ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Review of 5 Ways to Cook a Turkey

Updated on November 24, 2012

The Pros and Cons of 5 Popular Ways to Cook a Turkey

Every holiday brings the same cooking conundrum: shall I stick with the time tested way to roast a turkey, or attempt something new, perhaps better, than the classic preparation? Usually, it is hard to improve upon a classic; I suppose that's how traditions become traditions in the first place, but sometimes it's just fun to try something different.

The following is a brief review of some of the more mainstream ways to cook a turkey.

Do You Prefer a Traditional Turkey?

5 out of 5 stars from 2 ratings of Classic Roasted Turkey

Method #1 Traditional

The traditional way to cook a turkey is to stuff and roast it in a 325 ̊F oven for approximately 20 minutes per pound, or until the breast meat reaches 170° F and the thigh is 180° F. Except for the frequent basting, this method is very straightforward and easy. Also a plus, roasting this way usually results in a visually appealing bird.

However, there are some drawbacks to this method. Often the breast meat dries out before the dark meat is thoroughly cooked. If your turkey is frozen, you have to remember to start thawing days in advance, and cooking time can be extensive.

There are a few simple ways to improve upon the classic. One way is to tent the turkey with foil. This keeps the turkey moist, speeds up cooking time, and eliminates the need for frequent basting. Some folks use a oven bag for the same purpose.

Another great idea is to cook the turkey frozen. This way you never have to handle a raw, dripping bacteria mass, you don't have to remember to thaw, and the white meat does not dry out by the time the dark meat is done. Obviously, this cooking technique takes longer, allow as much as 50% more cooking time. Don't forget to remove the giblet bag from the turkey, and do not stuff a frozen turkey. Stuffing will have to be cooked separately. (Try your crock pot for the stuffing; it comes out perfectly and doesn't take up oven space.)


Drum roll please....

Brine the Bird

Soak the turkey in brine for up to 24 hours.
Soak the turkey in brine for up to 24 hours. | Source

Method #2 Brining

Brining is one sure-fire solution for dry turkey meat. Brining is hardly a new concept but is often forgotten or overlooked because it does require a bit of forethought. Soaking your bird in salt water for up to 24 hours will make it tender and juicy; add some herbs, apple cider, maple syrup, or spices, and your meat will be extra flavorful as well.

Drawbacks to this method include the obvious need to plan ahead, as well as the requirement of a pot large enough to submerge the turkey, and a space in the fridge for both turkey and pot (if you want to brine for more than a few hours.)


Grilling the Turkey

Grilling the Turkey
Grilling the Turkey | Source

Method #3 Grill It

Grilling a turkey is a great way to save space in your oven for all the sides and trimmings. Another bonus: cooking a turkey on the grill cuts down on cleanup. You must use indirect, constant heat, and don't forget a drip pan beneath the turkey. Cook the bird directly on the top rack (lightly coat the rack with nonstick spray,) close the lid and open all vents. Cook for approximately 12 minutes per pound, or until the breast meat reaches 170° F and the dark meat 180° F.

Disadvantages to grilling a turkey include a non-traditional look and flavor to the turkey, and the possibility of weather complications. Also, you obviously need a fairly large grill, the mini-Weber just isn't going to cut it.

My Holiday Party Animals

There is a rumor that turkey can make you sleepy.  I'm sure it has nothing to do with all that eggnog.
There is a rumor that turkey can make you sleepy. I'm sure it has nothing to do with all that eggnog.

Method #4 Make It In Advance

One way of reducing your holiday work load is to roast your turkey a day or two before. Make the gravy and carve the bird. Store the meat (refrigerated) in a large roasting pan covered in the gravy. On the big day, the turkey just requires reheating and the meat is moist and delicious because it is kept in the gravy.

What I don't like about this method is the presentation. Call me nostalgic, but I love the part where the golden-brown turkey is pulled from the oven looking picture perfect and smelling like...well, like the holidays of my memories.

Deep Frying a Turkey

Deep Fried Turkey
Deep Fried Turkey | Source

Method #5 Deep Fry It

This method has become increasingly popular in the recent years due to the claim that the turkey turns out moist and delicious with a crisp skin and superior flavor.

I have never tried this method myself; I cannot imagine heating a huge vat of frying oil outdoors (safety standards require that you keep well away from buildings, people, and anything flammable,) risking burns, spills and grease fires, and trying to get this red-hot grease ball safely out of the pot. I am quite happy with the old fashioned way of doing things, thank you.

If you choose to try this method, please be very careful and take every possible precaution. Just in case it isn't already apparent, I personally do not recommend this method.


At A Glance

METHOD
PROS
CONS
Traditional
Simple preparation, nice presentation
White meat can get dry, time consuming
Brining
Moist, flavorful meat
Must plan ahead
Grilling
Easy, doesn't take oven space
Can look and taste non-traditional
Make ahead
Convenient, moist delicious meat
No beautiful presentation
Deep Frying
Moist meat, crisp skin
Messy and potentially dangerous

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Mrs. Menagerie profile imageAUTHOR

      Mrs. Menagerie 

      5 years ago from The Zoo

      Hi ya Deb,

      Sounds yummy but scary...to me anyway.

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 

      5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      These are all great things to do. I have some southern friends that swear by the deep frying, but I have heard horror stories on burns.

    • Mrs. Menagerie profile imageAUTHOR

      Mrs. Menagerie 

      5 years ago from The Zoo

      Ah ha! Great, great tips Chef! Thank you!

    • chefsref profile image

      Lee Raynor 

      5 years ago from Citra Florida

      Hey Mrs

      Great Hub. I'll add my 2 cents.

      Use an insulated plastic picnic cooler to brine the turkey. Sanitize it by washing it out with a little bleach and add some ice to keep the temp down to safe levels. This way you don't need to find room in the fridge and most of us seem to have a picnic cooler.

      Also, before you roast a brined turkey be sure to dry the skin very well, otherwise you'll have soggy skin

    • Mrs. Menagerie profile imageAUTHOR

      Mrs. Menagerie 

      5 years ago from The Zoo

      Hey Tom...thanks a million!

    • kashmir56 profile image

      Thomas Silvia 

      5 years ago from Massachusetts

      Great hub filled with all great way to cook a turkey, well done ! Great photos and video too !

    • Mrs. Menagerie profile imageAUTHOR

      Mrs. Menagerie 

      5 years ago from The Zoo

      Thanks Chrissie!

      I know what you mean, for some reason the visual is just so important to me!

    • chrissieklinger profile image

      chrissieklinger 

      5 years ago from Pennsylvania

      I never thought about grilling a turkey and like you I prefer the traditional method and having it look beautiful on the table. Lots of great ideas here though if anyone wants to try something new!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)