ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Food and Cooking»
  • Restaurants & Fast Food

Review of mrs. SmokeyS Real Pit Bar-B-Q in West Palm Beach, Florida

Updated on January 9, 2013
Mrs. SmokeyS BBQ tastes as good as it looks!
Mrs. SmokeyS BBQ tastes as good as it looks!

One of our favorite food flavors is a sweet savory barbecue sauce rich with spices and an aroma that makes you kick up your heels. On our last date night outing, my hubby and I found a great little get away tucked away on the corner of a busy intersection in the quaint town of Lake Park, Florida. Our entire dining experience here was exciting from beginning to end.

The smallness of the restaurant only adds to the matchless ambiance of the bistro and the western decor speaks to the cowboy spirit within. The rich red wall color and the rustic furniture highlight the barbecue theme, and there is even a working wash barrel for washing saucy hands afterwards.

The service is outstanding. After we placed our order at the counter, we were served our meals within minutes. And the meal was hot, fresh and of quality! The service was excellent and we were served by the owner, Elisa Caplan, herself who wanted to ensure we had a great visit to the eatery. Elisa shared how the sauce is a well kept secret but that she uses only fresh ingredients in her home made product. The meat is also prepared with care and smoked for added flavor.

What we found especially delightful were the fried biscuits served with every meal. I just can't express how much the light, fluffy, browned biscuits met all our expectations of home made bread. We were told customers ask for extras on these and come from miles around to enjoy them with a meal or as an individual portion.

Meet The Owners

Husband and wife team, Scott and Elisa Caplan, enjoy greeting and meeting their customers.
Husband and wife team, Scott and Elisa Caplan, enjoy greeting and meeting their customers.

Sharing A Little History On mrs. Smokeys

Elisa Caplan's origins are from New York where she operated a barbecue restaurant in 1979. Her creative talents motivated her inspiration in opening a unique barbecue eatery popular with those who favored western cuisine. After several years, she relocated to Florida where she opened a restaurant in Broward county. Being a person of optimism and foresight, she decided to close this location in 2005 to pursue other avenues in business. The current West Palm Beach eatery was opened in late 2011 and is a popular stop with many local patrons.

Elisa's husband, Scott, also helps prepare the wonderful slow-cooked barbecue meats, sauces, home made pies, lemonade and side dishes. Scott's talents as a former executive chef at a famous Palm Beach restaurant shows in the presentation and quality of the food served.

What Makes mrs. SmokeyS Unique

Click thumbnail to view full-size
People come from miles around to enjoy the home-made fried bisquits.  You can't just eat one! The drinks are super-sized and always taste fresh.  All meals are served on tin trays, just like the cowboys enjoy on the range. Voted "Best Chili" by North Palm Beach's Hot Cars & Chili event and contest in January, 2012.  It was the Judge's Choice award -- very impressive! Don't forget to take home a bottle of the homemade sauce!  Choose from mild, medium, or extra hot.
People come from miles around to enjoy the home-made fried bisquits.  You can't just eat one!
People come from miles around to enjoy the home-made fried bisquits. You can't just eat one!
The drinks are super-sized and always taste fresh.
The drinks are super-sized and always taste fresh.
All meals are served on tin trays, just like the cowboys enjoy on the range.
All meals are served on tin trays, just like the cowboys enjoy on the range.
Voted "Best Chili" by North Palm Beach's Hot Cars & Chili event and contest in January, 2012.  It was the Judge's Choice award -- very impressive!
Voted "Best Chili" by North Palm Beach's Hot Cars & Chili event and contest in January, 2012. It was the Judge's Choice award -- very impressive!
Don't forget to take home a bottle of the homemade sauce!  Choose from mild, medium, or extra hot.
Don't forget to take home a bottle of the homemade sauce! Choose from mild, medium, or extra hot.

Additional Highlights

As mentioned previously, the decor is western in design and quite unique. We enjoyed browsing the mounted artifacts, especially those of gunslinger and sheriff, Bat Masterson. The small pearl-handled pistol and deck of cards were encased in a glass box on display in the dining area. Seeing this famous lawman's personal belongings and reading articles about his background was quite interesting. Bat was known to be a man of steady nerve and coolness when facing danger and confronting outlaws. He also made a living as a gambler, but that is a only a shadow to his admirable traits as a lawman. When you go, make sure you catch this display before leaving the restaurant.

