ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Outback Steakhouse Review

Updated on December 15, 2011

Is Outback Authentic?

Turd Bread

Other Opinions on Outback

Another Great Insightful Review to Consider about Outback Steakhouse

Salty food, uninspiring presentation

I think I've reached the point where I dread eating at chain restaurants. Compared to well run, local restaurants run by real chef, for just few dollars more you can get such a better, fresher meal by choosing an independent restaurant over a chain.

We recently were traveling in the Manchester, NH area and needed to get some food before an hour long car ride home. First we tried Bugaboo Creek which was strangely closed on a Saturday night. Maybe they were remodeling or maybe they went out of business. Next we tried Carrabas but they had a seventy minute wait and it was almost 7 pm. So finally we spied an Outback and got in after about a 15 minute wait.

The interior was nice, we checked out the wall with their display of "17 original spices" and noted that three of them were various salts. This probably should have been a warning. Sitting down we noticed a greasy spot on the table where a hasty table wipe missed. The waitress was friendly and nice and took care of it.

I hadn't been in an Outback for a long time and the tables are now regular height but for some reason they still make the poor waitresses get down low to take your order. I can understand the reason for putting the waitress on the same level as the customer but it seems cruel to make people who are on their feet all shift get into such an uncomfortable position.

Anyway, a couple of us ordered the margarita trio for a drink mainly because we had just spent the day with 500 screaming kids at a robotics competition. This was three 4oz margaritas served in this special stand. One was raspberry which was great, one was regular which was fine but the third one was mango or something and all of the syrup was sitting on the bottom. I stirred up mine with a fork (no straws given) and wish I hadn't because it was so sweet.

My next mistake was ordering the "Norweigen Salmon". I suppose I knew it would be frozen fish but I wasn't prepared for it to be dried out and incredibly salty. I can imagine someone with high blood pressure needing an ambulance after a dose of salt like this.

Outback Steakhouse Atlantic Salmon: 517 milligrams of sodium, or 22% of the recommended daily intake.


Overall I thought the plates served at our table seemed very dully presented. My son ordered a pasta dish and it just seemed like pasta plopped on a plate. For $10.95 it didn't seem like a very good values since the ingredients probably cost $2.

My brother got the ribs which looked dried out but he didn't complain. I had a bit of my wife's steak and it didn't seem to be a very good cut of beef. Over all very lackluster. I kind of felt bad for the family near us who were celebrating a birthday. They had three kids so maybe they felt this was the highest level of dining they could risk with the kids but the Outback just doesn't seem special enough or worth of a birthday.

What are your experiences with Outback?

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • peanutroaster profile imageAUTHOR

      peanutroaster 

      6 years ago from New England

      Prime Rib 12 oz. (entree only) [1 entree] (799.4 cal/67.3g fat/.2g fiber/1.7g carbs/42.9g protein/935.7mg sodium/27.9g saturated fat)

    • alocsin profile image

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Very much like their prime rib. I think it's well-priced and tastes great. Voting this Up and Interesting.

    • mljdgulley354 profile image

      mljdgulley354 

      6 years ago

      peanutroaster, I don't know about PF Chang or The Cheese Factory, but we have a Red Robin and a Texas Roadhouse. The are not as bad as Outback, but whereever you go to eat the food and service depends on the hired cooks and servers. In the food business you don't find hired help that will actually put their best forward. They don't seem to realize their best makes for their paycheck

    • peanutroaster profile imageAUTHOR

      peanutroaster 

      6 years ago from New England

      Chains I look forward to going to and have had good meals at are PF Chang, The Cheesecake Factory, Red Robin and Texas Roadhouse.

      None of which are in our local area but fortunate we have a lot of chef owned local restaurants.

    • profile image

      CR Woronchuk 

      6 years ago

      For the most part I find chains to be a huge disappointment. Small locally owned restaurants are better and actually less expensive. I live in NE PA and I am very lucky to be in an area that has more great independent restaurants than chains. Support your local restaurants!

    • peanutroaster profile imageAUTHOR

      peanutroaster 

      6 years ago from New England

      Doesn't 17 spices sound like someone didn't know what they were doing? My 12 year old wouldn't know when to stop adding things to a recipe either.

    • mljdgulley354 profile image

      mljdgulley354 

      6 years ago

      I am not a fan of Outback. I was thrilled the first trip but for the money I didn't feel we had good service, I experienced food overcooked, orders mixed up and the wait staff not very friendly. This was not good when I was trying to impress someone who doesn't care to go to restaurants anyway

    • Marlena Oechsner profile image

      Marlena Oechsner 

      6 years ago from Wisconsin

      On my first trip to Outback, I was thoroughly impressed. But on a second visit, it was a mess. Orders were confused, forgotten, and some not cooked to order. I haven't been back. The place I truly enjoy (though save for special occasions) is Red Lobster. Always amazing food and service. I have never had a bad drink or a bad time. Thanks for the hub...makes me feel like I'm not the only one who noticed Outback's decline.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)