ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Disposable Diaper Review

Updated on August 24, 2013

A Review of Various Brands of Disposable Diapers: Honest Advice from a Stay at Home Mom of Two in Diapers

Here you will find diaper reviews of disposable diapers I've tried on my little ones. All of the information on this lens is based off of my personal diapering experience as a loving mommy. The diaper prices I've listed are based off of the largest package available at WalMart as of May 18, 2010. I've also listed the price per diaper. Sometimes you may think a pricier diaper is worth it until you realize you are spending almost a quarter per diaper. That's $1.00 for just four diapers!

If you're looking for the best value in diapers, the answer is here. Read on for my complete disposable diaper review.

Image courtesy of [image creator name] / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

All Diapers are Not Created Equal

As a stay at home mom of three children (at one point all 3 were in diapers at the same time) I've tried just about every brand available. Some are great, some are adequate, and some just aren't worth the money at all.

Here I give you my honest review of every disposable diaper I have used on my babies.

Pampers Baby Dry Diaper Review

Package of 174 size 3 for $38.00 ($0.2184 per diaper)

Pampers are the priciest brand of diapers that you will find in the supermarket. There was a time that Pampers were worth the expense. Generic diapers used to look and feel awful and also leak. Pampers used to be soft and performed great. But now many generic diapers are great and Pampers has recently changed their design, and in my opinion Pampers aren't worth what they're charging.

Baby Dry is Pampers last expensive diaper and are available in newborn through size 6. Pampers Baby Dry disposable diapers aren't as soft as they used to be. They are super thin, flimsy, and stiff now. They have an absorbent strip in the dead center, but when a mess misses that center it tends to leak right through. They do still have super stretchy tabs and fit great, but so do many of the generic diapers that are available today.

Pampers Baby Dry disposable diapers have cute Sesame Street Baby motif in gender neutral yellows and teals. In addition to the Sesame Street motif at the top band, they do also have a light design all over. While this additional decoration is cute, it does show through some clothing. Pampers diapers are lightly scented with a fragrance similar to baby powder. I find the scent very pleasant, but Pampers diapers are not a good choice for babies who are sensitive to perfumes. My first baby was allergic to Pampers.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Pampers Baby Dry:

Look: 4

Feel: 1

Performance: 1

Overall Rating: 2

Pampers Swaddlers Diaper Review

Swaddlers 60 size 2 for $16.99 ($0.2832 per diaper)

Pampers Swaddlers are Pampers' premium diaper for smaller babies. Pampers Swaddlers come in preemie, size 1, and size 2.

Pampers Swaddlers are super expensive. At $0.28 per unit, they cost more than a quarter a diaper! There was a time that I would have said if money were no object, that Pampers Swaddlers were worth the expense. They were soft and absorbent. Also, the unique netted liner kept poop off of your newborn's sensitive skin. That was then. Now Pampers has changed their premium diapers by putting in what they are calling Dry Max technology. I don't like the new Pampers with Dry Max at all and if you read the reviews on Pampers' own website, you will see most moms agree with me. The Dry Max is much thinner than any other diaper, but it's also stiffer and feels flimsy and cheap. It also is a little crunchy and breaks apart when it gets wet. I prefer the feel and performance of just about every generic diaper to the new Pampers with Dry Max.

If you are looking for a premium diaper to put your newborn in, then look into Huggies Little Snugglers.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Pampers Swaddlers:

Look: 4

Feel: 1

Performance: 1

Overall Rating: 2

Pampers Cruisers Review

Package of 140 size 3 for $36.50 ($0.2607 per diaper)

I had to completely redo my review of Pampers Cruisers because Proctor and Gamble recently completely changed their diapers. When my first two children were younger, Pampers Cruisers were the absolute hands down best diaper on the market. They were pricey at $0.24 per diaper, but they were a high quality diaper. They were plush, soft, stretchy, and comfortable; they never leaked or broke apart. They were great. Then P&G decided to replace the old Cruisers with a new and improved Pampers Cruisers with Dry Max, and not only have they gone up to just over $0.26 a diaper but they are awful. If you visit Pampers website and read customer reviews of the new Dry Max Pampers you will see consumers begging P&G to bring back the old Cruisers.

The new Pampers Cruisers with Dry Max are thin, flimsy, and stiff. You have to change them really fast or they leak. It's not just that the new Pampers Cruisers aren't as nice as the old ones, but that they are now so cheaply made and awful that generic diapers are better than the new Pampers with Dry Max. The Dry Max is not comfortable, doesn't hold liquid long, and breaks apart. Pampers Cruisers with Dry Max are not worth your money.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Pampers Cruisers:

Look: 1

Feel: 1

Performance: 1

Overall Rating: 1

Huggies Snug & Dry Diaper Review

Package of 156 size 3 for $35.00 ($0.2244 per diaper)

Huggies Snug and Dry disposable diapers are kind of a hit or miss diaper. Parents either love Huggies or they hate them. Huggies seem to fit each baby differently. They leak on some babies (even the Huggies Supremes) and hold tight on others. Huggies leaked horribly on my first two babies. Since one baby was a girl and the other a boy, gender had no relevance on how the diaper held up. I tried the Huggies Supreme and the Huggies Snug & Dry on them both and I had leaks daily. I couldn't wait to get the package used up. With my third baby, however, I loved Huggies. I preferred the Snug & Dry to the premium Huggies Supreme on my third baby. The Snug & Dry fit her better than the Huggies Supreme.

