ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Food and Cooking»
  • Dessert Recipes

Review of Poet Sylvia Plath's Tomato Soup Cake Recipe

Updated on September 10, 2016

Tomato Soup Cake

All that was left of my tomato soup cake. There was a reason that Sylvia Plath loved this cake.
All that was left of my tomato soup cake. There was a reason that Sylvia Plath loved this cake. | Source

Tomato Soup Cake?

Recently, I received an invitation to go to an end-of-the-semester meeting and luncheon in the English Department where I teach part-time. The lunch had a literary theme, as the potluck item brought was supposed to be a famous dish from some work or author. Not sure what to take to this literary-themed potluck, I googled some of my favorite works and authors. One of them happened to be Sylvia Plath, the tortured poet who ended her life by turning on a gas oven and sticking her head in it. Sad and fascinating, huh?

Since graduate school, I have been intrigued by Sylvia Plath's work with its dark richness. Her anger at her father for dying when she was just a child was evident in "Daddy," as were her suicidal tendencies that she fought all her life were evident in much of her work. "Lady Lazarus" is, as the title implies, all about dying and coming back to life, as Plath references her attempts to take her own life every ten years. But when did she finally succeed?

After she was married, Plath turned to cooking in an effort to avoid her depression. Her favorite book was reportedly The Joy of Cooking. She often baked and made dinners for friends. Still, her baking could not save her, as her marriage fell apart. Separated from her husband, with two young children at home, Plath could not continue on and was finally successful in her many attempts at suicide. Ironically, this thirty-year-old poet ended her life by using the baking medium she loved--the oven.

 . . . ready to mix in the tomato soup!
. . . ready to mix in the tomato soup! | Source

I dare you to try it and love it!

4.4 stars from 13 ratings of Tomato Soup Cake

Plath's Specialty: Tomato Soup Cake

It is said that Sylvia Plath made tomato soup cake over and over again. It was her signature dish. When I first looked at this recipe, I was fascinated by the title. Tomato soup in a cake? It sounded kind of yucky. Still, I thought taking a tomato soup cake by a disturbed poetess would be an appropriate item to take to an English Department's potluck.

I must admit that I felt very literary when making this cake, and, by the time I was putting on the finishing touches of frosting, I felt that I was paying homage to the great tortured and talented Sylvia Plath. Read more here about Sylvia Plath and the recipe that inspired me to try this experiment.


Cook Time

Prep time: 10 min
Cook time: 23 min
Ready in: 33 min
Yields: 12 average size pieces of cake
I'll admit that the addition of the condensed tomato soup didn't look very appetizing to me.
I'll admit that the addition of the condensed tomato soup didn't look very appetizing to me. | Source

Ingredients for Tomato Soup Cake

  • 2 cups flour, or 250 grams
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened, or 120 g
  • 1 cup sugar, 200 g
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 11 oz. can tomato soup, condensed
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional
  • 1 cup raisins, optional?
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract, optional?
Mixture divided into two round baking pans
Mixture divided into two round baking pans | Source

Mix in the Tomato Soup and Other Ingredients

I must say that when I added in the tomato soup, I felt it looked kind of gross. I hurriedly mixed in the soup before tasting the batter. Surprisingly, the batter tasted great, and I had to try it again! It was salty and sweet at the same time. Quite an interesting flavor!

The recipe didn't call for vanilla extract, but I think I'll add that next time. The recipe did call for raisins, while some versions call for prunes and some kind of nut, such as walnuts or almonds. I don't like raisins or nuts in cake, so I opted not to include them.


