ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

London Fun Dino Frights- Natural History Museum Kensington Review

Updated on December 19, 2010

One of the most fun days out we had in London - our sons are sadly getting a bit too old for the frights though!

London Fun Or Fright? The T-Rex Dinosaur Model! Fun Things To Do In London
London Fun Or Fright? The T-Rex Dinosaur Model! Fun Things To Do In London

London Fun Dino Frights - Our Natural History Museum Review

Don’t be put off visiting London’s Natural History Museum by the thought of long queues waiting to see the dinosaur gallery. Here are some tips from our recent London fun visit to help you make the most of all the attractions on offer – without missing those all-important dinos!

Our London fun Natural History Museum Review starts with a wet weather forecast .... our hearts soon filled with dismay at the sight of hundreds of people, many with buggies and toddlers in tow, all striding determinedly along the Victorian tiled tunnel that led from the tube to the Natural History Museum. Many were huddled under umbrellas. Yes, it was a wet Saturday and they had all had the same idea as us – a top indoor London attraction. We also knew that top on every kids list was the dinosaur room!

Sure enough, as we passed it, the queue marker boards were advising waiting times of 1 hour, then 2 hours. As luck would have it though, we made the right decision. We decided we had nothing to lose by doing the dinosaurs last. At worst, surely the line couldn’t get any longer – we guessed the likelihood was that those not enjoying the benefit of local London accommodation would probably have to leave earlier to get out of the city.

We took our time enjoying the rest of the galleries. The huge shark and the human body galleries proved particularly popular with the kids. An extra tip for getting the most out of a visit to the Natural History Museum is to take your own picnic. There is a dedicated picnic room on the basement floor equipped with tables and chairs, and clean modern toilets are also nearby. This is often quicker than waiting in line at the cafeteria or leaving the museum – and considerably cheaper!

We returned to the Dinosaur exhibit at about four o’clock and were pleasantly surprised to find the queue had indeed shrunk! This time the waiting advice board reported a much more respectable half an hour - just time to enjoy a fruit juice carton and read the information boards about the magnificent dinosaur skeleton specimens outside while we queued. A good tip would be to invest in one of those folding walking stick seats!

Once inside the gallery, the atmosphere was dim and calm. The menacing giant dinosaur model was well-placed as the queue trails right around it, allowing an almost 3D experience of the beady little red eye peering down! A whipping T-Rex tail and low thundery growling added a few frights for the younger visitors.

There is now a raised walkway above the exhibits which we found to be very helpful as it was then possible to gain a more 3D impression of the dinosaur skeletons. However, we did notice that families with buggies were struggling a bit as the queue keeps moving and more people press forward from behind. The information boards alongside were minimal but informative however, and didn’t take long to read.

Once at ground level, there seemed to be more space and the crowd thinned a little. We had plenty of time to browse all the exhibits, which were presented linear-style. The information was well-pitched, with something to interest everyone from the highly-educated to the pre-schooler.

Needless to say, the next stop as far as the kids were concerned was the shop! But that’s another story!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      jojo 

      8 years ago

      gud hub ....:)

    • profile image

      poo 

      9 years ago

      good fun great!

    • NDBEES profile image

      NDBEES 

      9 years ago from DEVON

      I used to discos there, in front of the diplodocus. We would set up on the large steps along with a band. We were the half time entertainment. Great place to go day or night.

    • sixtyorso profile image

      Clive Fagan 

      9 years ago from South Africa

      A very informative take on the Museum. it seems to have changed a bit since my last visit to London many years ago.

    • Inspired Writing1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Rose English 

      9 years ago from England

      Good, I'll visit hub if you let me know when it's up - PS I don't suppose you know what to do at Google Adsnense once we have activated our Hub Pages account there? All my other Adsense earnings are fine, but HP never shows, yet I feel I have great views/products on hub? I've posted everywhere about this, but can't get an answer!

      Thanks for any assistance here!

    • LondonGirl profile image

      LondonGirl 

      9 years ago from London

      Good idea, I'll get round to it (Isaac adores it).

    • Inspired Writing1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Rose English 

      9 years ago from England

      Why don't you do an HP review of LTM? We thought of going but didn't know if it was any good?

    • LondonGirl profile image

      LondonGirl 

      9 years ago from London

      My son is 3, and wants to go there every weekend. That, or the London Transport Museum!

    • Inspired Writing1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Rose English 

      9 years ago from England

      Thanks for visiting! Yes, Science Museum is good - kids loved top floor!

      http://www.inspiredwritingresearch.com/paidtoblog

    • LondonGirl profile image

      LondonGirl 

      9 years ago from London

      I love the Nat History museum - and the Science Museum nearby is great for children, they have all sorts of practical activities for children of different ages.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)