Huggies Snug & Dry diapers feel a bit like all of the gerneric disposable diapers. They have the same thickness and stiffness of all of the generic diapers, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. If they fit your baby well, then you won't have leaks. Unfortunately, if they don't fit your baby well, then every mushy poop will leak out the legs. They leaked with my first baby and held tight with the other two. The advantage Huggies has over generic diapers is that it does a better job of wicking away moisture, thus protecting your baby's delicate skin. If my baby gets a diaper rash (I have her in generic diapers) then I usually have to put her back in Huggies for a while before I can get the rash to heal.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Huggies Snug & Dry:

Look:3

Feel: 3

Performance: 3

Overall Rating: 3

Huggies Snug & Dry - Huggies Snug and Dry

Huggies Supreme: Little Snugglers and Little Movers.

144 Snugglers for $39.00 ($0.27 per diaper) 124 Movers for $34.98 ($0.28 per diaper)

Many parents who complain that Huggies Snug and Dry leak, give rave reviews for Huggies Supremes. I've known many parents that say Huggies Snug and Dry didn't fit their baby but the Huggies Supremes fit great. Huggies Supremes are softer than the Snug and Dry and a bit stretchier. The Huggies Supreme has a better fit, feel, and appearance than the Pampers Baby Dry, but isn't quite as nice as the Pampers Cruisers before they changed to Dry Max.

While I'm a big fan of generic diapers and see no point in paying for a name brand diaper that is just going to end up in the trash when there are so many great generic diapers out there, I must admit I love the Huggies Little Snugglers for newborns. Nothing seemed to fit my tiny little new baby like the Little Snugglers did and they are so super soft. I bought the sensitive ones since allergies are so prominent in my family and they are so super cute, soft, and stretchy. I also loved that they had a color indicator that showed when they were wet. The color indicator goes from the front to back, so it will change color for poops or pees. I'm all about saving money, but Little Snugglers are so awesome that I spent the extra money and bought these for my third baby until she was in a size 2.

Besides just bragging on the diaper, I must also brag on the company. Huggies are manufactured by Kimberly-Clark. I bought a large jumbo pack of Huggies Supremes and they were defective. The inner elastic along the leg that keeps the messes in was all stretched out on the left leg on every diaper in the entire box. I emailed the company and they sent me a coupon for a free jumbo pack, two $3 off coupons for jumbo packs, $1 off coupon for any size pack, and a $0.50 off coupon for any size pack. I received my coupons just a week after writing them. Now, that is what I call customer service! They were so nice to me that I feel guilty that both of my babies are now in generic diapers, but as you will see further down, the price difference between geric and name brand diapers is just way too big to ignore.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Huggies Supremes:

Look: 5

Feel: 5

Performance: 5

Overall Rating: 5

Huggies Supreme Disposable Diapers - Huggies Little Snugglers and Little Movers

Huggies Overnights Diaper Review

Package of 64 size 4 for $24.50 ($0.3828 per diaper)

Yep, Huggies Overnights are the most expensive diaper on this lens at a whopping 38 cents each! But, they are an overnight diaper, so you only use one a day. and they are worth it. I started using Huggies Overnights when my daughter turned one. Her diapers were getting so full and puffy that they were waking her up at night. I switched to Huggies Overnights after reading great reviews about them on epinions and to my amazement, unlike all other Huggies diapers, they do not leak at all. They don't even get that puffy, so they stay comfortable throughout the night. My daughter started sleeping through the night thanks to the Huggies Overnight diaper.

My son started wearing Huggies Overnights at around 10 months old. He was tired, but would toss and turn a lot in his sleep and act uncomfotable. I put him in Huggies Overnights, dispite my husband's protests about the expense, as he suddenly started sleeping through the night.

I put my third baby in Huggies Overnights at 8 months old. She would get squirmy and restless in her sleep, but now sleeps peacefully with her overnight diaper.

Huggies Overnights not only stop nighttime leaks, they keep my babies more comfortable throughout the night.

Huggies Overnights run a little small. My town doesn't carry the size 3 (the size my daughter wears in every other brand I put her in), so she wears the size 4 in the overnight and it fits just fine.

*Mommy Tip: I also use the Huggies Overnights for long drives or trips to the zoo. They work great at keeping my daughter comfortable until it's convenient to stop and change her diaper.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Huggies Overnights:

Look: 5

Feel: 5

Performance: 5

Overall Rating: 5

Get a Great Night's Sleep

My daughter never slept through the night until we started putting her in Huggies Overnights every single night. They hold an amazing amount of liquid without getting uncomfortably puffy.

Luvs Diaper Review

Package of 240 size 3 for $35.54 ($0.1742 per diaper)

Luvs are a great bargain diaper. The first time I used Luvs, back in 2006, they did not have stretchy sides. I had to tighten the velcro tabs a few times per diaper to get them to stay up. I tried Luvs again with my second baby and they now have stretchy tabs. They have Blue's Clues pictures on them that vary in colors of red, yellow, and purple.

Luvs are great to buy if the store is sold out of your usual brand (which I've done a few times). They are a good value compared to Pampers and Huggies, and they do not leak. In my experience, Luvs hold big, soft breastfed poops better than any other diaper I've tried. My son loves to eat fruit, but if he eats too much he has giant poops that leak out of the legs of every diaper I've ever tried, that is every diaper except for Luvs. Really the only negative thing about Luvs diapers is that the outside isn't made of the new clothlike material that all the other diapers are. This gives Luvs that old school diaper plastic crackle sound when your baby moves. Even generic diapers don't crackle, so I don't buy Luvs unless it's the only diaper available in the size I need.

