ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Wheat and Gluten Free Foods - How to eat wheat and gluten Free.

Updated on June 3, 2012
Gluten Free Grains
Gluten Free Grains | Source

What is Gluten and Why Eliminate it From Your Diet?

Gluten is a mixture of proteins that is combined with starch in many grains. It is responsible for the "chewiness" of many of the bread products that we eat every day.

Gliadin is one of the proteins in gluten that seems to cause the most trouble. When it gets into your body, it may cause an allergic reaction that leads to inflammation. In extrememe cases, celiac disease may result. However many people may be sensitive (non-celiac gluten sensitive NCGS) to gluten and experience barely to highly noticeable low-grade inflammation which manifests as gas, bloating, skin irritations, vitamin and mineral deficiencies, fatigue and depression.. Many times these discomforts are minor and can be accepted as a normal part of life. If the discomforts however are not acceptable because the quality of life is diminished, eating wheat and gluten free can help.

The following table shows foods that are free from gluten and those that contain gluten.

With Gluten
Gluten Free
Barley, Barley Malt and Extract
Bean Flour
Manioc flour
Corn Flour
Arrowroot Flour
Buckwheat is not a grain - it is a nut that can be used as a grain. A small amount of gluten is present.
Corn may cause other allergies
Chick Pea Flour
Legume flours - bean/lentil/garbanzo
Avenin in oats is a problem for Celiacs
Graham Flour
Potato flour and starch
Matzo flour or meal
Rice bran and flour
Wheat- all types (germ,bran, germ, glutten, durum, starch,
Tapioca flour
Soy flour
Many pre-packaged foods, be especially wary of soups, deserts, beverages, candy and condiments*
Some gluten free grains have been milled with those using wheat and gluten so cross contamination will occur.
*Hidden sources include malt beverages, hydrolyzed vegetable protein HVP, HPP and soy sauce

Other sources of gluten that may be overlooked

The following foods and bevarages contain gluten or trace amounts off gluten:

  • Ales
  • Beers and other Lagers
  • Breading
  • Brown Rice Syrup
  • Coating mix
  • Communion Wafers (at church)
  • Croutons
  • Candy
  • Luncheon Meats
  • Broth
  • Pasta
  • Prepared Sauces
  • Soups
  • Stuffing
  • Imitation Baking and seafood
  • Soy Sauce
  • Prepared marinades
  • Supplements
  • Prescription medications
  • Cosmetics - lip balms, glosses and lipstick

Dietary Suggestions

Many of the gluten free items will be familiar such as rice and corn - follow these guidelines to create alternatives when baking and cooking. Keeping a quantity of ready mixed flours you have blended yourself in your pantry will make it easier for you to have things on hand when you want to bake. Rmember, if you are cooking for a celiac, cross contamination can be serious for them so try to use separate and clean utensils.

  • For baked goods equal parts of brown rice flour, potato flour and tapioca starch simulate the consistency of flour
  • Cook whole grains in a rice cooekr. Just use the grain to water ration recommended on the instructions
  • When substituting flours, each flour may require thickening agents. use corn flour or tapioca flour.
  • Try quar gum, xanthum gum or a little extra gluten free baking powder to your flour mixes for better baking results.
  • Add an extra egg to pancakes to improve texture if necessary


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • purifylife profile image


      4 years ago from Ohio

      Loved it!

    • pjmitch profile image

      Philip Mitchell BSc Hons D.C. 

      5 years ago from Singapore

      This is a great list, thanks for sharing.

    • Lizam1 profile imageAUTHOR


      5 years ago from Scotland

      icmn91 cross contamination can be a very serious problem. Thanks for stopping by.

    • icmn91 profile image


      5 years ago from Australia

      I'm gluten free as well, but unfortunately had a very bad experience at a fully catered university residence (which I hubbed about).

    • Lizam1 profile imageAUTHOR


      6 years ago from Scotland

      renee21 thanks for the comment and stopping by.

    • renee21 profile image


      6 years ago

      I'm also gluten free. This hub is quite helpful.

    • mecheshier profile image


      6 years ago

      Great Hub and info. Love the study of plants and herbs.


      Buckwheat is not related to wheat and is in the Polygonales family. They are not cereals/grasses or nuts, they are related to knotweeds, sorrels and rhubarb.

    • Lizam1 profile imageAUTHOR


      6 years ago from Scotland

      You are welcome teaches 12345. I recently discovered gluten in a couple of things I enjoy. Hey ho. Wish there was easier labelling.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      6 years ago

      I didn't know that buckwheat was a nut. I never noticed if it is posted as an allergen in pancakes. I will have to check on this one. Gluten certainly is present in many food items. Thanks for sharing.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)