Instructions for Tomato Soup Cake

  1. Set oven to preheat at 375 degrees. Oil and flour two round baking pans. I did the old-fashioned way with oil and flour instead of a spray, as the old way is sure to keep the cake from sticking.
  2. Stir flour, baking powder, soda, and spices together. Set aside.
  3. Cream together sugar and butter until fluffy. Beat in eggs. This is where I would also add vanilla extract, if I so choose to do next time. I think I will.
  4. To the sugar/butter mixture, add in the flour and soup by thirds, alternating.
  5. Mix well. Add raisins and nuts, if you wish. I didn't.
  6. Divide batter into the two baking pans. The original recipe says to bake for 35 minutes, but test after 20. Insert a toothpick in. When it comes out clean, the cakes are ready. Mine were ready in only 23 minutes.
  7. Let cool for about five minutes. Take knife and insert around edge of cake, moving all the way around to ensure that cake doesn't stick. Carefully turn pans over and plop out cakes onto racks to cool.
  8. When cakes are completely cool, spread with cream cheese frosting.
Tomato soup cake fresh out of the oven
Tomato soup cake fresh out of the oven | Source
Let's frost that cake!
Let's frost that cake! | Source
Looking good!
Looking good! | Source

Cream Cheese Frosting for Tomato Soup Cake

The frosting for this cake looks to be similar to the type of homemade frosting my mom made while I was growing up. I cheated on this first endeavor, as I was busy at the end of the semester and didn't have a lot of time for cake-baking after grading a mountain of papers. I bought the ready-made cream cheese frosting this time.

Here is the creamy looking frosting recipe that I will try the next time I make this delightful dessert.

16 oz cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 tsp vanilla

1 pinch salt

5 cups confectioner's (powdered) sugar

The cream cheese and butter should be at room temperature; sometimes I soften them for a few seconds in the microwave when necessary. Mix together these two ingredients into a creamy mixture. Mix in vanilla and salt. Add in sugar a little at a time. Beat until smooth.

Nutrition Facts
Serving size: 120 g
Calories 391
Calories from Fat153
% Daily Value *
Fat 17 g26%
Saturated fat 7 g35%
Carbohydrates 60 g20%
Sugar 39 g
Fiber 1 g4%
Protein 4 g8%
Cholesterol 48 mg16%
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

The Results? Review of Sylvia Plath's Tomato Soup Cake

So, how did this recipe go over with my English Department cohorts? Well, let's just say that I had to sneak out a piece to take home for myself. A few brave souls, after looking at the notecard labeled "Sylvia Plath's Tomato Soup Cake Recipe," went ahead to try a sliver. Word got around, the room abuzz with this strange but savory cake, with some coming back for more or for pieces to take with them.

Some said the cake reminded them of carrot cake. That's the closest thing we could come up with, but I actually like it better. I've never been a big fan of carrot cake except for the cream cheese frosting. Plath's cake has a firmer texture and a flavor that is more savory and less sweet. I describe the flavor as "darker," even, an odd word to describe flavor but perhaps appropriate for a baker who wrote dark poetry.

I think I've found a new signature potluck dish. Sylvia Plath's Tomato Soup Cake not only offers a unique and tasty dessert, but it sparks interesting discussion about one of my favorite poets. This recipe was fun to make--and share!

Tomato Soup Cake in the style of Sylvia Plath

Cream cheese frosted tomato soup cake. Delicious!
Cream cheese frosted tomato soup cake. Delicious! | Source

In Sylvia Plath's own voice--a chilling reading!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 20 months ago from Arkansas, USA

      chef-de-jour--I love your analogies! Well said!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 20 months ago from Arkansas, USA

      Kimberleyclarke--this cake has the best flavor! Hope you try it! I've been making it for my summer Upward Bound students every summer after we study poetry that includes Sylvia Plath!

    • chef-de-jour profile image

      Andrew Spacey 20 months ago from Near Huddersfield, West Yorkshire,UK

      Victoria, in some ways poetry is the opposite to cake - there is no set recipe for a successful poem, you can't measure out the ingredients - but you can eat poetry and it is nutritious and delicious, as I'm sure this tomato cake is. Sylvia Plath's work endures - the same could be said for this recipe!