Also, very recently Luvs added fragrance. My first baby was very allergic to perfumed diapers and that was the only reason why I ever tried store brand diapers in the first place. She could always wear Luvs though because they weren't scented. Now they are. The scent is pleasant and not strong, but now my son is allergic to Luvs and he never had trouble with them in the past.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Luvs:

Look: 3

Feel: 2

Performance: 5

Overall Rating: 3

Live and Learn and then Get Luvs

Luvs perform great. They are unscented, so are great for sensitive skin. They don't leak at all, just like the commercials claim.

Price Comparison of Pampers Cruisers vs Luvs

How much will you save?

Even though I've had a great experience with generic diapers such as Target, White Cloud, and Parent's Choice, many moms just aren't comfortable with putting their babies in generic diapers for one reason or another. So, for this price comparison I'm going to show you how much you'll save in a month and a year if you choose Luvs (the cheapest name brand diaper) over Pampers Cruisers (the most expensive name brand diaper).

Pampers Cruisers size three are $19.24 for 80 diapers. Luvs are $19.97 for 120 diapers. Since Luvs has so many more diapers in a pack, I can get away with buying 2 packs of Luvs a month, but must buy 3 of the Pampers. That means I'm spending $39.94 on Luvs a month, whereas I'd have to spend $57.52 a month on Pampers. That's a savings of $17.58 a month or $210.96 over the course of a year. Imagine how much more you would even save if you bought Parent's Choice instead.

Target's Up & Up Diaper

Package of 96 size 3 for $13.69 ($0.1426 per diaper)

I love this diaper. It has stretchy tabs, hugs baby's legs, is soft, and doesn't leak at all. The only time I've ever had a leak with the Target brand diaper is overnight. They are unscented, so are great for sensitive babies. If you frequent Target, or have one located close to you then this should be your diaper of choice. My first baby wore nothing but the Target diaper for 10 months. They work great and even though they fit better than Luvs, the Target diaper is cheaper.

Right now, the Target Up & Up diaper is cheaper than Walmart's White Cloud and Parent's Choice diapers. And even though it costs less, it is a much better diaper than Walmart's diaper. The absolute only downside to this diaper is that it has cute blue and green dots all over it. While the dots are cute, if you put your baby in a thin lightly colored outfit, you will see the dots through their clothes.

It's important to note that the Target diaper runs a little small. If your baby is close to needing a size up in the other brands then definitely go the size up with the Target diaper. It doesn't run a whole size smaller than other brands, it simply fits a little more snug.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Target's Up & Up:

Look: 4

Feel: 4

Performance: 5

Overall Rating: 4

WalMart's White Cloud: A Great Value

Package of 104 for $15.97 ($0.1535 per diaper)

One day my husband called me from work and asked if I needed him to pick anything up on the way home. Our newborn was almost out of diapers. At the time, I only used the Target brand diaper, but my husband was planning to stop off at WalMart, so I asked him to pick up a package of Luvs. Boy, was I mad when he came home with WalMart's generic diaper called White Cloud. He said he bought it because the price was so low. All I could think about was that now I'd have to put my precious newborn in these horrible cheap diapers. But, the White Cloud diaper really surprised me. It worked great and we had no leaks.

White Clouds work great. I haven't had a leak with them yet. White Cloud diapers have stretchy velcro-like tabs, just like name brand diapers do. They are not quite as good as some other generic disposable diapers, like Target, Member's Mark, Walgreen's, or Top Care Baby. But, if money is tight, White Cloud will meet your needs. They don't leak and aren't irritating to baby's skin, but they don't wick away moisture well, so if you don't change a wet diaper really fast, your baby may end up with a little bit of a rash.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for White Cloud:

Look: 3

Feel: 3

Performance: 3

Overall Rating: 3

WalMart Parents Choice Diaper Review

Package of 92 for $13.67 ($0.1485 per diaper)

Believe it or not, I like the Parent's Choice diaper. Could have knocked me over with a feather when I tried this diaper. It is one of the cheapest diapers available and it is one of my favorites. I've never had a leak with the Parents Choice diaper and to my surprise they are softer than the new Pampers. Parent's Choice diaper performs not quite as well as some of the other generic diapers I've reviewed here, but dispite their cheap price Parents Choice diapers are unbelievably soft and comfortable and don't leak. This diaper is unscented, so it's great for sensitive babies. Another nice feature is that the main part of the diaper is plain white so it doesn't show through your baby's clothes.

What is super surprising is how well the core of the Parent's Choice diaper holds fluid. It stays together and soft and doesn't break apart at all. Now that Proctor and Gamble have changed Pampers, I like the Parent's Choice diaper much better than the new Pampers, even if you don't indlude the cheaper price tag as a deciding factor. The only reason I rate some other generics higher than Parent's Choice is that they do not wick moisture away. A wet Parents Choice diaper should be changed promptly or sensitive skin will be irritated. When changing a soggy Parents Choice diaper, you will notice your baby's skin is very damp. If you let a Parent's Choice diaper get super saturated, the gell will start to come loose and some will get on your baby. But this only occurs if you are lax about changing your baby's diaper or let a Parent's Choice sit on overnight. As stated earlier, I recommend Huggies Overnights to use at bedtime any way.