The eatery also offers curbside or drive through service for those who desire the convenience of ordering hot food on-the-run. There is also an outdoor picnic table area if one enjoys the florida sunshine and fresh air dining environment. While we were there we saw several take-out orders proving the food is highly popular with the after work crowd.

Lastly, the restaurant caters a full menu and can be customized for events, even on-site if needed. Planning ahead is suggested for better service and availability. You can contact mrs. Smokeys by phone or through their website at www.mrssmokeys.com.

The Restaurant Decor Is Unique

Click thumbnail to view full-size
The BBQ specials are listed daily for customers. The barrel tub actually works and comes in handy for washing up afterwards. The restaurnt is cozy and invites one to sit back and enjoy the best darn bar-b-que in town!Customers help themselves to eating utensils and favorite condiments. Don't forget the special home made mrs. SmokeyS bar-b-que sauce!The western decor adds to the enjoyment of the meal and it feels like you are out on the range.Browse the resturant to view the relics and memorabilia of long ago.  Read Bat Masterson's background and view his playing cards on display.
The BBQ specials are listed daily for customers. The barrel tub actually works and comes in handy for washing up afterwards.
The BBQ specials are listed daily for customers. The barrel tub actually works and comes in handy for washing up afterwards.
The restaurnt is cozy and invites one to sit back and enjoy the best darn bar-b-que in town!
The restaurnt is cozy and invites one to sit back and enjoy the best darn bar-b-que in town!
Customers help themselves to eating utensils and favorite condiments. Don't forget the special home made mrs. SmokeyS bar-b-que sauce!
Customers help themselves to eating utensils and favorite condiments. Don't forget the special home made mrs. SmokeyS bar-b-que sauce!
The western decor adds to the enjoyment of the meal and it feels like you are out on the range.
The western decor adds to the enjoyment of the meal and it feels like you are out on the range.
Browse the resturant to view the relics and memorabilia of long ago.  Read Bat Masterson's background and view his playing cards on display.
Browse the resturant to view the relics and memorabilia of long ago. Read Bat Masterson's background and view his playing cards on display.

Barbecue Trivia

Some people say that the origins of barbecue come from the Caribbean islands where meats were cooked over an open fire or in earthen pits. Others claim its introduction originates with the French who coined the phrase barbe a queue meaning from head to tail.

Regardless of its origin, barbecue is a slow cooked process over a direct high heat source or open flame. The variety of wood used to enhance the flavor ranges from oak, hickory, pecan, apple, and mesquite. The equipment used at home varies from hibachis, gas grills, and electric or charcoal smokers. I have to say that some of the best barbecue I have tasted was cooked in a pit dug into the ground, covered with wood and leaves, and left to smoke for almost a full day.

The cuts of meat used are larger sizes of pork, ribs, briskets and beef. The smoking method produces a moist and tender meat which falls apart upon serving. Adding a rub only increase the succulent juices and inimitable essence of the barbecue sauce used.

Today the southern and western states predominantly serve barbecue, but its popularity is known and appreciated in most of the United States.

Cast Your Vote

What is your favorite way to enjoy bar-b-que?

See results

Location of mrs. SmokeyS

A markermrs. SmokeyS Real Pit Bar-B-Q Restaurant -
1460 10th Street, Lake Park, FL 33403, USA
get directions

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 3 years ago

      Hello Crafty! It is the biscuits that keep people coming back, along with the special bar-b-que. Glad you enjoyed the post and go have some ribs soon. Take care.

    • CraftytotheCore profile image

      CraftytotheCore 3 years ago

      This Hub is making me hungry! I love the photos and the presentation of it. I just love the homemade fried biscuits! Never heard of those, but they do look delicious!

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Hi lovedoctor! This would be the perfect end to the Water Park visit. Hope all is well with you today.

    • profile image

      lovedoctor926 4 years ago

      Hi teaches12345, I remember reading this hub several months ago. This sounds like my type of restaurant& would love to stop there perhaps for lunch if I'm ever in the west palm beach area, probably next time I go to Rapids Water Park. Voted up awesome!