    • Kimberleyclarke profile image

      Kimberley Clarke 20 months ago from England

      Just when I thought I'd heard it all. A cake made with soup? Absurd. Delicious. Thank you! This is definitely going on my to do list!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 2 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      poetryman--It's not suicide cake; it's tomato soup cake! Comfort cake! Something a tortured woman made that she enjoyed. It's delish! You should try it!

    • poetryman6969 profile image

      poetryman6969 2 years ago

      Maybe it's just me but suicide cake seems a bit morbid. I know, make it on Halloween and we will call it blood cake!

      Kudos for you on a provocative subject but we won't be making this one.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 2 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Tomato soup gives it an amazing flavor, peachpurple!

    • peachpurple profile image

      peachy 2 years ago from Home Sweet Home

      i never thought of using tomato soup for a cake, awesome

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      That's interesting phdast7. Maybe it was a fad? :-) Sounds kind of fun!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      LCDWRiter--I'm excited that you want to make the cake. Let me know how it turns out if you see this post!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      phdast7 That's neat that your mom made this! So cool. Yes, Plath is/was both of those things. I loved combining literature with cooking. I do really need to do it again!

    • phdast7 profile image

      Theresa Ast 3 years ago from Atlanta, Georgia

      Back in the late seventies all the young wives in our church were making the Coke Cake, including me. It is a mild chocolate with nuts and the interesting tang of coke in the cake and the icing I think. Haven't made it in 20 years. :)

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Dolores, I've seen a lot of those recipes but never tried them. Have you?

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Rebecca--It IS delicious, and I enjoyed incorporating the poet. I think I would like doing more hubs like this one!

    • LCDWriter profile image

      L C David 3 years ago from Florida

      As a fellow English nerd I must make this cake. Thanks for sharing this. Saving it now to buy the ingredients.

    • phdast7 profile image

      Theresa Ast 3 years ago from Atlanta, Georgia

      Great Hub and what a great combination of a literary topic with a terrific recipe. My other used to bake this cake 35 years ago. She also made a traditional carrot cake and a traditional spice cake and we felt this was kind of in the middle with a more intense (darker as you said) flavor. She never added raisins, but occasionally used shopped pecans. The icing was always cream cheese, except on the spice cake - that had a caramel / butterscotchy icing. Great trip down memory lane. :) And Plath is a fascinating and disturbing poet. Enjoyed the hub. :) Theresa

    • Dolores Monet profile image

      Dolores Monet 3 years ago from East Coast, United States

      This was great! When I was young, I was crazy for Plath but I certainly don't remember reading about the tomato soup cake. What I do remember is that back in the 60's and early 70's they were making a lot of cakes with weird ingredients like 7 Up, Coke, and mayonnaise. (voted up, tweeted and awesome)

    • rebeccamealey profile image

      Rebecca Mealey 3 years ago from Northeastern Georgia, USA

      The cake looks delicious, and what a great way to present a recipe by introducing the poet, Sylvia Plath.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Susan Recipes I was skeptical about the recipe until I tried it. It's very tasty!!

    • Susan Recipes profile image

      Susan 3 years ago from India

      Great hub. I have never heard of it before. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Patsybell Did you see the movie where Gwyneth Paltrow played her? I enjoyed that. Yes, baking was a release for her. I'm glad you enjoyed the hub!

    • Patsybell profile image

      Patsy Bell Hobson 3 years ago from zone 6a, SEMO

      This is very interesting. I've read some about her and saw a movie or two about her. But I did not know she baked. Great hub. I learned something new today. Thanks.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 3 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Lisawilliamsj - I'm glad you enjoyed reading about Plath. She fascinates me. I think you will be pleasantly surprised with the cake!

