder profile image

      Bob Schroeder 3 years ago

      This is one of my wife's favorite movies. As a guy, I too found it extremely good and I really enjoy the music.

    • LouCannon profile image

      Amanda Louise Cannon 2 years ago from Wynndel BC Canada

      I had heard about this show, but never watched it... After reading your lens I may find myself sitting down to it very soon!

    • Stephanie36 profile image

      Stephanie 2 years ago from Canada

      This is such a good movie! I haven't seen it in way too long, but it's really a wonderful romance film.

    • jlshernandez profile image

      jlshernandez 2 years ago

      The soundtrack of this movie is my mother's favorite tune of all time. She just turned 90 and still watches the movie with her gal friends.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 2 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      @jlshernandez: Imagine that!

    • NellyWerff profile image

      Nelly van der Werff 2 years ago from The Netherlands

      great movie!

    • ismeedee profile image

      ismeedee 2 years ago

      I really enjoyed this movie! Great review, really captures the essence of the movie!

    • profile image

      GabrielaFargasch 2 years ago

      One of my favorite movies of all times! I also love to play the theme song on the piano! :)

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 20 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I love this movie! I saw it once on television and I've never forgotten about it. I find the theme of time travel and the love story very appealing. Thank you for sharing this review.

    • Charito1962 profile image
      Author

      Charito Maranan-Montecillo 20 months ago from Manila, Philippines

      Glad you like the movie, Ms. Linda! It's one of my favorite love stories because of 2 elements - the time travel and the music. Good to know we have the same interest in films.

    Click to Rate This Article