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Beingwell, theses biscuits can be dusted with powdered sugar and cinnamon for a pastry-type treat. I love the biscuits as it and find them so addictive! Enjoy your day and a muffin!

    • beingwell profile image

      beingwell 4 years ago from Bangkok

      Great review. I just had a craving for a muffin because of those buns photos. Or are those biscuits, you say? I so want a muffin right now. :) Sharing your hub!

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Vinaya, how fortunate you are to have a brother in the business. If I were you, I would make regular weekly visits just to enjoy a barbecue sandwich. Good to have you here today, friend.

    • Vinaya Ghimire profile image

      Vinaya Ghimire 4 years ago from Nepal

      My brother owns a restaurant in Kathmandu. It serves barbecue. Thanks for this great review.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Definitely make a stop, Alocsin. You will be glad you did. Good to see you here and always a welcome visit.

    • alocsin profile image

      alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Love BBQ, so I'll have to make a stop at SmokeyS when I'm in West Palm Beach. Voting this Up and Interesting.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Jools, it's close enough to lunch so I would say go ahead. :). It's hard to resist a good barbecue. Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy your day!

    • Jools99 profile image

      Jools99 4 years ago from North-East UK

      Dianna, this hub made my tummy rumble. I swear, my mouth is still watering and it's only 10:35 in the morning - I could never eat BBQ for breakfast....could I :o)

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Ignugent, I hope you visit someday and please let me know when you do so we can tour together. Thanks for the support of this post.

    • profile image

      ignugent17 4 years ago

      A good place to eat thanks for sharing this information. I do hope I can visit Florida and be able to eat and see the beautiful places.

      Very useful. :-)

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Trushun, thank you for visiting. Cook some for me!

      Eddy, I appreciate your support on this hub. Blessings.

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 4 years ago from Wales

      A brilliant hub Dianna which I vote up,across and share all around.

      Have a wonderful day my friend.

      Eddy.

    • profile image

      trushan 4 years ago

      get redy to cooking

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      I find it interesting that BBQ is a daily enjoyment of South Africa. I think I could live with that! Thanks for your comment and visit here today, Martie. Enjoy your day and stay safe.

    • MartieCoetser profile image

      Martie Coetser 4 years ago from South Africa

      Excellent review, teaches. I wish Mrs SmokeyS bar was just around the corner. BQ-meals are the most popular down here - for some every day and for most at least once a week. Delicious! Not to talk about bread and everything about it...

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Peggy, would love to share some BBQ with you when you come. I'm an old cowgirl at heart and reading about legends such as Bat is exciting. Take care.

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 4 years ago from Houston, Texas

      While this would certainly be a bit of a drive to dine there from Houston, Texas...I will certainly keep it in mind if we ever travel back to Florida...and specifically West Palm Beach. Bat Masterson...now that is a name and legend that I have not thought of in a while! Interesting and useful hub.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Midget, sorry I made you hungry -- but then I am too! Enjoyed your visit and enjoy your day!

    • midget38 profile image

      Michelle Liew 4 years ago from Singapore

      Ooh, I do enjoy a good smoked barbecue and wish I could be there at this restaurant! Thanks for the review,and I'm hungry! Sharing it if I can't eat it!

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      You have caught what I love about restaurants -- a laid back atmosphere. This ones is all that and more. Good to see you here today, Christy. Go have a plate of ribs on me!

    • ChristyWrites profile image

      Christy Birmingham 4 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      Mmmm ribs :) I want a plate! Cool that you even got a photo of the owners. I like the laid-back atmosphere. Good review and vote up.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Love, it is surprising to discover West Palm has lovely beaches. Many tend to enjoy Miami or Daytona over this area. Glad you stopped in here today and thanks for the vote of support. Enjoy a barbecue soon.

    • profile image

      lovedoctor926 4 years ago

      Hi teaches, I love ribs and barbeque as well. This restaurant looks great! I've been to West Palm Beach before. It's actually one of my favorite beaches in Florida. voting up!

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Mike, since I wrote this article, I have been craving bar-b-que. I may have to head on out there this week! Thanks for the positive feedback and visit. Stay safe and strong, friend.

