ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Product Review: Hood Low Carb Low Calorie Chocolate Milk

Updated on August 18, 2010

As I write this, I'm enjoying a cold mug of chocolate milk. Did I mention that I'm on a low carb diet? What's that - you're wondering how I can drink chocolate milk while low carb dieting? Simple! It's Hood Calorie Countdown Dairy Beverage, and it's a delicious, healthy low carb food!

I've always had a thing for chocolate milk. When I was a kid, Mom would always let us choose whatever we wanted for our birthday dinner, and I always chose the same meal every year: fried chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, homemade biscuits, and chocolate milk. I figured I'd outgrow my affinity for the sweet chocolatey beverage, but I haven't. Luckily, I discovered Hood chocolate milk!

If you've ever tried a low carb diet, you know how it is. You get to the point where you want something sweet so bad that you dream about it. And it's even harder for us women because so many of us have a physical and emotional need for chocolate. For these reasons, I'm always on the lookout for sugar free products that satisfy my cravings. With this beverage, we can get our chocolate fix without wrecking our healthy low carb diet plan!

Look at what Hood offers in an eight-ounce serving:

carbs.....5 grams

calories..90

fat..........5 grams

sugars...3 grams

calcium..30%

In addition, a serving even provides a gram of fiber!

Now, compare regular chocolate milk to Hood:

carbs......31 grams

calories...230

fat...........8 grams

sugars....29 grams

calcium...30%

Now you can see why Hood chocolate milk is such a better choice for those on low carb diets or for people just wanting to reduce the amount of fat and sugar in their diet.

Hood chocolate milk is rich and creamy, and it's has a great chocolate flavor. It satisfies my craving for sweets and my addiction to chocolate. I usually drink it ice cold, but it's also great hot. I just pour a cup and pop it into the microwave for a minute on those cold mornings for a hot chocolate cocoa drink. I often drink it instead of coffee!

On the carton is always a tasty recipe using the milk, and by visiting the website, you can get more great low carb chocolate recipes.

And don't worry about aspartame - Hood milk is sweetened with Splenda.

Another great thing about this product is the long refrigerator shelf life. It lasts MUCH longer than regular milk in the fridge! In fact, it keeps for over a month.

Sometimes Hood chocolate milk is hard to find in grocery stores, but I can always find it in Walmart, in the dairy case.

Hood also makes a regular low carb milk, but I haven't tried it yet. I'm too hooked on the chocolate!

Give this milk a try - as a frosty beverage or as hot chocolate cocoa! It's a great option for healthy low carb dieting!

This low carb chocolate milk is awesome!
This low carb chocolate milk is awesome!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      MM 5 years ago

      This milk tastes sooooo good! I usually don't like foods sweetened with splenda but this is by far the best dessert w/ splenda. Yum! I'm only on my 6th day of low-carb dieting.

    • profile image

      Jim Ousley 5 years ago

      After being diagnosed with diabetes 6 years ago, I started a search for ways to enjoy some of the things I was used to eating or drinking. Orange juice (or any other natural fruit juice) was just as good cut in half using cold water to reduce the sugar count. Hood's milk, then referred to as Low Carb, was a great alternative because of the sugar count. Plain for cereal, Chocolate for fun (and to satisfy the chocolate craving). Sometimes mixed. I used some on cereal today that has a date of Oct 24. Yes, Oct!! No foul smell, no lumps, etc. Just stored in the frige. It doesn't stay out long and stays capped unless being served. BUT, I may not chance it tomorrow!! Regards, Jim

      PS Around Christmas they offer an egg nog version but I've only found it once (at WalMart).

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 6 years ago from Georgia

      Joyce, I'd be lost without my Hood chocolate milk!

    • profile image

      joyce owens 6 years ago

      Love the chocoloate milk milk. I am diabetic, this milk does not increase blood sugar and taste great.

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Hi, Freddie! Try Wal-mart!

    • profile image

      Freddybear 7 years ago

      I loved this milk, I was on the low carb diet for 10 years. I loss 50 lbs. & kept in off all that time, but over the last couple of years in where I live Alabama Kroger & everyone else quit saleing low cab Foods & Milk?