On a scale of 1 to 5 (5 being the best) here's my diaper rating for Parent's Choice:

Look: 3

Feel: 4

Performance: 4

Overall Rating: 4

Member's Mark Diaper Review

Sam's Club generic disposable diaper.

Member's Mark is sold by Sam's Club. Even though Walmart owns Sam's Club, the Member's Mark brand diaper is a lot nicer than Parent's Choice. They feel like a premium diaper and I have zero complaints regarding their performance. They are comfortable, unscented, don't leak, never break apart. Since Pampers changed their diaper, Member's Mark is one of the nicest diapers on the market and it is almost the absolute cheapest diaper. The only downside to buying Member's Mark diapers is that you have to buy an enormous box (nothing at Sam's Club comes in a small package). This isn't good if you are just wanting to try the diaper out. However, I have two friends that had very sensitive babies that were allergic to almost all disposable diapers and both of their babies wore Member's Mark diapers without any problems.

Walgreens Diaper Review

I love Walgreen's generic diaper. It's nicer than Up&Up and Parent's Choice diapers. The legs are stretchier, making for a great fit. Walgreen's diapers fit all three of my babies great. I've never had a leak with Walgreen's generic diapers and the gel doesn't break apart either. The Walgreen's diaper feels and performs much like the Member's Mark diaper, so if you're looking for a great generic diaper and don't have a Sam's Club membership I recommend the Walgreen's generic diaper.

Price Comparison Parents Choice vs Pampers Cruisers

How much will you save?

If you're using Pampers Cruisers at $0.26 per diaper, and change six diapers a day you are spending $1.56 a day on diapers. That is probably a conservative estimate since I change eight or more diapers most days. If you had your baby in Parent's Choice and changed six diapers a day, you'd be spending $0.14 per diaper, or $0.84 a day. That would add up to $569.40 for a year in Pampers Cruisers vs $306.60 for the same year in Walmart's Parent's Choice. That's a savings of $262.80 over the course of a year!

When you do the math and consider the fact that soiled diapers in up in the garbage any way, it makes it really hard to validate spending more money on name brand diapers.

My Experience with Disposable Diapers

An Overview of Every Diaper We've Tried

When I had my daughter, the hospital provided us with Pampers, which I loved. They didn't leak and were super soft and stretchy. Unfortunately, the second week home from the hospital, my daughter developed an allergy to Pampers. It really scared me as a new mom. She had a bright red (think lobster-red) rash every where the diaper touched her. It literally looked like she was wearing a red diaper.

We had a package of Huggies at the house that was given to me at my baby shower. But as I stated earlier, Huggies leak horribly. After ending up with a lap full of poop for the second time, I sent my husband to the store to buy our baby some other diapers. I was so discouraged because I knew Pampers didn't leak, but my daughter couldn't wear them. And, since Huggies is the next name brand after Pampers, I thought nothing else would stop leaks and assumed Pampers was the only good diaper out there. Boy, was I wrong!

The next diaper I tried was Luvs. I remember all of the commercials talking about how they stop leaks as well as those "pricier brands." So, I gave them a try. They didn't leak at all and they weren't scented, so they didn't irritate my baby at all. I used them for a while. The tabs didn't stretch so I kept having to tighten the diaper to keep it up.

I decided to look at epinions and see if anyone had reviewed diapers and they had. I found out that a lot of parents liked the Target diaper. I bought a box and loved them. They had stretchy tabs, fit great, weren't scented and didn't leak. We used nothing but the Target diaper in the day (we started using an overnight diaper when she was about a year old) until after we had our second baby. By then my daughter was 20 months old, so the Target diaper served us well for over a year.

After having my second baby, it became tedious going to WalMart with two babies to buy groceries then loading them back in the car and driving to Target to buy diapers. So, I decided to give the WalMart's White Cloud a try to it was just as good as the Target diaper. In fact, except for the outer design and color, they seem like the exact same diaper. Then one day, when I was checking out at WalMart, the cashier said, "Oh, White Clouds are nice, but have you tried Parent's Choice? They are cheaper and don't leak at all." So, after we used up the White Clouds I bought a package of Parent's Choice and they are great! After all of the diapers I've tried over the past nearly two years, Parent's Choice is second only to Pampers Baby Dry. They don't leak, have super stretchy tabs and waste band and they are very soft. Much softer than White Cloud and the Target diaper.

What's Your Favorite Disposable Diaper?

What's your favorite disposable diaper?

See results

I'm a Real Mom and these Diaper Reviews are Based on My Personal Experience with Disposable Diapers

I'm a Real Mom and these Diaper Reviews are Based on My Personal Experience with Disposable Diapers
I'm a Real Mom and these Diaper Reviews are Based on My Personal Experience with Disposable Diapers

The Best Diaper Rash Ointment - I Never Want to Be Without This Stuff

Dr. Smith's Diaper Ointment Dr. Smith's, 3-Ounce (Pack of 2)
Dr. Smith's Diaper Ointment Dr. Smith's, 3-Ounce (Pack of 2)

This is the best diaper rash ointment out there! This is the one our hospital recommends. It's super creamy and thick and stays put through 2 to 3 diaper changes. It gets rid of redness and rashes super fast. This is a must have for me for both home and my diaper bag!

 

Let me know what you thought of this lens. If you have a favorite diaper or wipe, let me know about it.

Was my Disposable Diaper Review Helpful? - Thank you for visiting

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Wendy Leanne profile image
      Author

      Wendy Leanne 3 years ago from Texas

      @Momma_bear91: Thank you for sharing this information with my readers.

