ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Burger Edge - A little too edgy on 'Gluten Free' labelling

Updated on March 10, 2011

Gluten Free offerings at Burger Edge (posted 01 Sep '10)

It has recently come to my attention that the Australian Burger Edge franchise now offers gluten free buns supplied by Silly Yak Foods which can be paired with some of their meat patties and fillings. Great! Until you see the disclaimer on their website:


Press Release Document

"Please note that Burger Edge stores are not gluten free environments. While all reasonable precautions will be taken, there is the possibility that cross contamination may occur during the toasting process or during the assembly of the burger."

False Advertising

Unfortunately this disclaimer reveals false 'gluten free' advertising. In Australia, it is illegal to promote a product as gluten free when it isn't. Furthermore, it is not right to mislead customers into thinking a product is 'gluten free' when it may well not be (i.e. Allergen Matrix). If a product contains any detectable gluten, oats, or malted wheat/barley it is NOT gluten free! For a product to be gluten free, it must be COMPLETELY FREE OF Detectable Gluten, Oats, and Malted Cereals that contain gluten.

Excerpt from FSANZ (page 15)

Gluten Free Labelling Laws

Claims in relation to gluten content of food

(1) Claims in relation to the gluten content of food are prohibited unless expressly permitted by this code.

(2) A claim to the effect that a food is gluten free must not be made in relation to a food unless the food contains –
-- (a) no detectable gluten; and
-- (b) no –
-- -- (i) oats or their products; or
-- -- (ii) cereals containing gluten that have been malted/their products.

By identifying GF items as Gluten Free on their allergen matrix (i.e. GF=Gluten Free), they are identifying that the product complies with the above Gluten Free Labelling Laws! To then add a disclaimer is not only contradictory but also illegal!

I would say cross-contamination is highly likely at this practice due to the many burger options that DO contain gluten.  We as coeliacs need to be cautious and careful at any such business.

At least get rid of the red GFs on your allergen list as it's already accounted for under the Gluten column in the list. 

This is not good enough, Burger Edge!

Edited: Added 03 Sep '10:


It has recently come to my attention that the information in the allergen matrix with relation to the Gluten Free Bun ingredients is incorrect. They contain both soy and dairy (or so I've been told). Neither of these are accounted for in the allergen listing. I'd seriously question whether this business is a safe bet at all for gluten free fare! Seriously!

Edited: Added 11 Feb '10

The above concerns have now been addressed. Their current allergen matrix now highlights the presence of dairy and soy in their gluten free buns.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Dr. Peter Osborne 

      7 years ago

      I think that restaurants are doing what they can to try to help gluten free individuals have a social normalcy. It is always up to the individual to check what they are eating to avoid exposure to gluten. If you are not sure, don't support the restaurant.

      All the best,

      Dr. Osborne

    • infonolan profile imageAUTHOR


      7 years ago from Australia

      I don't have a problem with "May contain traces of...' statements. My issue here is that the business is misusing the 'gluten free' term. If a product is labelled 'gluten free', it must comply with the laws mentioned above. To use the 'gluten free' term and then add a disclaimer is not only misleading toward coeliac consumers but also illegal. How hard is it for businesses and society to understand? Thanks for commenting, Connie.

    • profile image


      7 years ago

      The same thing goes for Dominos and other restaurants with gluten free items on their menu. Unless the cafe is a 100% gluten free cafe there is never going to be a guarentee of safety. I think most coeliacs are aware of this and if they have a severe issue with it then they just don't eat out.

      It's like a muesli bar saying it may contain shellfish or traces of nuts. There may not be any in the factory but they say that just to cover their butts.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)