ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Vampire Diaries Season 4 Review

Updated on March 6, 2014

Like a book that you just can't put down, this television series will also suck you right in! I started watching the first season of The Vampire Diaries and I couldn't stop watching it until I was completely through the season. When I discovered this show, it was an all day adventure. I was so excited to have came across such a magical and captivating series! I have been a big fan since, and I'm always anxiously awaiting the next episodes.

It wasn't long ago that I finished The Vampire Diaries season 4, which is the best season thus far in my opinion (although season 5 is coming along quite well).

What is this series about?

For those of you who don't know, The Vampire Diaries is a supernatural television series based on the books by L.J. Smith. I haven't read the books, but I am a big fan of the show! It follows the story of a sweet young girl named Elena. She starts off more sweet and innocent, but as the she learns and grows she changes quite a lot.

Elena is from a town called Mystic Falls, where she falls in love with a vampire named Stefen Salvatore, (I know, I know...the idea may not surprise you with the recent Twilight age, but this show stands on its own feet very well with a unique plot and storyline). Elena has so many hardships that she has to overcome, and you see her grow and develop as the story unfolds.

Because of her new found love with a vampire, she is introduced into a supernatural world she had never previously known. As the seasons go on there are so many twists and turns, several deaths, new discoveries, and hardships overcome. Nothing quite beats the steamy love triangle that is probably one of the underlying reasons this show is so popular!

So if you haven't watched this series before, you should definitely start! If you haven't seen the first 3 seasons, be alert that there may be some spoilers in my Season 4 review.

Words I would use to describe some of the main characters:

  • Elena Gilbert- pretty, sweet, funny, naive, indecisive, passionate, strong, and caring
  • Jeremy Gilbert- Elena's brother, shy, rebellious, stubborn, caring, loving, and strong.
  • Stefen Salvatore- handsome, charismatic, gentleman, sweet, passionate, strong, different, and afraid.
  • Damon Salvatore- really handsome, darker, mysterious, quirky, unsure of himself, regretful, hopeful. (He changes so much throughout the series and grows as a person...later we'd add caring and compassionate but in the beginning it wasn't that way)
  • Bonnie- Elena's best friend-smart, intelligent, intellectual, caring, compassionate, sweet, loving, and strong
  • Caroline- Elena's other best friend- ditsy, sweet, blonde, caring, loud, hyper, loyal, and strong
  • Matt- another mutual friend- very shy, sincere, kind, honest, loyal person.

My review of The Vampire Diaries Season 4

Season 4 is definitely all about transition. The show has really taken a wild turn, and there are so many things in progress now! Here are ten things that are going on in season 4:

  1. Elena is a vampire- Damon likes this, Stefen is not so happy about it
  2. There is a cure for vampires, just one- and everyone wants their hands on it
  3. Both Damon and Stefen search for this cure, In hopes of giving it to Elena- who never wanted to be a vampire (because they both have her best interest at heart) ...
  4. Elena and her friends are close to graduating high school
  5. Lots of deaths happen, including 2 very important people
  6. A new person in the plot arrives- and he is a big threat to the vampires and hybrids
  7. Elena switches her humanity switch off later in the season- which makes things very interesting
  8. Elena is now in love with Damon, which makes us "Delana Fans" very happy!
  9. There is a mysterious sire bond between Elena and Damon, thus making us wonder if Elena's decision of being with Damon is genuine- or all just a part of the bond.
  10. The cure is found, and someone takes it...but I'm not telling you who :)

The Season 4 Finale is amazing

Don't you hate when a wonderful movie is ruined by a terrible ending? Well Season 4 had an AMAZING ending. Everyone I know who follows the show is in agreement that the season finale was by far the best yet! It ties everything that has happened together and leaves you on the edge of your seat awaiting the next season (which is currently being aired, and I'm loving it!). I was stunned when I watched the finale, I just couldn't believe how great it was- so many things came together and it worked out wonderfully!

I plan on buying all 5 seasons on DVD in the future, so I can go back and watch them again and again. This is one of my favorite television shows so far, and I can't wait until the next episode of season 5!

The Vampire Diaries: Season 1
The Vampire Diaries: Season 1

The first season was definitely one of my favorites, where you really got to meet the characters and see the bond form between Stefan and Elena. I could watch this over and over and never get tired of it!

 
The Vampire Diaries: Season 2
The Vampire Diaries: Season 2

Another great season, with lots of twists and turns. After watching season 1 I was hooked, but I became deeper in love with this series after watching season 2!

 
The Vampire Diaries: Season 3
The Vampire Diaries: Season 3

By season 3 you can really see how the characters have grown and changed so much. Its a great season as well, full of many twists and turns that keep the story alive and interesting. I really loved this season because of that!

 

The Vampire Diaries- Season 4 Trailer, and Top 20 Songs of The Vampire Diaries

Also for you Buffy fans check out http://www.squidoo.com/buffy-the-vampire-slayer-fan

Here are some great songs from the series, and some nice pictures as well. I love "Holding on and Letting Go". Great songs!

This is a great trailer, but unfortunately there is just so much to this season that it doesn't show. Still a great glimpse of Season 4!

Some funny bloopers from season 4, enjoy!

Are you a Stefen-Elena fan, or a Damon-Elena fan?

See results

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Zeross4 profile imageAUTHOR

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      @SheGetsCreative: Thank you!

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 

      4 years ago from Seattle, WA

    • Zeross4 profile imageAUTHOR

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      @Gypzeerose: Thanks so much, I really appreciate it. I hope you'll watch the series, I think Netflix has the first 3? It's really good!

    • Gypzeerose profile image

      Rose Jones 

      4 years ago

      I have got to check this one out. I have just got into vampires! Pinned this lens to my vampire board and linked as related to my lens on http://www.squidoo.com/buffy-the-vampire-slayer-fa...

    • Zeross4 profile imageAUTHOR

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      @Coreena Jolene: Awesome, I'm hoping to get the DVD's soon! It is a very good show :)

    • Coreena Jolene profile image

      Coreena Jolene 

      4 years ago

      I absolutely love Vampire Diaries. I haven't missed a single season yet, and if I happen to miss an episode, I go online to find it right away. I have all of the seasons on DVD to date :)

    • Zeross4 profile imageAUTHOR

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      @Merrci: Thank you, I was wondering how I did on my first review :) Thanks so much!

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      I haven't seen the show, but your lens is very well done! Enjoyed reading about it. Great job!

    • Zeross4 profile imageAUTHOR

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      @andreea22: Really? I actually am not surprised by that though, I'm not a huge Elena fan. Mostly just Damon lol. Great show though :) Thanks for your comment!

    • andreea22 profile image

      andreea22 

      4 years ago

      I watched the first episode two years ago and it caught me. Despite my age, I follow TVD and I like sharing my thoughts with the teenagers in my town. It's funny to see their reaction when I tell them I hate Elena. :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)