ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

"Trading Places" with Aykroyd and Murphy

Updated on August 30, 2016
Charito1962 profile image

Ms. Charito is a Filipino based in Manila. She has worked as an executive assistant and a journalist. She is a widow with a grown-up son.

What would you do if someone made you lose your job and turned others against you? And it all cost him a dollar!

Well, that's how it goes in Paramount Pictures' hilarious comedy Trading Places.

I was in college in 1983 when this film was released. A year later, I watched this with my late father and sisters. It was one of those weekend afternoons when we would gather in the family living room and watch a nice Betamax tape (there were no DVDs then).

I enjoyed Trading Places so much that I watched it every night for like two weeks! It was simply entertaining!

The story revolves around two men from opposite worlds - the successful businessman Louis Winthorpe III (played by Dan Aykroyd) and the poor street hustler Billy Ray Valentine (played by Eddie Murphy). After an unpleasant encounter in which Winthorpe has Valentine arrested for suspected robbery attempt, their lives - unknown to them - are suddenly and manipulatively switched by Winthorpe's unscrupulous and stingy employers Randolph (played by Ralph Bellamy) and Mortimer (played by Don Ameche) Duke. The brothers use Winthorpe and Valentine as guinea pigs for their experiment, and whoever comes out with better results - wins a dollar!

People in the corporate world - particularly those in the commodities trade - will definitely enjoy this movie (set in Philadelphia and New York). They can truly relate to it.

"Trading Places" trailer

Louis Winthorpe III (Dan Aykroyd) and Billy Ray Valentine (Eddie Murphy)
Louis Winthorpe III (Dan Aykroyd) and Billy Ray Valentine (Eddie Murphy) | Source

Every scene just seems so delightful and funny!

I like the scenes where the villainous Clarence Beeks (played by Paul Gleason) cunningly exposes Winthorpe’s theft, and the poor executive is immediately sent to jail where he has to deal with the rough handling of the cops and inmates.

I also feel sorry for Winthorpe in the Christmas party scene where, donned in a Santa Clause costume, he takes food from the buffet table and simply stuffs them in his pockets - without even wrapping them!

But the part that I love rewinding is the train scene where Winthorpe, Valentine, Coleman (played by Denholm Elliott) and Ophelia (played by Jamie Lee Curtis) thwart the plan of Beeks. I'm just so amused by the way Valentine - disguised as an exchange student clad in an African costume - declares an emphatic "Merry New Year!", much to the annoyance of Beeks. And I burst out laughing all the more when the likewise disguised-Winthorpe and Valentine perform some weird African school cheer! ("Boo-boo yah, boo-boo yah, boo-boo yah, hah! Boo-boo yah, boo-boo yah, boo-boo yah, hah!")


"Merry New Year!" scene with Valentine (Eddie Murphy), Coleman (Denholm Elliott) and Beeks (Paul Gleason)

Merry New Year! Ha, ha, ha!

— Billy Ray Valentine

Valentine and Winthorpe (Dan Aykroyd) doing their hilarious "Boo-boo ya" cheer

To this day, Murphy's classic "Merry New Year!" greeting has become a joke among my family members and friends every New Year.

And I like imagining myself as one of the characters in the stock market scene. As soon as Winthorpe hands Valentine the dollar, I see myself looking the Dukes in the eye, telling them, "Serves you right!"

Exciting stock market scene where Winthorpe and Valentine strike it rich while the Dukes go bankrupt

The activity at the New York Stock Exchange trading floor
The activity at the New York Stock Exchange trading floor | Source

Of course, spicing up the comedy are the ruthlessness of the Dukes, the kindness of Ophelia, and the politeness of Coleman.

Unlike in other movies where the characters become unrealistically vindictive, I like Trading Places because it presents revenge in a comic way. There’s also a bit of The Prince and the Pauper twist.

Of course, I know that getting even is wrong, but the film tackles this on the lighter side, making it appealing to me. And with the perfect partnership of Murphy and Aykroyd, this movie will make you die laughing from start to finish!

