ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

How To Go Gluten Free: Grocery Store Shopping

Updated on August 9, 2012
There are plenty of gluten free foods available, you just need to know what to look out for - and what to avoid on a gluten free diet!
There are plenty of gluten free foods available, you just need to know what to look out for - and what to avoid on a gluten free diet! | Source

How to Eat Gluten Free

Going gluten free can be daunting and at first and you may feel like you'll be starving on your new diet - but don't worry! There's plenty of gluten free options out there to have you enjoying delicious meals free of gluten!

Here's a guide on how to start a gluten free diet and what you can add to your grocery list. So let's get you started on making your ultimate grocery list for your new gluten free lifestyle!

Contrary to popular opinion, there are far more gluten free carbohydrates than plain old rice!
Contrary to popular opinion, there are far more gluten free carbohydrates than plain old rice! | Source

Gluten Free Carbohydrates

- Gluten free bread
There are lots of gluten free breads on the market, it's just about finding the right one for your needs and tastes. If you have any other food issues/intolerances be sure to read the ingredients list thoroughly.

It's a good idea to ask other Gluten Free friends for their favorite gluten free bread suggestions, or head online to check out options available in your area and reviews from bloggers and magazines.

- Quinoa
Quinoa is an ancient grain which is a great gluten free source of protein, iron and fiber and can easily be used to replace gluten containing grains in both sweet and savory dishes.

Quinoa is also available puffed and in flakes and flour which are perfect for breakfast and baked goods

- Rice
All raw rice is gluten free and a lot of prepared packaged options are too - just be sure to check the ingredient list!

- Gluten free pasta
Giving up gluten doesn't mean giving up pasta too, check out the gluten free pasta options at your local health food or grocery store and play around until you find your favorites.

Personally, I prefer brown rice pasta or buckwheat pasta but there are plenty of other varieties based on gluten free grains and flours.

- Gluten free crackers
These days rice cakes aren't the only option for those on a gluten free diet. Check out your local grocery or health food stores gluten free section to find some delicious gluten free cracker options.

- Corn chips and tortilla chips
Be sure to check the ingredients label as some brands of corn chips and tortilla chips will contain gluten,but ones that are made without any gluten products and are not at risk of contamination are perfect for a gluten free diet.

Flour tortillas are always a no no as they use wheat flour, so look for corn tortillas with no gluten additives.

- Gluten free oatmeal
Oats are typically gluten contaminated unless they are grown in dedicated oatmeal fields and processed in a gluten free facility.

Companies like Bob's Red Mill have gluten free oats that can be purchased in some grocery, health and online stores

- Gluten free cereals
Many brands and varieties of gluten free cereals are available. Like with the gluten free bread, it's a matter of trial and error in finding what works best for you.

Try out different types and ask gluten free friends or look online for suggestions of great gluten free options.

Fruit and Vegetables are a naturally gluten free food!
Fruit and Vegetables are a naturally gluten free food! | Source

Gluten Free Fruit and Vegetables

- All fresh fruit and vegetables are gluten free as well as fresh herbs and spices.It's when flavors and additives that gluten becomes a problem, so buy fresh foods as close to their whole natural state as possible.

- 100% fruit and vegetable juices

Gluten Free Frozen Foods

- Plain frozen fruits and vegetables
All frozen fruit and vegetables that contain 100% fruit. Some flavoured or seasoned versions may be gluten free too, just check the ingredients list!

- Ice creams/sorbets/gelato/sherbets
Some ice creams contain gluten and others don't, so be careful when you're buying and check the ingredients!

- Frozen gluten free products
Many companies these days are dedicated to gluten free food and you can find many frozen options that are gluten free. For example, many of Amy's meals are gluten free

There are plenty of gluten free dairy options available!
There are plenty of gluten free dairy options available! | Source

Gluten Free Dairy Products

- Plain unflavored milk, half and half, cream, whipping cream, sour cream

- Most cheeses
Cheeses are generally a safe option but sometimes processing can introduce gluten so be sure to check the label

- Flavoured milks
Many flavored milks contain gluten so be sure to check for a gluten free version before purchasing

- Eggs
Both whole eggs and eggs in a carton such as egg beaters are gluten free.

- Unflavored Tofu
Some flavored tofu is also gluten free, just check the ingredients!

Gluten Free Canned Foods

- Applesauce

- Plain canned fruits and vegetables

- Canned fish (eg. Tuna)

- Canned beans and lentils

- Some pasta sauces
This will depend on the type of pasta sauce, so check the ingredients first!

- Some packaged soups

Source

Gluten Free Meats

- All fresh beef and poultry and other meats

- All fresh fish and shellfish

- Some hotdogs and luncheon meats
Check the ingredients list to make sure they don't contain any gluten fillers or additives

Gluten Free Condiments and Spreads

- Vinegar (except malt vinegar)

- Mustard

- Ketchup

- Horseradish

- Relishes, pickles and olives

- Most jams and jellies

- Honey

- Maple syrup

- Most nut butters

Going gluten free doesn't mean giving up baking - just adapting!
Going gluten free doesn't mean giving up baking - just adapting! | Source

Gluten Free Baking Ingredients

- Gluten free flours
You can buy pre-made mixes or individual flours such as buckwheat, rice, quinoa and sorghum flours

- Some cocoa
Check the ingredients label as same brands contain gluten or traces of gluten

- Sugar

- Evaporated or condensed milk

- Tapioca

- Baking Soda

- Gluten free baking powder

- Some baking chocolate

- Corn starch

- Potato starch

Gluten Free Confectionary

- Be sure to check ingredients list on all candy, chocolate and gum as most often contain gluten.

Gluten Free Beverages

- Pure water/sparkling water/mineral water/club soda/soda water

- Coffee and tea (if buying flavored versions, check the ingredients)

- Some soft drinks/sodas

- Fruit and vegetable juices

Gluten Free Tips

  • See if your grocery store or health food store has a listing of gluten free foods available
  • Check online for lists of gluten free products, gluten free food reviews and information
  • The safest way to shop gluten free is to stick to minimally processed foods (eg. fruits, vegetables, rice, quinoa, milk, natural cheeses etc) as you don't have the risk of gluten contamination.
  • Always recheck labels - gluten free customers are often loyal to brands, however, companies often change their products and what was once gluten free may no longer be.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    Click to Rate This Article