ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Annie's Gluten-Free Macaroni and Cheese Review | Buy Mac & Cheese Online

Updated on September 29, 2010

Yesterday, I discovered Annie's Gluten-Free Macaroni and Cheese. I was really excited to find this product and made it for lunch today. Read on for my thorough review of this gluten-free rice pasta and cheese product.

First Impressions

I always loved Annie's pasta as a kid, but couldn't eat much of it (or any pasta) because I would always feel sick afterwards. A few months ago, I discovered I could eat gluten-free rice pasta without any negative effects and have been enjoying it ever since. Therefore, I was absolutely delighted to find a gluten-free version of the healthiest boxed mac and cheese on the market!

The cooking process

This is boxed macaroni and cheese so it's quick and easy. Perfect for busy families! Simply bring water to a boil, cook pasta for 9-10 minutes and while it's cooking, mix 1/4 cup milk (or soy milk) with the powdered cheese mixture, which is made from real aged cheddar. Drain pasta, mix together, and you're done. While cooking, I steamed some veggies in the microwave (carrots and broccoli go great with mac and cheese!)

Annie's Gluten-Free Mac and Cheese Pasta Review
Annie's Gluten-Free Mac and Cheese Pasta Review

Have you tried Annie's Gluten-Free Mac and Cheese?

See results

The texture and consistency

I haven't had regular pasta for a while, but the texture is certainly palatable. I ended up using non-fat milk instead of the recommended 1%, so the sauce was a little thin. The box also gives optional ingredients like using butter for a creamier texture or yogurt for a "tangy" taste.

It may sound strange, but I was delighted when I opened the box and saw macaroni shapes that are reminiscent of other types of boxed macaroni. The traditional flat macaroni shape helps hold the sauce well and really could fool anyone into thinking they're eating wheat-based macaroni and cheese!

The taste

It tastes just like the Annie's I used to occasionally eat as a kid, but I enjoy it even more because I know it won't make me feel sick after I eat it! It's not too salty and even though I used non-fat milk, the flavor was really tasty.

Meal pairing suggestions

The possibilities are endless for this fabulous gluten-free mac and cheese. It is delicious by yourself or with other foods. I had my first serving with 1 cup of broccoli, which was fantastic. It would also be great with beef crumbles or grilled chicken. You could also make this into a Mexican dish with some added salsa mixed in. Or, make it into a casserole, with sprinkled gluten-free breadcrumbs on top with parmesan. The possibilities are endless!

The ingredients

I'm disappointed that Annie's doesn't make an organic version of this as I try to eat mostly organic and gluten-free. I'm also disappointed that they don't make a brown rice pasta version (I'd buy that in a heartbeat!) But, I do realize that the ingredients are fairly simply and certainly beat any other boxed macaroni and cheese on the market, rendering this version a more healthier junk food that can be enjoyed from time to time.

"Ingredients: Rice Pasta (Rice Flour, Water), Cheddar Cheese (Cultured Pasteurized Milk, Salt, Enzymes), Whey, Buttermilk, Butter, Salt, Annatto Extract (Color), Natural Flavor."

*Please make sure to double-check the ingredients on the box before purchasing as ingredients can change from time to time without any warning!


The price

I paid $2.89 for one box from my local chain grocery store. I will get about three meals out of one box (serving size is 2.5 servings at 1 cup each), but I find that one cup is really a lot of food.

I did discover that you can purchase Annie's Gluten-Free Rice Pasta Mac and Cheese on Amazon in a 12-pack and take advantage of their free Super Saver Shipping. You can also subscribe to have it delivered every few months and save 15% off the purchase price. At the time I'm writing this, they're having a 30% off deal for a back to school special when you enter the code ANNIES55 during checkout. Since that will bring the price down to about $22 for 12 dollars, I think I'll stock up to avoid paying nearly $3 a box at my local grocery store.

I checked on the box I purchased the other day and it didn't expire until December of 2011, so the shelf life on this product is great.

Comments About Annie's Homegrown Gluten-Free Macaroni and Cheese

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Jagodka profile image

      Jagodka 

      6 years ago

      I've been eating that horrible Kraft Mac and Cheese all my life. I really need to try Annie's!

    • profile image

      Tamara J 

      6 years ago

      I love the mac'mmm'cheese made by fiber gourmet. Each serving contains a whalloping 18 GRAMS of FIBER! Wowza!

      The rest of the nutritional info for 1/3 of the box is:

      160 Calories, 1g Fat, 660mg Sodium (ya it's high), 50g Carbs, 18g Fiber, 7g Sugars, 7g Protein.

      It's Kosher certified and there are no artificial colours/flavours. I have to order my Fiber Gourmet from a place at the oppposite end of the country, but well worth it. Those of you in the US can get it at tons of places! Lucky!

    • CassidyS profile image

      CassidyS 

      7 years ago from OK

      I would love to be able to buy the Annie's Mac and Cheese but unfortunately we are also dairy free :( Sounds good though!

      cookingglutenfree.blogspot.com

    • bogerk profile image

      bogerk 

      7 years ago from Midwest

      Annie's makes a lot of great organic products. The cost can be a bummer, but for healthy living, it is worth it.

    • infonolan profile image

      infonolan 

      7 years ago from Australia

      Thanks for sharing. Wish we had it here in Australia! :-(

    • girly_girl09 profile imageAUTHOR

      girly_girl09 

      7 years ago from United States

      It's definitely a great, healthy alternative to Kraft, even if you don't have to eat gluten-free!

    • writinginalaska profile image

      writinginalaska 

      7 years ago from southeast Alaska

      Annie's Gluten Free Mac and Cheese is the bomb!!! i have been known to eat a whole box in one sitting. I like it 100 times better than that nasty Kraft product.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)