ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Thor The Dark World Movie Review

Updated on November 6, 2014

Thor's Lightning Strikes Twice

I wrote recently about my love of Thor.

In fact, I wrote that review in the very week that my pre-order of its sequel was winging its way to me in the post.

Well, I've seen it now (several times) and I'm happy to report that The Dark World is at least as good as the first outing, if not better.

So yes, lightning really can strike twice, but what makes it so good?

Loki (Tom Hiddleston), my favourite evil megolomaniac
Loki (Tom Hiddleston), my favourite evil megolomaniac | Source

Hammer Time

Once again, a new baddie is introduced, in a similar manner to the Ice Giants intro from Thor and once again, Thor must wield his mighty hammer to thwart the new threat to order.

Without going into detail, Christopher Eccleston is inspired as the embodiment of that threat, and in his make up (you'll see) I hardly recognised him.

And yes, once again, Loki is on the scene to "help out" ...and take advantage of almost every situation.

I wouldn't have it any other way.

However, that is where the similarities to Thor (and Avengers Assemble) end, and in my book, that's a very good thing.

Jane Foster (Natalie Portman) is re-introduced to us, at last.

Having been handily moved out of the way "for her protection" in the Avengers, she manages to get herself into trouble again.

Not only that, but the Earth and the rest of the Nine Realms are in trouble too, threatened by a terrible weapon that could spell doom for all.

Jane is suitably awestruck when she gets to hang around with the King and Queen of Asgard and there are some great little cameos with an old date. ;)

Her friends, Darcy and Dr Selvig make a welcome return, with much hilarity ensuing - but to tell you too much would be to spoil it ...so I'll shut up!

We get to see a lot more of Asgard this time round and each of the Nine Realms have their place, if only for a short while.

I would have liked to see more of those locations, particularly as it relates to Thor's friends, but perhaps we'll get that next time.

Thor (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy)
Thor (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy)

The original introduction to Thor and still one I watch regularly.

I think it really stands out from the rest of the series (although I still like them too), and my family agree with me.

 

Relationships All Hammered Out

We also see more of Thor's family and the strain placed upon them by an ancient enemy takes its toll, in more ways than one.

Tom Hiddlestone (Loki) and Chris Hemsworth (Thor), apparently great friends in real life, are highly believable as brothers.

Their verbal and physical jousting provides plenty of humour - and intrigue too.

One particularly memorable sequence has them bickering during a chase scene reminiscent of Star Wars (you'll know it when you see it), so you'll spend as much time laughing and smiling, as you will wondering what's next.

I really like Heimdall in this outing.

He seems more 'human' somehow (pretty good going for someone who is immortal) and still just as loyal as ever, both to his friend Thor and to Odin, his king.

I don't know quite what they have done with him though, in that he doesn't seem nearly so "solid" this time round.

- In Thor, Heimdall always seemed to give the impression of being like an unassailable rock, physically and mentally.

He still is, sort of ...but just somehow ...oh, I can't quite put my finger on it...

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Blu-ray 3D + UV)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Blu-ray 3D + UV)

If you prefer more fantasy than science (admittedly, Thor is on a somewhat blurred boundary between them), then you may like the Hobbit instead.

We saw this on the big screen and my kids can't wait to see it again.

 

Conclusions Of The Gods

Is The Dark World predictable then?

The answer is "yes", in some places, but "no" in others, and there's one twist (sort of two) which will really get you going!

There's a great historical setting for the final showdown, which I appreciated 'cause I'm a Brit, and this movie proves once more how much fun it is destroying ancient monuments.

A particularly nice touch relates to the Tube (our name for the London underground train network, if you're not familiar with it) and may only make you laugh if you're a local.

I hope you enjoy Thor The Dark World as much as I did.

I can thoroughly recommend it.

This One's 5 Stars

5 stars for Thor The Dark World

Warning!

The Captain America: Winter Soldier trailer on this Blu-ray disk looks really good too, but I had to stop watching it as it veered dangerously close to spoiler territory.

Gravity [Blu-ray]
Gravity [Blu-ray]

If space is still your thing, then Gravity has won multiple awards and takes you close to the edge of, well, space.

 

Thor The Dark World Trailer

Here's the official trailer for T:TDW - he, he.

© 2014 Tim Bader

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @captainj88: Glad you're looking forward to it - I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @boneworld: Thank you so much for your kind words!

      Glad you enjoyed my review.

      Thanks for reading. :)

    • captainj88 profile image

      Leah J. Hileman 

      4 years ago from East Berlin, PA, USA

      Haven't seen this yet. I loved the first one. I love Tom Hiddleston and Natalie Portman in the original. Can't wait!

    • boneworld profile image

      Jackson Thom 

      4 years ago from West of Left South Lucky

      Dude, your writing is so sharp. It's almost poetic, and just the right amount of hammer puns! Great review!

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @fishbones: Wow, I haven't seen a movie that full in ages!

      Glad you enjoyed it.

      Thanks for reading.

    • fishbones profile image

      fishbones 

      4 years ago

      I actually saw the film in the theaters where it was so full that people stood on the side lines. I fully enjoyed every minute of it but I'm also really into these superhero movies. Definitely a great movie and review!

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Zeross4: Well, thank you for reading my review.

      Hope you enjoy the movie.

    • Zeross4 profile image

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      I have been wanting to see it, still can't believe I haven't. Definitely looking forward to it though! Excellent review!

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @esmonaco: You're welcome.

      I love it when people read my reviews! ;)

      Thanks for reading.

    • esmonaco profile image

      Eugene Samuel Monaco 

      4 years ago from Lakewood New York

      Loved your review :) Thanks

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @puppy-love: Thanks!

      Hope you enjoy it.

    • puppy-love profile image

      puppy-love 

      4 years ago

      Can't wait for this movie! Fantastic review, thanks for sharing!

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Ibidii: Thank you for the encouragement!

      Enjoy.

    • georgepmoola2 profile image

      georgepmoola2 

      4 years ago

      Loved all the Marvel and D.C. spin-off films, and I'm certainly looking forward to this latest addition. Good review.

    • profile image

      Ibidii 

      4 years ago

      I look forward to seeing this movie! Great review!

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @georgepmoola2: Thanks!

      I'm looking forward to Captain America now...

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Merrci: Thanks :)

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Great review!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)