    • Lisawilliamsj profile image

      Lisa Williams 3 years ago

      This is an awesome Hub! I really loved the history on Sylvia Plath, and I cannot wait to make the cake! I love to cook new things, and this is definitely something I have never heard of. Thanks for sharing!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Awesome! I liked your page. Thanks for sharing this hub on it. Hey, and I think it's awesome that you lost to yourself in Chess. LOL

    • rtburroughs2 profile image

      Robert Burroughs 4 years ago

      Robert Burroughs Writer

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Wow, rtburroughs2, that is such a nice compliment! How sweet. I'm touched. What is the name of your Facebook page?

    • rtburroughs2 profile image

      Robert Burroughs 4 years ago

      Victoria, I always like reading your hubs, it is people like you that made me decide to give hub pages another go. I created a professional Facebook page to showcase my own hubs and to share things that interest me. I am going to share this on my page.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      French words are lovely, MagKaye!

    • MagKaye profile image

      MagKaye 4 years ago

      Yes - it is also called zucchini in Italian, and baby marrow in English. Corgette is the French for it!

      You're welcome :-)

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      HI, MagKaye! I had to look up corgette. I'm not familiar with the term, but it appears to be zucchini? I've had zucchini bread, which is really good.

      I really need to make this cake again. It really is savory. Yummers--I love that word! Thanks for reading and commenting!

    • MagKaye profile image

      MagKaye 4 years ago

      I'm going to try this. If it tastes like carrot cake, I'm in.

      I once made a cake with grated corgette in it, which was also delicious! Sounded weird, but really was yummers.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      FlourishAnyway--Good point about the cake being "darker," as its creator was! Good catch! I'm so glad you enjoyed the hub. I really enjoyed writing it. I enjoyed entering Plath's world. Hope you enjoy the recipe!

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 4 years ago from USA

      I love Sylvia Plath's powerful as a poet and find it amusing that she had such a strange recipe to specialize in. Tomato cake. Who knew? Funny that you described it as "darker." Hehe. I have actually tried something similar as a result of reading a child's book about a Russian grandmother's special recipe. Then it had the recipe in the back which we had to try. It was actually pretty good. I'm going to try Sylvia's. Thank you for writing this hub. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      sgiguere--It was very cool! Lots of cool dishes there! Thanks for your comments. I enjoyed making the cake, attending the potluck, and writing this hub, too. It was fun!

    • sgiguere profile image

      Stephanie Giguere 4 years ago from Marlborough MA

      I want to attend a literary themed pot luck! It sounds like a lot of fun, especially if it were with all the cool English Prof's I know... Thanks for the interesting Hub!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Yay, Marlene! I am thrilled to hear how well the recipe went over with your family! I need to make it again. It's so savory! Thanks for coming back to let me know how it went! :-)

    • MarleneB profile image

      Marlene Bertrand 4 years ago from Northern California, USA

      Hello Victoria! I'm returning to let you know I baked the Tomato Soup cake and it turned out great. I baked mine as a sheet cake and it took 30 minutes to bake. I bought the cream cheese frosting to save time. This cake is a hit in my family. It was easy to make, smells great while it's baking, and tastes amazingly wonderful. Thank you for sharing this unique, but awesome recipe.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      MarleneB--I think you'll be pleased. This cake has an interesting, lovely flavor!

    • MarleneB profile image

      Marlene Bertrand 4 years ago from Northern California, USA

      Hi Victoria, I have all the ingredients except the tomato soup, walnuts, and raisins (yes, I'll be adding the raisins). I have my grandchildren this weekend and hope to be able to make it for them. I think they will enjoy it. And, yes, I'll come back and give you an update. This is so different. I've never been more excited to try a dessert recipe.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Marlene--It was so, so tasty. If you make the cake, please come back and let me know! :-)

    • MarleneB profile image

      Marlene Bertrand 4 years ago from Northern California, USA

      I simply must try this recipe even though as you say, it looks kind of yucky while you're making it. The description of your workmates' reactions make it worth trying. Thank you for a wonderful review of a cake I look forward to trying - it's so different!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 4 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Hi, Lady Guinevere! Do you mean the Joy of Cooking? No, Plath didn't write it; it was just her favorite book. Do I need to clarify that in the hub? It was actually written by Irma or Erma something. I looked it up, but I'll check it out to make sure. Thanks for reading! :-)

    • Lady Guinevere profile image

      Debra Allen 4 years ago from West By God

      I didn't know that she wrote that book. I thought it was Julia Child. Learn something new every day! Thanks for the hub. I voted it up and interesting and useful.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Try it, Gypsy! Let me know if you do!

