ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Egg-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free Convenience Products Available in the Grocery Store: A Food Allergy Resource Guide

Updated on December 18, 2010

Egg-free, Milk-free, Soy-free. You do have choices!

This product guide is for anyone who is allergic to egg, dairy and soy (and peanut too!) or for the people who love them and never know what to buy at the grocery store.

Scroll down to see the table of products that you may be able to purchase at a regular grocery store and enjoy! Or, read a little background information first.

Why make a list? When my daughter was a toddler, she was diagnosed with these food allergies. As she grew, I learned to make foods from scratch that were healthy and satisfied her dietetic requirements. We still make most of our food from scratch. (Check out some of the recipe links at the end of this article!) However, convenience foods definitely have a place in our diet and busy life-style. Since she is young, we are faced with birthday parties, school functions, Halloween and more! It's nice to know what safe alternatives are on the market.

Other allergens: Many of the products are also free of other common allergens, such as tree-nuts and wheat and may assist people with these food allergies in their product search. However, the focus of this article is specific to individuals with these four food allergies.

Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network: They are experts on food allergies and an invaluable resource. You can sign-up to receive email alerts regarding manufacturers that have changed their product formulation. They also send out alerts regarding recalls too.

Health Food Stores: A variety of specialty products can be found at health food stores. And, I would highly recommend a trip to one. We enjoy many of these products that are found there. (A favorite product is chocolate chips by Enjoy Life. However, this article focuses on products found in a large, general purpose grocery stores, such as Publix or Bi-Lo. The good news is many big box stores are dedicating more shelf space to products that address special needs, including food allergies.

I am beyond ecstatic when I find a convenience food that is both healthy and egg-free, soy-free, dairy-free and peanut-free. The discovery is usually by accident or as a result of a re-newed search for alternatives. My hope is that this list will help someone that is newly diagnosed with food allergies. It is meant to serve as a starting point in the quest to find products that meet your needs. In addition, I would love to add some new products to my pantry. Comments are welcomed and appreciated!

Rules to Live By

  1. Always, always read the labels on every product every time you buy it, even if it has been acceptable in the past. The FAAN website provides detailed information on how to read a label and identifies alternative names for prohibited ingredients.
  2. Focus on all the wonderful things that can be eaten. Did I mention this article is about packaged foods at a grocery store? The list of natural foods that can be eaten is extensive. Fruit, vegetables, seeds are nature's convenience foods.



Manufacturers change their formulations all the time. It is of paramount importance to always check the labels each and every time an item is purchased. The information in this article should not be relied upon for accurate and complete information about ingredients or manufacturing claims. It was developed as a starting point in the search for convenience foods that are commonly found in large grocery stores.

About the Chart:

Soybean oil and soy lecithin. Special care has been taken to identify products that use soybean or soy lecithin. According to FAAN, some people that are allergic to soy can consume these products. Check with your doctor about your specific situation.

Other Notes. The notes give tips on ways to use the products and give pointers on other places to check for acceptable products.

Last updated 12/17/10

Is there a facility disclaimer? Does the product contain soy lecithin or soybean oil? 
Other Notes 
Bagels - Lender's Pre-Sliced, Frozen Bagels; Original, Whole Wheat
Current packages have a statement that the bagels are produced in a nut-free environment and contain no milk or eggs.  
Bread - Arnold Premium Italian Bread
Yes-contains soybean oil and soy lecithin
Italian, French and Cuban breads are often made without egg or milk.
Bread - Cobblestone Mill; Italian
Yes-contains soy lecithin. 
Bread, Crescent Rolls - Pillsbury Original
Yes-contains partially hydrogenated soybean oil. 
Several other products, such as breadsticks and pizza dough, offered by Pillsbury are also acceptable. Tip: Use crescent rolls to make cinnamon buns by rolling out dough, spreading on butter alternative and sprinkling with cinnamin and sugar mixture (1:1). Roll up, bake according to directions and glaze with powdered sugar/water mixture. 
Butter/Margarine - Fleischmann's Unsalted 
Yes-contains soybean oil and soy lecithin 
Breakfast bar - Kashi Soft-Baked Cereal Bars; Strawberry, Blackberry
Yes-contains soy lecithin 
Cake mix - Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe; Spice Cake
Yes-contains partially hydrogenated soybean oil 
Don't use this to make cake which requires several eggs. Instead use this mix to make pumpkin muffins by adding a 15 oz. can of pumpkin to the dry mix (no other ingredients are needed) and baking according to directions. 
Candy - Skittles, Dum Dum Lollipops, Jolly Rancher pops
Check ingredients carefully. 
Start your search with fruit-type candy. 
Cereal - Rice Krispies, Corn Flakes, Raisn Bran and many, many more
Check the label - many are free from soybean derivatives and contain no facility disclaimer
The trick is finding a healthy cereal that is also free of allergens. Our testers like Raisin Bran. Use Rice Krispies to make treat bars using marshmallow and butter alternative listed. Corn flakes can be used to bread chicken and fish, etc. 
Chicken Nuggets - Tyson Fully Cooked Chicken Nuggets
Cookies - Nabisco Lorna Doone Crisps
Yes-contains soy lecithin
Cookies - Nabisco Oreo Thin Crisps
Crackers - Nabisco Premium Saltine Crackers; Minis
Minis do not contain any soy. The regular size contains soybean oil. 
Crackers -  Wheat Thins, Triscuits
Frosting - Pillsbury Creamy Supreme; Chocolate Fudge, Vanilla
Yes-contains partially hydrogenated soybean oil and soy lecithin. 
Marshmallows - most brands
Muffin mix - Jiffy
Pancake mix - Bisquick HeartSmart Pancake and Baking Mix
Recipes using this mix require an egg. Egg replacer works well in pancake, waffle and biscuit recipes (and possibly others that have not been tried by our test kitchen.)
Pizza dough - Mama Mary's
Yes-contains partially hydrogenated soybean oil and soy lecithin 
Popcorn - Orville Redenbacher's Smart Pop! Kettle Korn
Most brands of plain popcorn are free from egg, milk and soy. Place a few Tablespoons in a brown lunch bag, fold over the top a few times and pop in the microwave oven for a few minutes.
Potato chips - Ruffles, Tostitos
Most brands of plain potato chips are free from egg, milk and soy. Barbecue potato chips are often okay; Ranch flavored chips usually are not.
Pretzels - Rold Gold
Many brands of pretzels are free from allergens. Watch for processing that occurs on shared equipment as is the case with Snyder's pretzels. 
Salad dressing and Marinades - Lawry's Havana Garlic and Lime, Herb and Garlic
Many brands are free from allergens. These are two of our favorites! 


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Roseann 2 years ago

      Soy is a tricky ingredient. If you have a hypersensitivity as I do you can forget about any of the cereals on the shelf as they contain Vitamin E and in the US the main source is Soy. Also, you may want to check with the manufacturers as to the ingredients in the NATURAL and ARTIFICIAL flavors - this is a major hiding place for allergens and chemicals. Be safe!

    • profile image

      Stevie 2 years ago

      Most salad dressings contain soy oil.

    • profile image

      mother of Ethan 21 months ago

      thanks so much for posting this list. just found out my 4yr old is allergic to dairy and nuts (all his favorite foods) ....very overwhelming! ! thanks.

    • profile image

      S guffey 16 months ago

      Wheat things do contain soybean oil.

    • profile image

      Shreshrey 6 months ago

      Applegate organic hot dogs are free of casein and soy, my son, who is allergic to a whole host of foods can eat them.

    Click to Rate This Article