ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Food and Cooking»
  • Dietary Restrictions»
  • Dietary Restrictions for Health

Duinkerken Gluten Free Cake Mixes - Product Review

Updated on April 5, 2013
Duinkerken Gluten Free Lemon Cake with Cream Cheese Icing
Duinkerken Gluten Free Lemon Cake with Cream Cheese Icing | Source

Do You Use a Mix?

When I Bake I Prefer to

See results

Rate the Review and Recipe for Duinkerken Cake Mix

4.5 stars from 2 ratings of Duinkerken Lemon Cake

Duinkerken Gluten Free Cake Mixes

I was given the Duinkerken product by a friend who works for a food distributor here in Victoria BC. I confess to being rather snobby about baking and usually prefer to bake from scratch making up my own flour combinations for wheat and gluten free baking.

One day, in a pinch for time, I decided to give one of the boxes a try. Success! Since then I have tried three of the flavours available in the product range - Vanilla, Lemon and Chocolate. Each time the product has worked really well in either a 9 x 9" cake format or as cup cakes.

Wheat and gluten free baking can be time consuming and a little costly to do given making up the different flour combinations required for successful texture and rising. Using the Duinkerken Mix saves times and cuts down on the need to keep different flours at the ready. The boxed mixes are also quick to make up. Simply place the mix along with eggs, milk and oil in a mixer for two minutes and voila, the cake, or cup cakes are ready to bake.


Cook Time

Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 25 min
Ready in: 35 min
Yields: 1 9 x 9 cake; 9 large cup cakes or 25 mini cakes
Combine cake mix with eggs and oil and mix for two minutes
Combine cake mix with eggs and oil and mix for two minutes | Source

Ingredients

  • 1 box Duinkerken Gluten Free Cake Mix
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 cup Oil - olive, sunflower or canola
  • 1/2 cup Milk
  • 1/4 cup Butter, For icing
  • 1/2 cup Cream Cheese, For icing
  • 1 1/2 cups Icing Sugar, For icing
  • 1 tsp Vanilla, For icing

Cream Cheese Icing

Combine Cream cheese and butter in mixer to start icing
Combine Cream cheese and butter in mixer to start icing | Source
Add vanilla to combined cream cheese and butter and mix before adding the icing sugar
Add vanilla to combined cream cheese and butter and mix before adding the icing sugar | Source
Scrape icing sugar from sides as you combine with cream cheese, vanilla and butter in a mixer
Scrape icing sugar from sides as you combine with cream cheese, vanilla and butter in a mixer | Source
Spread cream cheese icing on top of cake or cup cakes.  Leave plan or decorate with fruit.
Spread cream cheese icing on top of cake or cup cakes. Leave plan or decorate with fruit. | Source

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350. Prepare 1 x 9 x 9 cake pan by greasing well with butter or place individual cup cake papers in muffin or mini cup cake pans.
  2. Place 2 eggs, oil and milk in mixer and combine on medium speed for 2 minutes. Pour into prepared cake pan or cup cake papers. Bake cake for 25 to 30 minutes or cup cakes for 20-25 minutes.
  3. Prepare Icing - combine in mixer butter and cream cheese, beat until combined. Add vanilla and mix. Add icing sugar 1/2 cup at a time and mix, scraping from sides during the process. When cakes are cool use a knife to spread as a topping.

Duinkerken Foods

Based in Prince Edward Island Duinkerken Foods are committed to creating a range of gluten free foods that are appropriate for celiacs and that provide a variety of options for those choosing a gluten free diet for other health reasons.

The Duinkerken range of gluten free mixes are available online at at local health food stores and supermarkets that carry gluten free product.

For more information and where to buy the products locally visit http://www.duinkerkenfoods.com/

Nutrition Facts
Serving size: 1 cup cake or 1 x12th slice of cake
Calories 140
Calories from Fat18
% Daily Value *
Fat 02 g3%
Saturated fat 01 g5%
Unsaturated fat 0 g
Carbohydrates 34 g11%
Sugar 18 g
Fiber 1 g4%
Protein 2 g4%
Cholesterol 0 mg
Sodium 270 mg11%
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • italianfood profile image

      George A. Pepper 5 years ago from Philippines

      In the first place, I thought they wouldn't like it but after tasting they want more.

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      You are welcome. So glad it worked for you and yours:-)

    • italianfood profile image

      George A. Pepper 5 years ago from Philippines

      Yea, it's a total success and they love it. Thanks a lot for sharing this.

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      italianfood, the mix is very easy so it won't be a problem. My youngest daughter prefers the chocolate and vanilla flavour mixes. Thanks for commenting and I hope you enjoy the cakes.

    • italianfood profile image

      George A. Pepper 5 years ago from Philippines

      This cake recipe is really great. I am sure that my children will love this. I hope, I can make this one correctly and gives a good result. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      Thanks teaches12345. I hope they ship this product to the USA. Best wishes, Liza.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 5 years ago

      Thanks for sharing this product information and your experience in baking. I try to buy gluten free as often as possible, much healthier for the body. Take care, Liz.

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      You're welcome kidscraft. Looks like they also ship product too.

      Enjoy.

    • kidscrafts profile image

      kidscrafts 5 years ago from Ottawa, Canada

      Thank you for sharing Lizam1! Indeed, it's not easy to find gluten free flours to prepare cakes. I have a friend who is gluten intolerant so that would be practical for me to prepare when she comes for a visit!

      As you live in Canada and me too, I should be able to find that product as well!

      Thanks for sharing! I will definitely keep that in mind!

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      Pamela-anne thanks for visiting. Sorry we have not developed a way to share cyber food for real....

    • Pamela-anne profile image

      Pamela-anne 5 years ago from Miller Lake

      Thanks for sharing this yummy tip your cake looks good enough to bite right into I would if I could! Always looking for healthier choices in my sweet food choices take care!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)