    • Gypsy48 profile image

      Gypsy48 5 years ago

      I am a fan of Sylvia Plath so I must try out this recipe. You never know if you will like something until you try it. Thanks for sharing:)

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      suzette--Yay! I hope YOU are convinced to make the cake. I think that you will be pleasantly surprised!

    • suzettenaples profile image

      Suzette Walker 5 years ago from Taos, NM

      Victoria: I have heard of her cake but I have never made it. This has inspired me to try this "yukky" "gross" cake. I have to agree with you that that was my first reaction to all this also, and the reason I have never made it. But, your article has convinced me I must try this. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe and your story. Your presentation is so good also. I can see why Plath made this - comfort food.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      jennzie and mmsu--I hadn't either until I found this recipe. Hope you like it!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      ignugent--I'd be curious to see if your picky tongue likes this! I thought the taste was delightful!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      jcevans--perfect! Your mom will love that!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Glad you approve, Donnah! It sure went over well for me at our dept pot luck. Thanks for voting and sharing. Hope you try it!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Yes, Tammy, the recipe is quite unique--with a unique flavor, too!

    • mmsu profile image

      mmsu 5 years ago from Pakistan

      Me too,never heard of this before.Thanks for sharing it with us!

    • jennzie profile image

      jennzie 5 years ago from Lower Bucks County, PA

      Great hub! I have never heard of tomato soup cake... I'll have to give it a try.

    • profile image

      ignugent17 5 years ago

      Very interesting a soup in a cake. I would love to taste this. I have to try in a little piece my tongue is a little picky.

      Voted up and more. :-)

    • jcevans2009 profile image

      Judith C Evans 5 years ago from Boise, ID

      When I was a kid, my mom made tomato soup cake after a friend gave her the recipe. I had no idea it was Sylvia Plath's favorite! Will have to bake a cake in honor of Plath and my mom, who will be interested to learn this fact! :)

    • donnah75 profile image

      Donna Hilbrandt 5 years ago from Upstate New York

      This is fantastic! I love the irony of the recipe coming from Sylvia Plath. I am going to take a cue from you and make this on an occasion when we do an English department potluck. Awesome. Voted up, pinned and shared.

    • tammyswallow profile image

      Tammy 5 years ago from North Carolina

      I have never heard of this before, but I guess it would be safe to assume Sylvia Plath was as striking and unique as a cook as she was a writer. Very interesting and unique!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Thanks, Dragonfly! I'll definitely make it again!

    • DragonflyTreasure profile image

      DragonflyTreasure 5 years ago from on the breeze.........

      On my list to try :) Interesting xo

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Thanks, Purple Perl. It was fun making this cake, knowing that a literary figure made it many times all those years ago. Thanks for reading and commenting!

    • Purple Perl profile image

      Purple Perl 5 years ago from Bangalore,India

      What an innovative idea for this cake? Thanks for sharing and congrats on your win.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      RTalloni--I've never heard of tomato ice cream! This cake really is good--like a dark spicy kind of cake. Glad you enjoyed the hub!

    • RTalloni profile image

      RTalloni 5 years ago from the short journey

      Really, you can't beat a cake with a story that sparks interesting conversation.

      I've heard of tomato ice cream so this wasn't too much of a surprise. I'm divided about trying it, but I probably will do so, and I'm laughing at what your co-workers might have thought--was this cake safe? ;)

      Thanks for sharing your research on Path's cake and your experience with it!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Kelley--So glad you love this hub. I loved doing it!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      JSParker--You can have the cake rather than the depression--LOL. Thanks for the cool comments!

