ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Food and Cooking»
  • Restaurants & Fast Food

Review: The Mandarin - Chinese Buffet

Updated on January 14, 2013
Source

I think just about everybody loves Chinese Food but my observation is that it has greatly changed in North America over the last several years. By this I mean that I think initially the Chinese community introduced it geared to our Western tastes. Today, In my opinion, gone are the chicken balls, simple chow meins and egg rolls that I remember from the early 50's and 60's . Not that there is anything wrong with those - and they are certainly not gone in the sense that they are not available any longer - but we Westerners have finally woken up enough to enjoy the real taste of authentic Chinese cooking, whether it be Cantonese, Hunan or Szechuan to name a few. My husband and I always had a taste for the bit of spice that Szechuan offeres although I confess that sometimes we would order it "medium - or tamed down a bit" depending on what the dish was. And for the most part we enjoyed going to a restaurant and ordering speciality dishes. However, if one wants a Chinese Buffet then in my humble opinion there is none better than the Mandarin.

A Section of the Buffet at the Mandarin - with Sky Ceiling

Source

In The Beginning

The Mandarin started as a small restaurant in Brampton, Ontario a city between Toronto and my fair city of Hamilton. It was a family run business that quickly became very popular with people constantly lined up to get in and have a good meal. Seven years later they decided to start a bigger restaurant geared to Buffet style in order to be able to accommodate their growing following. Over the years and up to now they continued to grow throughout Ontario to a total of 20 restaurants, one of them being just ten minutes away from me.

The Head Office is maintained in Brampton and this is where new dishes are always created and tried out before making their way into the 19 other locations. Craig and I visited the Brampton location twice throughout our years and enjoyed sampling things that would be "coming to our location soon". While they have grown, their family attitude has not changed. Their mission statement is " Every customer must be welcomed as soon as they arrive. Every customer must be happy and smiling when they leave" Indeed not one person gets past the entrance to the Mandarin without hearing "Hello, welcome to the Mandarin" and no one leaves without being offered a mint, held out by tongs, and from a chrystal bowl - while hearing "thank you, and come again".

Source
Source

To Begin

I always start out with the salad bar. Well, in the winter I'll be tempted to have a soup first of which there are usually four different varieties, Egg Drop, Hot & Sour, Won Ton or a Chicken Noodle. I usually have Won Ton. At the salad bar there is lots to choose from. But I am a creature of habit and so my choices are always the same. Peel & Eat Shrimp with tangy seafood sauce, Bean salad, Crab salad - which I love, pickled beets, baby corns and sometimes oyster on the half shell. As Thai food has also become very very popular in these parts, Mango Salad has since found its way to the salad bar too. Not to mention regular green salad and caesar salad, as well as potato salad, but I can get these at home so I usually pass on these.

At certain times of the year both crab and lobster are featured on their cold buffet and this is always a treat. One of my favourite memories of taking my mom with us is how much she enjoyed the peel and eat shrimp. Each and every time at the Mandarin she would start off with a bowl of these little delicacies, with a separate bowl of sauce for dipping, and she never deviated from this.

One time a few years ago, the three of us watched with amazement as a gentleman on his own went back and forth to the buffet eating nothing but lobster. It was one of their special seasonal events with lobster being the main feature and I really had to wonder if they didn't lose money on this man.

Source
Source

The Hot Buffet

There is so much to choose from on the Hot Buffet that I don't know where to begin. But whether or not your preference is Beef, Pork, Chicken or Seafood - it is all there and in a variety of sauces and spices. If your taste is to spicy then that is designated with a picture of a "hot chilli pepper" on the sign above the dish. From plain steamed rice, to sticky rice, to fried rice - and on into noodles both tame and hot - it is all there. Shrimp is done both sauteed with vegetables or breaded tempura style. The same with chicken - sauteed with many varieties of vegetables or breaded and served with a lemon sauce "Lemon Chicken" which I happen to like. And the spareribs are yummy too - either BBQ or Honey Garlic. Sweet and Sour pork is another favourite of mine. And yes you can still get your chicken balls, chow mein and egg rolls if you so wish. For myself I prefer the lighter crispier spring rolls.

And in later years they have added Chicken Teriyaki to the menu as well as Sushi which I have grown to appreciate as well. And if you want to feel more Western this night then there is always a prime rib of beef available. Lately I have also noticed Yorkshire Puddings and wedge potatoes for goodness sake. Quite often there is a "whole fish" stuffed and done up with a dressing - last time it was Salmon.

Fruit & Sweets

Source

And to top off your meal there is plenty to choose from to suit your pallet from the fruit and sweets table. There's watermelon, grapes, strawberries in season and lichi fruits if that is your taste. Sweets run from Cheesecake, Black Forest cake, Sugar Puffs, Honey Twists, Various Squares and tarts, Creme Caramel, Rice Pudding and just plain jello if you like, and if there's not much room for more. And don't forget the ice cream, of which there are about ten different varieties and all the toppings that go with it.

And where would you be without your Fortune Cookie. I got this from the Mandarin Website and it tickled my fancy, so I am sharing it here!

Confucius say: "Big head target for enemy, big heart target for friend"

Please Feel Free to Rate This Review

5 out of 5 stars from 2 ratings of Mandarin Buffet Restaurant

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • craiglyn profile image
      Author

      Lynda 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Thanks once again Gail for reading and commenting on one of my hubs. Hub Hugs back at you. Lynda

    • Happyboomernurse profile image

      Gail Sobotkin 5 years ago from South Carolina

      Enjoyed this beautiful review and I especially liked the mission statement that the Mandarin Chinese Buffet has: " Every customer must be welcomed as soon as they arrive. Every customer must be happy and smiling when they leave."

      I do love a good Chinese Buffet and this certainly sounds like it's a great one.

      Good luck in the Rigorous Review Contest.

      Voted up and given 5 stars.

      Hub Hugs,

      Gail

    • craiglyn profile image
      Author

      Lynda 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Thanks Paula for your comments - and yes there is a Mandarin in Niagara Falls, Ontario : )

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 5 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      We do enjoy Oriental food now and then. It's important to know the which are good.....poor and/or superb. I find when it comes to this kind of food, there's a vast difference in how well and fresh the foods are prepared. There are a couple of really excellent Chinese restaurants in our area. The one that seems to have the best reputations is "P.f Changs." ( I hope I got that name correct) I can't say that we have a Mandarin nearby. But if they are in Canada, that's just a drive over the bridge. Perhaps on our next trip to Canada......Thanks, lyn. I appreciate recommendations!..........UP++

    • craiglyn profile image
      Author

      Lynda 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Thank you Mhatter. I'm pretty sure this Mandarin is only in Canada and only in Ontario at that. I did notice when I was Googling that there are restaurants by the same name in the States - but they are not connected. : )

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 5 years ago from San Francisco

      Great review. Thank you. We have a Mandarin Bouffet. I wonder if they are the same company.

    • craiglyn profile image
      Author

      Lynda 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Thank you for commenting Susan and also for rating this review. : )

    • Just Ask Susan profile image

      Susan Zutautas 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      When I worked just off of Steeles I would eat occasionally at the Mandarin in Brampton. Now that I live just north of Barrie I like to go to the Mandarin in Barrie. Great restaurant and so very popular.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)