ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Food and Cooking»
  • Restaurants & Fast Food

The Dhaka Food Diaries - PANINI RESTAURANT BANANI

Updated on June 13, 2013

Intro

I love food. I love to get out too. But it’s true that maybe I don’t get the chance to get out that often because of time constraints (mainly). However, what little time I get to spend outside with friends and family should be Quality Time. This is why it’s so frustrating when I end up spending an evening eating out at a lousy or mismanaged or unnecessarily overpriced place. I am willing to pay good value for good experience and quality food. However, I personally feel very ripped off if I get crappy food at high prices and the eating-out experience is sometimes further degraded by poorly managed support stuff. I also get turned off by lousy décor and poor ambiance.

This is why I decided to write this blog. Basically I will try to update this blog continually as I experience different eateries in Dhaka. My personal review will be based on what I experience and what I eat and what I see. The reviews will be accompanied by crappy mobile phone photos taken by me! I will include locations, addresses and contact numbers of the places I visit for your truly! So that you can glide from one eatery to the next with utter decadence and ease!

I will rate the eateries on (1) Quality of Food (2) Ambiance/décor and (3) Price and based on these three, I shall provide an overall score.

PANINI RESTAURANT (Location: House #30, Road 19/A, Banani Model Town, Dhaka, Bangladesh 01726-925181 - JUST TAKE THE ROAD ADJACENT TO WARID/AIRTEL FROM KAMAL At

(1) Quality of Food: 3.5/5

(2) Ambiance/décor: 4.5/5

(3) Price: 3/5

(4) Overall: 3.7/5

I visited Panini recently (in March 2013). Prior to visiting, I saw a lot of billboards of Panini on the streets and so I was interested to see what this place was all about. Overall, I would say that it was an interesting experience, well worth the 1500 BDT paid for 2 persons, and I was particularly impressed with the Décor and ambiance of the place. However, the pricing is a bit steep but I guess it’s normal for eating at Banani/Gulshan area. The food was interesting and different and generally quite tasty. Definitely worth a visit or two for the awesome décor and the interestingly different food.

Location: House #30, Road 19/A, Banani Model Town, Dhaka, Bangladesh 01726-925181 - JUST TAKE THE ROAD ADJACENT TO WARID/AIRTEL FROM KAMAL ATTATURK ROAD
Location: House #30, Road 19/A, Banani Model Town, Dhaka, Bangladesh 01726-925181 - JUST TAKE THE ROAD ADJACENT TO WARID/AIRTEL FROM KAMAL ATTATURK ROAD
Interior 1
Interior 1
Interior 2
Interior 2

Now a bit of breakdown provided below:

Price: We ordered a Meat Lovers’ Panini (BDT 600) and a Mixed Seafood Paella (BDT 700) and a coke (probably BDT 80? Can’t quite remember but it was unduly expensive I remember). Prices were a bit high. A proper meal for two would cost from around 1500 BDT to 2500 BDT. Prices of beverages were quite high as well.

FOOD: The food was tasty and different. I particularly liked the Meat Lovers Panini because of the smoky taste of the sausages used. The Mixed Sea Food Panini was boring actually, bland tasting and not interesting. The Paninis were quite dry, lacking savory mayonnaise or sauce. The lack of adequate amount of cheese was a HUGE disappointment for me. I make sausage/meat sandwiches at home all the time and I really pile on the mozzarella or cheddar. The Panini hardly had any cheese in it. I was also disappointed with the quantity of the potato wedges provided. I mean come on! The bottom line is that I’m paying 600 bucks for an oversized sandwich and you can’t give me a good helping of wedges with it? I was definitely not impressed with the quantity. However, on the bright side, the wedges were tasty. The dips provided with the dishes were not very good and very forgettable, to be honest.

Ambiance/Décor: The most outstanding thing about “Panini” is the Ambiance/Décor! The architect or interior decorator, whoever he/she is, hats off to that person! Really great interior, kinda gothic and European in look and feel! Great usage of wallpaper combinations and furniture. If for nothing else, I would come back to Panini just to enjoy the décor one more time!

Meat Lovers Panini (600 BDT)
Meat Lovers Panini (600 BDT)
Mixed Seafood Panini (700 BDT)
Mixed Seafood Panini (700 BDT)

CILANTRO

Next up I shall be reviewing a new restaurant named "Cilantro" which recently opened up at Dhanmondi. Cilantro has a truly amazing interior décor and ambiance, possibly unmatched by any other in Dhaka and indeed Bangladesh! A true labor of love for sure!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • travel-O-grapher profile image
      Author

      travel-O-grapher 5 years ago from Dhaka, Bangladesh

      Thanks for the interest i2eat.com! I will definitely get in touch. TC

    • i2eat profile image

      i2eat.com 5 years ago

      Hello TOG ! We are the largest food review community of Bangladesh. Just found out your blog and we are very impressed the way you put up the context when it comes to food ! We'd love to be in touch with you . Please msg us your email ID at i2eatinfo@gmail.com

      to know more details about us , please visit i2eat.com in FB

      Look forward to hear from you soon .

      Best

      i2eat.com

    • travel-O-grapher profile image
      Author

      travel-O-grapher 5 years ago from Dhaka, Bangladesh

      Thanks for stopping by.. Shiningirisheyes & sarifearnbd

    • travel-O-grapher profile image
      Author

      travel-O-grapher 5 years ago from Dhaka, Bangladesh

      No hard feelings... geography isn't my strongest suit either :D

    • xmags profile image

      Xeng 5 years ago from Philippines

      oops. my bad. geography was never my strongest point. :p

    • travel-O-grapher profile image
      Author

      travel-O-grapher 5 years ago from Dhaka, Bangladesh

      Thnx for stoppibg by xmags.... Btw.. Dhaka is in Bangladesh, not india :)

    • sarifearnbd profile image

      Shariful Islam 5 years ago from Bangladesh

      Interesting hub. Very well written.

    • xmags profile image

      Xeng 5 years ago from Philippines

      The photos made me drool. Loved your hub. Thanks for sharing. Made me wish I was in India to try the food. :D

    • shiningirisheyes profile image

      Shining Irish Eyes 5 years ago from Upstate, New York

      Imagine how much business Panini could do if they brought the level of meal quality to match the ambiance! Great review and I look forward to more!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)