    • Mike Robbers profile image

      Mike Robbers 4 years ago from London

      Wow, you made my stomach churn just by describing your eating experience.. This place looks brilliant. Wish I could pop in and have some local faire..

      thanks for sharing this excellent review Dianna, voted and shared!

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Denise, thank you. I enjoy barbecue so much thought I would share this with others.

      Rustic, glad to hear someone else is as excited about barbecue as I am. Appreciate your visit. Take care.

    • Rusticliving profile image

      Elizabeth Rayen 4 years ago from California

      Oh My Gosh Dianna!.. How I wish I lived in Florida!!! I absolutely love BBQ meat that is done well. My mouth is watering just reading your hub. Love the review. Thumbs up and shared!!!♥--Lisa

    • Denise Handlon profile image

      Denise Handlon 4 years ago from North Carolina

      Dianna, this place sounds delicious. I'd love to give it a try! You did a great job reviewing it. :) Up/and delicious!

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Thanks for stopping by, Christine. Enjoy your day and be safe out there.

    • Christine Wade profile image

      Christine Wade 4 years ago from UK

      How lovely! Thanks.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Christine, if you ever do visit Florida please let me know and I will treat you! Enjoyed your visit and take care of yourself out there.

    • Christine Wade profile image

      Christine Wade 4 years ago from UK

      It sounds delicious and I enjoyed reading your Hub. Hope to visit Florida one day.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Wow, how horrible, Mhatter! I would be heading towards Oakland at least once a week for a bar-b-q fix. Perhaps this is your chance to perfect your own recipe for enjoyment? Anyways, thanks for your thoughts and visit here today. Enjoy your week, dear friend.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 4 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for this. Sadly as SF's better BBQ joints are closing down, no one is replacing them. Thank goodness for Oakland.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Dr BJ, the thing about bar-b-que is that it's so addictive! Enjoy your visit there and be sure to try a fried biscuit with your meal. I hope your week is a good one.

      Alicia, we were treated so well when we dined here and the food was excellent. Thanks for your visit here today. You be safe and enjoy your week.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 4 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This sounds like a great restaurant, Dianna. The food looks delicious and the atmosphere and service sound great. I may not be able to visit this restaurant in person but I certainly enjoyed reading about it!

    • drbj profile image

      drbj and sherry 4 years ago from south Florida

      I love barbecue, Dianna, so you know I will find a way to check this restaurant out ... personally. Thanks for this enticing, mouth-watering review.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Janine, thanks for your visit. It's a great place that offers real bar-b-que quality! Hope your day is going well.

      Seeker, this family owned eatery makes you feel at home the minute you walk in the door. Love the biscuits-- have to limit myself to one (Ok - two!). Thanks for your support. Have a great day.

      Will, being the cowboy you are at heart -- I knew you would love this hub post. Thanks for coming by and have a great day.

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 4 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      I love barbecue!

      Great Hub.

    • Seeker7 profile image

      Helen Murphy Howell 4 years ago from Fife, Scotland

      What a beautiful place to eat out!! I have to say that I love small, family run restaurants the best. I think you always feel that you get the personal touch and being small, I think the atmosphere is also much more welcoming.

      Your meal sounds delicious and as do those little biscuits!! It's great to hear that there are places, where the owners still meet their customers and take pride in ensuring not only top quality food, but a top quality experience.

      Very interesting hub + voted up + shared!!

    • Janine Huldie profile image

      Janine Huldie 4 years ago from New York, New York

      Awesome review and sounds like a lace we would love to try!! Thanks for sharing Dianna and have voted up and tweeted, too!!

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Doctor, much obliged to you for your visit. It's a great place to hace some excellent bar-b-q.

    • teaches12345 profile image
      Author

      Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

      Bill, you amaze me at how quickly you show up on a post. Always a pleasure! If you ever head over this way, I will definitely take you and Bev there for a real treat. Having a wonderful weekend here and hope you are enjoying the same blessing.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      What a great review, and I do love ribs....unfortunately, this place is about 3,500 miles east of me.....we need to do something about that. :)

      I hope you are having a great weekend, Dianna!