    • profile image

      Momma_bear91 4 years ago

      I loved parents chocie until recently. The box I had recently purchased cause a chemical rash on my daughters inner thigh. We stopped using them and tried another brand to see if, in fact it was the diapers and it was. We called the company and are waiting on a response now. We now use Luvs and Pampers. No issues ever with those two.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Thank you for your help. I am a ftm of a 6 mo son. My friends love pampers but as a single mom I find those much to expensive. I used the target brand once in the beginning feom a pack I received from my baby shower. I have now run out of my diaper stash that i got as gifts and now have to buy them. Because of your helpful infoI will be going with the target brand...I absolutely love the cosco wipes. Soft and strong. Arent flimsy and rip apart like some brands I tried.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Hi,my daughter is 13 and a bedwetter.she started wetting the bed last summer and we put her into disposables,but she broke out in rashes from them so we wound up putting her into cloth diapers and rubber pants at night and she has not had any problems with them.I sew the gerber 24x27 inch diapers together to make one 10 ply thick diaper and pin it on her with diaper pins.I buy the rubber pants in adult size small so as to fit loose over the diaper.so far no problems!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Thank you for putting this all down! We recently purchased Earth's Best based on another review and HATE them (as I suspected we might). Thanks to this, we'll be switching to the Up&Up diapers, which were also recommended by s friend.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      this is seriously THE BEST diaper review out there! thank you so much. I shared this with all my new mommy friends :)

    • Lady Lorelei profile image

      Lorelei Cohen 4 years ago from Canada

      Disposable diapers really have become a natural part of motherhood now a days. Great reviews on the many types a available. Have a wonderful New Years.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Thanks so much! Just adopted a new son...I have been out of diapers forever, so this was great for us! Thx for the update!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I'm glad I had read your review before I ordered my daughter's diapers, my aunt works in a hospital and can get a case of 130 diapers for $12.00 but they recently switched from pampers to huggies overnights and my daughter wears size 3 in pampers and other diapers but I bought a pack of huggies little movers to try on her bc she had an allergic reaction once to huggies but is fine with them now but I had got her size 3 and they seemed to fit like a 2 which fits her but I wanted to order enough diapers for a couple months so I came online to see if the overnights fit snuggly or were true to their size and I found your review thankfully so now I'm going to order her some 4s thank you you have saved me from ordering a box of diapers that would be too small :)

    • Wendy Leanne profile image
      Author

      Wendy Leanne 4 years ago from Texas

      @anonymous: Great. I'm so glad it helped. :)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Thanks! I loved all your reviews, and am now going to register for huggies overnights as well as the target diapers and target wipes. (I am also registering for the Diaper Champ, and a wipes warmer-as I am delivering in December in the Northeast:) Love that there are people like you who are willing to take the time to write about these things for other to-be parents.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Thank you SO much for this diaper review! This is an enormous help to me!

    • profile image

      Pampers-Diapers 5 years ago

      Wow, thank you for using your skills to put together this awesome lense! :)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      AS someone who makes the nonwoven material that goes in diapers the generic diapers are made with the same material as the top brands. The only differences are the surfactant applications that let the water pass through the polypropylene. The majority of all diapers are manufacturered on Reifenhauser machines. The outer construction does vary though and when you're producing 900 diapers a minute you get what you get.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      This was great! Thanks for the help in this situation, I figured it would be hard to find a non biased review on so many brands, I hate wasting money on things that won't work, and I agree Huggies were terrible! Thanks again~

    • profile image

      fiskars 5 years ago

      Great information. I was a Huggins mom until it was just too expensive. Now I'm a Luvs mom and I love them! Thanks for the comparison. It was interesting to see how they all add up and I might give up and up a try.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Thank you so much. I've got about 7 weeks until I deliver my sweet little boy, and have been getting very anxious about all of the diaper possibilities. I will definitely be taking all of your advice into consideration. Thanks again, for taking the time to do what I don't want to do.

    • TolovajWordsmith profile image

      Tolovaj Publishing House 5 years ago from Ljubljana

      Very useful review. I noticed too some generic diapers perform much much better than some established brands. I must add another fact: generic and branded diapers can be really made in same factory from the same materials and can be different only by picture on the package. And by the price of course:)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      My husband and I have 5 kids in diapers, Jacob age 5 (Autistic), Justin 2 1/2, Katlyn 1 1/2, and Mark, Mitch 5 months (twins). Huggies we find is are best bet. Although we try to get chances as soon as wet or messy it is hard to with 5 in diapers Huggies seem to prevent less wet leeks and blow outs.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I think that Kirkland Brand (costco) are really good diapers and the price is always right! I am a mother of 4 children ages 10, 8, 2, 14 months which the two younger ones wear the same size diaper. They sell for about 37.99 but sometimes Costco has a sale for 4 dollars off! I guess it depends on what the sale is at costco since I buy them in bulk. One box usually lasts a month or pretty close to it. My two year old is potty training and I refuse to buy pull ups because they are a waste of money. Like I said I have 4 kids and my two big ones pretty much potty trained themselves at 3.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hi Linda. Totally agree with what you say about Hunnies. I've found them fantastic...and so does bubsta. Harry seems to have very sensitive skin and Hunnies with its cooling Aloe vera and camomille has been truly amazing. I recommend everyone buys Hunnies.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hello all,