This is truly a good movie to unwind with at the end of a stressful day.

Don’t let anyone ruin your life for a dollar!

Source

If someone tried to ruin your life for a dollar, what would you do?

See results

This is truly one Dan Aykroyd and Eddie Murphy film not to be missed!

Trading Places
Trading Places

An entertaining film about revenge and the corporate life!

 

Anything you want to say?

Submit a Comment

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 2 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    Thanks! Nice to hear from you, janshares!

  • janshares profile image

    Janis Leslie Evans 2 years ago from Washington, DC

    We have the same taste in comedies, Charito. This is on my list of favorites as well, have seen it many times. It's one of those you see over and over and still laugh as hard as you did the first time you saw it. More importantly, what I love about this film is the message about judging someone by the way they look or their station in life. I love the vindication in the end. Voted up and funny. I like the way you capture the funny scenes through your writing.

  • Sylvestermouse profile image

    Cynthia Sylvestermouse 3 years ago from United States

    This really is a fun movie and it has been a long time since we watched it. I could certainly use a few laughs right now. Must be time to view it again. Thanks for the reminder.

  • robertzimmerman2 profile image

    Robert Zimmerman 3 years ago from SE Florida, USA

    I did enjoy that film but had forgotten about it, thanks!

  • KimGiancaterino profile image

    KimGiancaterino 3 years ago

    This is one of my all-time favorite movies. Jamie Lee Curtis was absolutely charming as the "working girl."

  • queenofduvetcover profile image

    queenofduvetcover 4 years ago

    I remember this movie. Enjoyable to watch. =)

  • MissNikkiSays profile image

    MissNikkiSays 4 years ago

    I don't think I have seen this movie - I will have to find it and watch it soon!

  • takkhisa profile image

    Takkhis 4 years ago

    Great review on this comedy movie! I like the story.

  • BodyHairRemoval profile image

    BodyHairRemoval 4 years ago

    One of the funniest movies ever!

  • mihgasper profile image

    Miha Gasper 4 years ago from Ljubljana, Slovenia, EU

    Fun movie. I had great fun watching it as well!

  • OhMe profile image

    Nancy Tate Hellams 4 years ago from Pendleton, SC

    I love this movie, too. Great review!

  • RhondaAlbom profile image

    Rhonda Albom 4 years ago from New Zealand

    This is one of my favorite movies as well, although I don't think I could watch it every night for two weeks :)

  • asereht1970 profile image

    asereht1970 4 years ago

    Sounds like a good movie. Haven't seen it though. Wish I could still find it in the internet.

  • TolovajWordsmith profile image

    Tolovaj Publishing House 4 years ago from Ljubljana

    I have seen this one. It's really funny movie, although if I remember correctly there were other expenses and the net price was way above one dollar ... Thumbs up!

  • profile image

    2envelopparadox 4 years ago

    nice lens

  • Dave Lynch profile image

    David Edward Lynch 4 years ago from Port Elizabeth, South Africa

    This looks like a really funny movie.

  • Maggie42 profile image

    Maggie42 4 years ago

    You're right this was a good fun movie but it seems a long time ago.

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @Rhonda Lytle: Thanks!

  • Rhonda Lytle profile image

    Rhonda Lytle 4 years ago from Deep in the heart of Dixie

    I got a huge smile remembering this movie. I agree. It was hilarious. Awesome review!

  • rainykua profile image

    rainykua 4 years ago

    I've never heard this movie. Sounds like a funny movie. :)

  • shay-marie profile image

    Shay Marie 4 years ago from Southern California

    Thank you for your review. I've pinned it to my 80s board!

  • Charito1962 profile image
    Author

    Charito Maranan-Montecillo 4 years ago from Manila, Philippines

    @IanTease: Yes, the Dukes are in "Coming to America", another one of my favorite Eddie Murphy comedies.

  • IanTease profile image

    IanTease 4 years ago

    This is a wonderful review of a wonderful film. Its the one film I watch nearly every Christmas time. Was delighted recently to discover that the Duke brothers make a cameo in Coming To America.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)