    • profile image

      kelleyward 5 years ago

      This is an unusual idea for a cake and I Love It!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe and amazing pictures!!!! Kelley

    • JSParker profile image

      JSParker 5 years ago from Detroit, Michigan

      A very unusual idea for a hub and a recipe. I got lost in the darkness of the video, however. I'll take the cake, not the depression.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      PrairiePrincess--Yes, trust me. I was skeptical, too, but it turned out great. I was excited about it!Thanks for sharing!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      MargaritaEden--It's unique for sure. I was tickled to find it and try it--and love it!

    • prairieprincess profile image

      Sharilee Swaity 5 years ago from Canada

      Victoria, I must admit that this is a very scary concept to me: tomato soup in the same sentence as cake. But because I trust you, I believe you when you say that it was a huge hit. Great hub and very interesting recipe! I am sharing this one!

    • MargaritaEden profile image

      MargaritaEden 5 years ago from Oregon

      wow, looks so interesting, cake with tomato soup, never would have thought of that, great job!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      toomuchmint--Thanks for the great comments. I, too, think the cake is very interesting--so much history behind it!

    • toomuchmint profile image

      toomuchmint 5 years ago

      Congratulations Victoria, on your win! The background information on Sylvia Plath and the context of the recipe makes the dish all the more valuable. It's a great conversation piece for guests, and makes the cake even more interesting than the combination of soup and dessert.

      Great work!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Yes, ktrapp! I was pleasantly surprised to win one of the $50 prizes. And, yes, this recipe is even more special to me now. Thanks! :-)

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Simone--I think it's great for parties, as it has a story behind it. It's a great conversation piece! Glad you liked the photos, too. I loved writing this one. I may have to look into some more interesting recipes!

    • ktrapp profile image

      Kristin Trapp 5 years ago from Illinois

      Did I see you won $50 for this recipe? That's fabulous! I bet it makes you love this tomato cake even more!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Thanks, Vellur. It is quite unique and tastes quite unique (and good!) as well!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      molometer--Who knew that the recipe would actually be so tasty! It is! Yes, Plath had a sad and tortured life. Thanks for reading and for the 5 stars!

    • Simone Smith profile image

      Simone Haruko Smith 5 years ago from San Francisco

      What an incredibly intriguing confection! I love your review of it, and the photos you took are fabulous too! I'm so glad you've introduced me to the recipe. It would be GREAT to bring to parties, and I really want to give it a try.

    • Vellur profile image

      Nithya Venkat 5 years ago from Dubai

      A unique cake recipe. Should be great. The photo of the cake looks awesome. Voted up.

    • molometer profile image

      molometer 5 years ago from United Kingdom

      Tomato soup cake recipe, doesn't sound like it is going to be fun or tasty, but this looks like being both.

      Shame about Sylvia Plaths early demise via the gas oven, but she left a great recipe and some awesome literature.

      I think I tasted something like this whilst in South Africa. It was good.

      Nice work Vicki. 5 stars.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      I know, random! i even thought it was gross when I was mixing it up. And then it tasted great! A sweet saltiness--interesting and unique. Yeah, it was a big hit!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      ktrapp--Yeah, I thought it was a fun idea to have a theme. Yeah, Plath's life was a sad and tragic one. I liked the cake a lot--surprisingly! Great flavor!

    • randomcreative profile image

      Rose Clearfield 5 years ago from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

      How interesting! Tomato soup in a cake sounds pretty gross, but that's good to know that it's tasty. I can imagine what a hit this was with the English majors.

    • ktrapp profile image

      Kristin Trapp 5 years ago from Illinois

      What a fun luncheon idea for an English department and what a fun way to present a recipe. Yet how morbid that Sylvia Plath's life ended with her head in a gas oven. I have to say, the cake looks really moist and has a very nice color. I cannot imagine how it tastes, but anything with cream cheese frosting gets a thumbs up from me.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      I agree, Hyphenbird. Amazing what a can of tomato soup can do in a cake!!!

