ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Soul Food Restaurant Review

Updated on July 2, 2011

What is soul food?

Soul food is a term used to refer to a type of southern cooking associated with African-American culture. Soul food was originated in the beginning of the 14th century with enslaved Africans, who was very poor and eat from the throw-away of their plantation masters, so they learned how to turn adversity into triumph through the creativity of cooking.

African cooking was very simple, easy, and healthy; their cooking was from their soul and out of love for their families. Soul food was born out of necessity due to difficult circumstances of the times, their food supplies and ingredients were very limited and they had to make due with what little they had in order to make their dishes as tasty as possible to feed their families. These dishes are excellent and rich in tradition, and were passed down through generations and developed by African-Americans in the Southern regions into what’s commonly known today as “Soul Food”.

Experience Soul Food.

I was introduce to soul food a few years back , I was in my late twenties, one day on my way home from church I came upon this little store front restaurant displaying soul food cuisines and I stopped in and ordered some food. The display and array of food was very appetizing and after eating my appetite was satisfied, and I was quite please at the taste of the food, I was hooked.

When I think of soul food my mind automatically go to such food as barbeque ribs, baked macaroni & cheese, collard greens, carrots, corn on the cob, hush puppies, mash potatoes, rice, black eye peas, sweet potatoes, cabbage, green beans, coleslaw, pork chops, fry fish, fry chicken, fry shrimp, fry okra, and corn bread, just to name a few of the traditional tasty food.

You can find healthy, easy, and delicious soul food recipes at www.HeartRightFood.com

I am reminded of the scripture in Ecclesiastes 1:9 “there is nothing new under the sun everything that was is now.” Today people are having hard times financially and they have to make do with what they have and be creative to stretch the dollar to support their families. Today things are slightly different in the way that food is very prevalent in today’s society but never the less unaffordable to a lot of people, so they eat the cheapest food which is usually the unhealthiest.  Africans eat off the land all natural foods, they eat a lot of vegetables mostly, and they were healthy strong and energetic.

Soul food is really good food, it’s delicious and comforting and it makes you feel like you were home eating in with family of the past, its an emotional attachment to the past, I can’t really explain it but its good down in my soul, um - um finger licking good.

Mr. & Mrs Savage owners of Fish 'N' Loaves
Mr. & Mrs Savage owners of Fish 'N' Loaves
Catfish, french fries, hush puppies, grits, fry okra
Catfish, french fries, hush puppies, grits, fry okra
Chicken, macaroni & cheese, collard green
Chicken, macaroni & cheese, collard green
Jesus fed the multitude, food for the soul
Jesus fed the multitude, food for the soul

A nice little niche

I have discovered a great little restaurant that is rich in soul food & seafood dining, their food is scrumptiously delicious and their hospitality is very friendly, welcoming, warm and helpful. This little restaurant is located in “The Plaza” at 2550 W. Colonial Drive Suite 100, corner of John Young & W. Colonial drive, Orlando Fl, 32804. The name of the restaurant is called Fish ‘N’ Loaves, and it’s owned by Mr. (Pastor) Earl and Mrs. (Minister/Prophet) Sharon Savage of Walk by Faith Ministry in Ocoee Florida. This is a great soul food restaurant that provides seating to dine in, and you can call ahead and order take out, as well as they do provide catering services. The prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere is inviting, calming, and clean, the service is impeccable. You can reach them at 407 423-0800 

Fish ‘N’ Loaves restaurant has received high praises in the sentinel food review column for their cooking of traditional soul food and high marks for the taste of the food. I have eaten there several times and I can tell you personally that the food is outstanding. I especially love their hush puppies, no where else have I enjoyed the sweet taste of hushpuppies more than Fish ‘n’ Loaves, their pan - seared Tilapia is to die for, its delicious and healthy cooking makes your mouth water. The collard greens and green beans are very good, if you don’t care much for vegetable these two vegetable would change your negative view into positive because you would find yourself coming back for more.

People come from all over to eat at this restaurant and they give good review of the food to others, a lot of the clients that comes in is through word of mouth advertisement so that tells you right there that the food is good.

The Menu: Their menu is very well put together and their pricing is within reason and you do get a healthy size portion of food to satisfy your hunger and fill your stomach. The desserts are cake and pies and they are scrumptious.

GRAND OPENING

A second restaurant is opening downtown Church Street and its called “Fish N Loaves Downtown”; it’s across the street from the Amway Center, and they will be having their grand opening on March 1st, 2011.

Soul food is not just for African-Americans, it eaten and enjoyed by people of many cultural backgrounds.

Jesus fed the multitude with 2 fish and 5 loaves: Soul food is nutritious, and it feed the mind, body, and spirit.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • jagandelight profile imageAUTHOR

      jagandelight 

      7 years ago from Florida

      Thanks.

      Isn't it great food!

      Can you cook it?

    • AskAshlie3433 profile image

      AskAshlie3433 

      7 years ago from WEST VIRGINIA

      Yes, there is nothing like soul food. Grew up on it. Cool hub Jag. Best wishes to you.

    • Shelvajay profile image

      Shelvajay 

      7 years ago from If You Know Me Personally, You Know Where I Am...

      Yes, and thank you. I try! Considering doing some spare ribs, fried corn and scratch hotwater cornbread tomorrow. It is a blizzard going on right now in Chicago, good time to cook!

    • jagandelight profile imageAUTHOR

      jagandelight 

      7 years ago from Florida

      nice to meet you. It must be good times eating at your table. I bet you are a great cook.

    • Shelvajay profile image

      Shelvajay 

      7 years ago from If You Know Me Personally, You Know Where I Am...

      Yes, ma'am. I am a Soul Sister in Chicago, Illinois. And my Family is from the Great State of Mississippi. So this is in my Blood.

    • jagandelight profile imageAUTHOR

      jagandelight 

      7 years ago from Florida

      Thanks, I take it that you like soul food.

    • Shelvajay profile image

      Shelvajay 

      7 years ago from If You Know Me Personally, You Know Where I Am...

      Amen it does! Good read!!!!! thanks for sharing!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)