      I'm Linda, great reviews about baby wipes! recently i started using Hunnies baby wipes for cute little one. earlier i was using other baby wipes for my baby, but it started affecting my baby's delicate skin. the new Hunnies baby wipes baby wipes are infused with cooling aloe vera and soothing camomile. the pH balanced formula provides the kindest way to take care of baby's delecate skin.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Only that you confirmed what I believe to be correct. I just do not have the ability to do the research you did. Thanks so much!!! After 5 kids and getting the last out of the 5 hopefully out of diapers soon. Oh yes!!!! Parent's Choice has been my choice since I first tried it!!!!!!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      My daughter is very sensitive when it comes to her bum. We have tried lots and only a few ever last in our house. Lately we have been buying the Meijer brand diaper and we are fans. Doesn't leak (Never had an issue anyway) and seems to contour to her bum well. They are also inexpensive, always a plus!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      this was so very helpful! thank you so much for doing this.

    • profile image

      neilhills7 5 years ago

      thanks for clean easy lens to view

      Great info

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Have you tested out the new diapers from The Honest Company? I was impressed with the sample pack they sent me. My other favorite are the Huggies Pure and Natural!

      @kristrange

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Thank you for posting this- I too have twins and I love the Pampers Swadders but after spending $90 on 2 boxes at Babies R Us that will last only 6 weeks, I'm looking to try something more affordable. I tried the Whitel Cloud with my daughter and liked them, but I'm now going to try to Target Up & Up. I too Love Love Love Target's wipes, especially the portable package without the plastic container. Great for the diaper bag. And they work great too. I'm glad you took the time to do the comparison!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Thank you for your lens. I have 11 months twins and they were waking up during the night due to a wet diaper. I bought the Huggies Overnight asize up from what they are using during the day and so far its been great.

    • Wendy Leanne profile image
      Author

      Wendy Leanne 5 years ago from Texas

      @anonymous: Yes, that would be very harmful. A poopy diaper should always be changed right away. Poop contains all sorts of bacteria and other yucky things that can really damage a baby's delicate skin. Sitting in poop for hours can cause severely bad diaper rashes that would require antibiotics to clear up. Some diaper rashes can even be caused by staph or strep infections.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hi!

      This was a great lens!

      I was looking for a particular information online ... sometimes, my baby poops during the night, which means I'm asleep. So she'd be cleaned & changed only after, say 4 or 5 hrs.

      Is that harmful?

      I'd really appreciate advice

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I can tell by the comments in your guest book that there is much gratitude for your disposable diaper reviews and you certainly did go in depth to answer about any question anyone may have!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I bought Parents Choice diapers once, when my son was in Size 1's in Huggies, Pampers, & Luvs. He was only 5lbs 4oz at birth, and stayed in Size 1's until about 6 month old. After we used all the Sz 1's from our baby shower, I thought I'd give Parents Choice a try to save some money. My son was very long and skinny, and Parents Choice were literally too big in the waist for him. The tabs overlapped each other by a few inches, so that one tab was always attached to the other tab instead of the front of the diaper. When the diaper puffed up, it pulled itself out from under the tabs, since there was really only one tab holding it on. This resulted in many, many leaks since my son's diaper would literally start to come off under his clothes. I finished that pack, and never tried them again.

      Now, my Walmart sells "trial packs" that are about $3.50 for a few days' worth of diapers. I thought I'd try them again, now that he's bigger. According to the weight ranges listed on the diapers, he would wear Size 2 Parents Choice, even though he's been wearing Size 3 Luvs for the last two months. IMO, Parents Choice diapers ARE NOT for skinny babies, because they don't run true to size and are much wider compared to Pampers/Huggies/Luvs.

    • profile image

      wilkin 5 years ago

      The diapers themselves are fantastic, they absorb everything; plus, they don't promote diaper rash as easily as the cheaper diapers do. But I prefer reusable diaper since it will save my money.

    • Wendy Leanne profile image
      Author

      Wendy Leanne 6 years ago from Texas

      @anonymous: Thank you so much for letting me know about the Huggies overnights. I have not needed to use them recently, so was unaware of the change. My third baby is not a heavy wetter at night and is now wearing Walmart's Parents Choice just fine through the night. But my other two children were extremely heavy night time wetters, so I feel your pain. Did you go up a size in the Huggies overnights? That was a trick a mom told me on Cafe Mom and it worked like a charm. When my son last wore Huggies overnights he wore a size 5 in all diaper brands (he was tall but very thin) but I put him in a size 6 Huggies overnight. I wouldn't recommend wasting money on Pampers. They are the priciest, but since P&G latest change to them they are very low quality and aren't as nice as all the generics I have tried.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      Hi there - thanks for your input! I had a major leakage issue with Huggies Overnites last night, the third leakage in a week (which is a MAJOR pain in the butt when you have a child who sleeps through the night and now needs to be woken up to be changed), and I'm DONE. I wrote to Kimberly-Clark and basically copied and pasted my one-star Amazon review. Hopefully they will make it right, since I don't want to be out that money, and I still use Huggies in the daytime.

      I came to your site via Google to hopefully find an alternative. You rated Huggies Overnites pretty well, but they have since changed the design, which seems to be where the trouble is. You show one with Mickey on it - they now have Winnie the Pooh, and from what I read in the Amazon reviews, the Mickey ones were great, but the Winnie the Pooh ones are terrible in comparison. I would check out Amazon on this one in case you feel like revising.