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Cynthia, I've wondered the same thing! The only place I can find the Hood low-carb milk is at Walmart, and half the time they're sold out!

    • profile image

      Cynthia 7 years ago

      We knew about Hood carb count down milk and have been

      using the 2% and chocolate for 2 years. However we

      are finding it difficult to get these products all

      the grocery stores in our area of NY state are now

      shifting to Smart Balance which has high sugar and

      carb counts. Walmart, price shoppers, Stop and shop.

      only carry Smart Balance. Shop rite is discontinuing the chocolate but will carry the 2%.

      Why isn't Hood pushing these products for diabetics?

      Cynthia

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Your best bet is probably Walmart, Mary.

    • profile image

      Mary Titus 7 years ago

      Anyone know where one might buy this in Columbus Ohio?

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Oh, Nemi, I hope you guys get it soon!

    • Nemingha profile image

      Nemingha 7 years ago

      I wonder if we shall ever see this product in Australia? I shall be one of the first in line to buy it if we do -- sounds great!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      I figured the warden gave you a pass for good behavior! lol

    • Randy Godwin profile image

      Randy Godwin 7 years ago from Southern Georgia

      Cause you told me I could stay up late tonight. Or was that tomorrow night?

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Randy, why are you still up??

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Hi, Sandy! Good to see you!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      I dunno, MPG. It's not soy based.

    • Randy Godwin profile image

      Randy Godwin 7 years ago from Southern Georgia

      How does it taste with a moon pie? The ultimate test!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Quildon and Sis, PLEASE let me know how you like it!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Here ya go, HH! Can you reach it?

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Jen, check at Walmart!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Then you'll like this milk, Entertainment!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Nope, Ann - Massachusetts!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      But Pam, this is guilt-free chocolate!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks for visiting, Veronica!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Sheila, ya gotta give it a try!

    • habee profile image
      Author

      Holle Abee 7 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, UH! Much appreciated!

    • Sandyspider profile image

      Sandy Mertens 7 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

      I didn't know about low cal. chocolate milk before. Thanks.

    • MPG Narratives profile image

      Marie Giunta 7 years ago from Sydney, Australia

      I love milk but now have to drink soy which is ok, helps my stomach to keep calm. I wonder if low carb choc milk would be ok? I'd love to try it as I really do miss drinking milk. Thanks Habee, great hub as usual.

    • Angela Blair profile image

      Angela Blair 7 years ago from Central Texas

      I'm gonna try it on your say-so, Habee. I don't like milk but will occasionally drink chocolate milk. Thanks for the great info! Best, Sis

    • profile image

      quildon 7 years ago

      Great as always, habee. I am a chocolate lover too, so I think I'll give the Hood a try.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 7 years ago from London, UK

      Great write-up for, I am sure, for a good product. Just hand one over, please.

    • JenDobson27 profile image

      JenDobson27 7 years ago

      Interesting, I really didn't even know they made low carb chocolate milk. I'll have to see if my local grocery store has any.

    • entertianmentplus profile image

      entertianmentplus 7 years ago from United States

      Good hub. I love anything chocolate.

    • Ann Nonymous profile image

      Ann Nonymous 7 years ago from Virginia

      I am not that fond of chocolate milk...maybe because it is one of the only drinks my old, old school offered for sale in the cafeteria..however there are some people I know who will love what you raved about in this hub...If I have heard of hood products before I never noticed....is it a southern company, habee?

      Anyways great hub, habee, as always!

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 7 years ago from United States

      Sounds good. I love anything chocolate unfortunately, Good hub.

    • Veronica Allen profile image

      Veronica Allen 7 years ago from Georgia

      Great review habee.

    • sheila b. profile image

      sheila b. 7 years ago

      Yes, chocolate is my downfall, too. This chocolate milk sounds good enough to try!

    • Ultimate Hubber profile image

      Ultimate Hubber 7 years ago

      You did choose a really USEFUL product to write a review on. Nice helpful stats there in the comparison part and they summarize it all.