    • Hyphenbird profile image

      Brenda Barnes 5 years ago from America-Broken But Still Beautiful

      Fabulous! Unusual ingredients can make an amazing dish. I believe we are set on what food goes where )(and when) so we miss a lot of wonderful meals. Thanks for this lovely recipe.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Thanks, Debbie. Hope you like it! For the nutritional values, I go to a caloriecount website that analyzes recipes. I put in the ingredients and amounts, and it adds up what's in each ingredient calorie-wise and divides it by total servings. Voila!

    • Deborah Brooks profile image

      Deborah Brooks Langford 5 years ago from Brownsville,TX

      This recipe is amazing. I can't wait to try it..I can't seem to figure out the nutrition facts.. where did you get all that information?

      I love your recipe.. great pictures.. just excellent

      Debbie

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Yes, Peggy, Plath definitely had her demons, and they got the best of her. I don't make cakes much, but this one was fun! Glad you found it!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Thanks, Real! I was skeptical, too. Try it! Glad you liked the hub!

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 5 years ago from Houston, Texas

      Your title caught my eye. I never heard of the poet Sylvia Plaths. Sounds like she had her own special demons in her life while she was alive. The cake recipe sounds very interesting. I don't often make cakes, but just might have to give this one a try for some special occasion. Thanks! Voted useful and interesting.

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      Effer--That is like the best comment EVER! I love how you climbed up each branch of my hub. I love to cook but baking (as in desserts) isn't really my thing, either, but, like you, curiosity got me! I'm glad you enjoyed learning about Sylvia Plath, too, poor soul that she was. I want to read the book by Kate Moses, too! I'm glad you took the time to read about her.

      Again, I LOVE your comments. The one about the fisherman is priceless. I'm glad I hooked you and pulled you in! That makes me feel great, as I really enjoyed putting together this hub. I like trying new recipes, and of course I like writing and poetry and cool writers, so this all worked. Spreading a little knowledge while sharing a tasty recipe. Glad it worked well! Thanks so much again and again!

    • Victoria Lynn profile image
      Author

      Victoria Lynn 5 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      You're welcome Kaili! Good luck with it!

    • RealHousewife profile image

      Kelly Umphenour 5 years ago from St. Louis, MO

      Plath was fascinating and so was this hub!

      Tomato soup cake? Wow - I like tomato soup just as much as the next guy but in cake? I have to try this! lol I mean cake is cake right? lol

      Up and everything! I loved the writing about Sylvia Plath too - very interesting!

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 5 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      Vee...This hub is like a strong tree with beautiful branches. I mustered up the interest and energy to climb to the top, stopping a moment on each branch!

      I hope you don't mind if I say this is my FAVORITE of your works thus far....although I know you are aware, I love them all.

      Tomato soup & cake in the same sentence? hmmmm interesting to me. After all, my most treasured dessert is "Carrot Cake" (veggie & cake) But here's a secret, I am not at all fond of baking...and yet I know I will make this cake to satisfy my curiosity.

      I sincerely thank you for the introduction to Sylvia Plath, without which, I would not know of her. Makes sense that I'm not familiar with many poets, which I explained in my "Poetry is Greek To Me," hub. However, Sylvia is VERY intriguing to someone with my background, since she was a desperately troubled creature in need of aggresive therapy. Sad...so sad.

      Also never heard of Kate Moses....her writing style is beyond exquisite....and so, because of you, my friend, I'll be reading Kate's fictionalized account of Sylvia as my Tomato soup cake is cooling!!!

      Talk about an author who can HOOK her readers with a lure and some bait!! Are you SURE you're not a fisherman at heart?? Up, UP and UP again.

    • Kaili Bisson profile image

      Kaili Bisson 5 years ago from Canada

      The frosting looks amazing. I will give this a try...thank you for sharing!