      I do love Huggies Little Snugglers/Little Movers for daytime use, though. I also love Huggies wipes. Target wipes don't do it for me, sorry :( Wipes are pretty close in cost, though, even between generics and brand names (especially if you use coupons), so it's one of those things where you have to find what works for you and your kid(s) and go with it. They're kinda like formula in that way - once you find one that your baby handles well, you don't mess with it or you'll be cleaning up a bigger mess!

      I'm tempted to try Pampers but don't want to pay a lot for a small package, nor do I want to buy a big box from Amazon at a cheaper price per diaper and potentially end up with a lot of diapers I can't use.

      Some people on Amazon talked about Target brand overnight diapers. I didn't even know they made them. I have to go to Publix today (we live in SC), so I will see what they have as far as generic overnight diapers, but if they don't have anything, I'll go to Target (I think I have some Up and Up coupons anyhow).

      Anyway, I wanted to thank you for your reviews but also wanted to give you a heads-up on the Huggies Overnites, that I think you are reviewing a product that has since been changed.

    • Wendy Leanne profile image
      Author

      Wendy Leanne 6 years ago from Texas

      @anonymous: Huggies Pure & Natural are wonderful, but they are expensive. :( I do like to put my little ones in Huggies Pure & Natural when they are newborns, but just can't justify the cost when they're a bit older.

    • Wendy Leanne profile image
      Author

      Wendy Leanne 6 years ago from Texas

      @zdaddyo: The new Parent's Choice have grown on me. I now like them even better than the old ones. My 20 month old wears them right now and she doesn't even have trouble with them over night. The best part about them is that the little gel pellets stay inside the diaper and never get on my baby's skin.

    • Wendy Leanne profile image
      Author

      Wendy Leanne 6 years ago from Texas

      @anonymous: You're welcome. Don't forget the wipes. I love the Target unscented baby wipes. I even like them better than the pricey name brand baby wipes.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      THANK YOU THANK YOU!

      This was so helpful. We're having our first baby & buying diapers is a whole new expense. I'm glad to have someone who was able to tell me which diapers are best without having to try them all out. I'm going with the Target brand. I looked on their site....$14.99 for 100 diapers free shipping for orders over $50. Sounds GREAT to me!

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I really appreciate your information - have had trouble with my 3rd baby and diapers so I am going to try some of your ideas!

    • zdaddyo profile image

      zdaddyo 6 years ago

      We buy Parent's Choice and they work very well. They recently changed the diaper but the new version is as good as the old. While you are in Walmart pick up some of the organic cotton pajamas for little ones. $5 and they work great too. They shrink a bit in the wash but wear very well and are pretty cute too.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I love the Huggies Pure and Natural diapers. They are super soft and fit my precious boy perfectly. I never had a leak or rash with them. The down side is the cost, they are expensive. CVS brand were hard like crepe paper and caused a bloody rash after one day. The Stop & Shop brand don't come closed good enough they are too narrow and don't cover his hips well like other diapers. As for wipes so far I like the Pampers Sensitive and the Pampers Sensitive thick wipes

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I'm a first time mom. I use Huggies (snugglers and Snug & Dry) for two months now. The snugglers leaked, so I bought snug & dry. They also leaked, but not as much as the snugglers. Now at two months old, my little girl was now getting into size 2 diapers and the only ones I had were Pampers swaddlers, which my mom-n-law bought me. Had no choice, but to use them up. My sister (who has two kids) tells me about store brand diapers and how they are great and don't get leaks. After reading diaper reviews, I'm thinking about buying Walmart brand.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      WOW I ABSOLUTELY LOVE ALL THE WONDERFUL INFORMATION PROVIDED..I have never saw this site but will def be back! I used LUVS with my 1st daughter who is now 7 and I currently use pampers swaddlers (without dry max) for my now 2month old son. I Love the pampers swaddlers but beware of the dry-max, i used them without knowing or reading any reviews and wow was i sorry, my poor baby who was a newborn at the time ended up with a horrible rash, which we later found out to be a CHEMICAL BURN!! after this, i looked it up and found that this had happened an enormous amount of times and am very disappointed and surprised that P&G did not recall these horribly deffective diapers!

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      We have a two year old and she used Pampers while an infant and then she moved on to Member's Mark from Sam's Club when she used size 3. We love them and wonder if you have had experience with that brand. We are expecting a baby in a month and the information posted here about Parent's Choice and Target will be useful in our quest to provide a comfortable, dry and cost effective diaper.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      So helpful and informative! Thank you!!!

    • Trudy Hanley profile image

      Trudy 6 years ago

      Thank you for this valuable review. A great lens, which could really help to save some money!

    • aliciamaggie54 profile image

      aliciamaggie54 6 years ago

      Thanks for the comparisons in pricing for disposable diapers.

    • Kiwisoutback profile image

      Kiwisoutback 6 years ago from Massachusetts

      We've been using Huggies organic which are pretty leak proof. We had the same problem with Pampers and the redness. Great review, very helpful. Squid Angel blessed!

    • profile image

      woody-woodworker 6 years ago

      Finding a diaper without cartoons is the pits!! I make diaper cakes and finding one unscented is my goal. The headaches all that perfume gives me---ugh. In the South, Publix brand diapers are the best.

    • profile image

      anonymous 6 years ago

      I loved your lens. great job.

    • kimberlynapper profile image

      Kimberly Napper 7 years ago from U.S.

