ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Organic Oats: A Healthy, Nutritious And Gluten-Free Option

Updated on May 4, 2015
Wheat Field
Wheat Field
Oats growing
Oats growing
Oatmeal Cookies
Oatmeal Cookies

Oatmeal in the morning has always been a winter morning past time for some families. It was considered nutritious – a healthy energy providing food. Cooked oats, even the instant kinds made you feel full and warm inside. Oats were also added to chocolate chip cookies or mixed with raisins. Both options were tasty.

Yet, in the past few years, as many people have decided to go gluten-free, oats have been abandoned by the wayside. Medical professionals told their celiac patients and those with gluten intolerance not to eat oats. They said that oat products contained gluten. Well, it turns out they were wrong.

The Problem with Oats

Oats have been lumped together with the notorious sources of gluten. The Famous Four are:

  • Barley

  • Rye

  • Triticale

  • Wheat

All are known to contain gluten, two proteins: gliadin and gluten, which give dough the elasticity it needs to produce bread. It is gluten that is the culprit in causing serious to severe reactions in those susceptible. It is also these same proteins that have made their way into oat products, including rolled oats and baked goods, branding oats as containing gluten.

What Is at Fault?

What research has recently discovered is that oats do not contain gluten in their natural form. They are gluten free until they are processed. At this point, one of two things can happen to contaminate the oats with gluten:

  1. The equipment is the same used to mix various gluten containing products such as wheat and barley

  2. Gluten containing products are added as part of the process

In either instance, oats going in gluten-free, emerge containing gluten.

The Solution

There is only one solution for the consumer who wants to avoid gluten and still eat oats. It is essential you only purchase oats and oat products produced in facilities that do not handle any gluten products. Alternatively, you buy oat products from facilities where, at the bare minimum, the equipment used to process and package oats is restricted solely for that purpose.

If you still want your oats and eat them gluten free, you need to do your research. You need to look at:

  • Where they are grown

  • Whether they are organic

  • If they are produced in gluten-free facilities

By shopping shop sensibly, carefully reading the labels on the packages and finding good companies with solid online reviews, you can once more make hot oat cereals and oatmeal cookies part of your everyday gluten-free routine.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)