      I'm using Seventh Generation on my 10 month old. They're not cheap, but they're chlorine free and use a non-toxic polymer. They, too, have a cloth-like cover, and they've never leaked for me. Cloth isn't really feasible for us or I would have done that, to me these are the next-best thing. I've also used Pampers and Huggies in the past and completely agree: Huggies always leaked for us, and I'm perfume sensitive so I'd have an allergic reaction whenever we tried Pampers. Then my baby would get a rash from them, so it was lose-lose. Before we finally tried the Seventh Generation diapers, I used generics and storebrands - quality was usually just fine, as you said, and they don't tend to use perfumes.

      Nice to see such a personal and authenitc review lens. *Blessed by a SquidAngel*

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      Hi thriving mom..love your article on diaper review - I want to link it to my blog : would it be ok with you? From : momsupdate@gmail.com

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      Wow, thanks for all the great information!

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      wonderful site!

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      Thanks very much for the information in your reviews. I am just wondering which diaper is cheaper: Parents Choice or Kirkland?

    • profile image

      klaird 7 years ago

      Great site. I personally love Costco's brand: Kirkland. I think everyone has their own preference based on their individual child's needs and shape and size. Some diapers work great for some body types and terrible on others. But loved your reviews. Keep up the good work. Also just want to pass along to all the other moms with little ones in diapers: Here's a $10 off coupon at Diapers.com. Just enter code Coupon4u at checkout to receive $10 off your order (1st time customers only, min order $49) Free Shipping, and they will match any online competitor's prices. Plus they take manufacturer's coupons. Just enter coupon code: Coupon4u

    • profile image

      anonymous 7 years ago

      Thanks for this article! I have eyed up the Parent's Choice brand on the shelf but have stuck with Luvs because I wasn't sure. Next time I go to the store I will give them a try!

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      Costco diapers also work really well and are a good value.

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      [in reply to Crystal N. From Illinois] Yeah Me too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • aka-rms profile image

      Robin S 8 years ago from USA

      Fantastic! Wish this info was available when my boys were babies!

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      I have a 22" anatomically correct, Sunshine Berenguer newborn baby girl doll named Katie Rose, and so far, the out of every brand of disposable diaper I've tried on her, I seem to like Luvs, Huggies, and Pampers the best because of their stretchy sides, comfortable fit, and soft, cloth-like covers. I also happen to LOVE Sesame Street (Elmo mostly) and Winnie the Pooh, so Pampers Swaddlers and Huggies Supreme diapers are my top favorites so far. I've tried White Cloud and found them to be okay as far as fit is concerned, but I didn't like that the wavy part of the tabs kept folding down and wouldn't peel off. Also, the tabs on the unprinted White Cloud diapers seemed to stretch and fit better than the printed diapers. I am currently using Parent's Choice, and I don't like them at all. The tabs don't stretch as claimed, and they are not very soft, either. I like Luvs, but I wish they were just a little thicker between Katie's legs. I'm looking forward to using Pampers Baby Dry, though.

    • profile image

      anonymous 8 years ago

      I just wanted to say that I LOVE White Cloud diapers. They fit everywhere they are supose to & don't leake. Thanks to the huggable taps, they don't squeeze my lil girl to death either. With my son, who is now 6 yrs old, I had to use the name brands like Huggies & Pampers. He was allergice to others & the others leaked. With my daughter, who just turned 1 yr, the name brands leak bad. White Cloud has saved me! Since I am going back to school full time & a single parent, I have been having a hard time making ends meet. I have tried Parent's Choice also. I am still unsure as to which I prefer over the other, White Cloud of Parent's Choice. If I had to pick one I would probly say White Cloud because it has a little more absorbancy. Thank you White CLoud!!

    • Nancy S Oram profile image

      Nancy Oram 8 years ago

      Really great job, as are all your lenses. I'm lensrolling this one to my Diaper Rash lens.

    • jimbo10 profile image

      jim 9 years ago

      Thanks for the great suggestions. I never heard of Dr. Smith's diaper cream before. For my 3 boys 2 used Pampers. But my first son had to use Huggies because everything else would leak. Also I added a link to your site from my

      https://hubpages.com/family/diaper-champ lens.

    • profile image

      HinArticle 9 years ago

      Another alternative of baby wipes is hand made baby wipes. You can made your own easily, and you can also recycle them. It can save you many bucks

    • profile image

      anonymous 9 years ago

      I alternate depending on coupons but will not buy Huggies (regardless of coupon amount) ever again. Their tabs are kinda sharp. I use mostly luvs and pampers but will definitely be trying the parents choice diapers next time I need to buy. I used white cloud with my older son and was pleased.

      Also, the swaddlers were great for when my son was newborn and really caught the poo well for my little guy.

      Great lens.

    • Mortira profile image

      Mortira 9 years ago

      "The netted weave is very large, so the baby's skin still comes in contact with the diaper. In fact, the netting sticks to the baby's skin really bad."

      I thought I was the only one!!

      I voted Other in your diaper poll - my favorite are Seventh Generation Bleach Free diapers. They're environmentally friendly, and the best fit I've found for my husky baby.

    • profile image

      webseitler 9 years ago

      Lots of great info here! I like Swaddlers for my newborns because of the netting that catches that icky mustard-like baby poo. Right now I use regular Pampers for my little guy. I would use Luvs more, but I have a hangup about putting such a girly color of purple on him. LOL! ;)

    • profile image

      herbie66 9 years ago

      Welcome to the 'Pregnancy and Baby' Group

      ( http://www.squidoo.com/groups/pregnancy-baby )

      5 stars for your great lens!