ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Carnegie Deli - A Review of a New York Kosher Deli Icon

Updated on August 7, 2013
Source
A marker854 7th Avenue New York, NY 10019 -
854 7th Avenue, New York, NY 10019, USA
get directions

If you are working on a New Year's resolution to lose weight, this article may not be for you. The Carnegie Deli, founded in 1937, is one of New York's most famous eateries. Located on Seventh Avenue and 55th Street, it is right in the middle of New York's exciting Midtown area and not far from the theater district, Central Park and Carnegie Hall, which was named after the deli (I made that up). The deli bills itself as a Kosher "style" deli. Milton Parker, the current owner, pens the letters "CPM" after his name. It stands for Corned Beef and Pastrami Maven. The deli is operated by Milton's daughter Marian Levine and her husband Sandy Levine.

When it first opened its doors the Carnegie Deli was a 40 seat restaurant. It has tripled in size since then. In 1979 the New York Times critic Mimi Sheraton declared that the pastrami sandwich from m the Carnegie Deli is the best in New York, beating out 22 other establishments. Dr. Phil, the TV shrink, has stated that you NEED to go to the Carnegie Deli if you visit New York. When a psychotherapist tells you that you need to do something, you pay attention.

Source

The Carnegie Deli Experience

· The Atmosphere. If you're looking for an intimate spot to propose marriage to your one and only, this is not the place. It's crowded, noisy and bright. It's New York. But you hear more than New Yawk Tawk. Your fellow diner may be from anywhere in the world. Try to get along with your fellow diners because they will be seated right next to you, in knee touching closeness. The place is usually packed all day long.

· No Credit Cards. How can such a popular restaurant not take credit cards? Because they don't have to. They receive a lot of criticism in reviews because they don't make this clear near the entrance.

· The service. You will read mixed reviews of the service at the Carnegie Deli, but in my personal experience I have always found it excellent. The wait staff is usually harried, given the size of the crowds, but they seem to have a uniformly good sense of humor and are quite attentive.

· The pickles. A typical sandwich in a diner may come with a half a pickle. At the Carnegie a bowl of pickles is delivered as soon as you sit down.

· The portions. As New Yorkers like to say, fuggedaboutit. Especially if you order one of the sandwiches, you will be amazed at how high the meat is piled. Always as for extra bread, and your request will be readily granted. Some of the wait staff bring the extra bread slices with your order because they know you will request it. Suffice it to say that no human mouth could fit around the opening of a Carnegie Deli sandwich. Take a look at the Woody Allen sandwich video to the right. Only a hippo could wrap its mouth around that sandwich. One sandwich can make for four meals! A logistical note. Seldom can two normal people finish a Carnegie sandwich, so plan to bring it back to your room refrigerator - or donate it to an unfortunate person.

The Carnegie Deli Strawberry Cheescake

Source

· The menu. There's more than sandwiches, although the Carnegie is most famous for them. Take a look at this menu.

· Where does the food come from? The Carnegie Deli cures, pickles and smokes its meats at its own factory in Carlstadt, New Jersey. They bake their famous cheescake on the premises.

The Carnegie Deli is as New York as the Empire State Building. The next time you're in the Big Apple for a visit, don't miss a stop at the Carnegie Deli.

Copyright © 2013 by Russell F. Moran

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • rfmoran profile image
      Author

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      Thanks for stopping by. Don't forget to ask for extra bread for take out. You'll never finish it in one sitting.

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 5 years ago from Idyllwild Ca.

      Next time I'm in N.Y. I'm stopping in to have me a sandwich. Thanks for the review.

    • shiningirisheyes profile image

      Shining Irish Eyes 5 years ago from Upstate, New York

      Excellent review. I actually visited the Carnegie Deli on several occasions during my trips to the city and I was certainly not disappointed.

    • rfmoran profile image
      Author

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      No doubt, 'tis the best

    • rfmoran profile image
      Author

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      Yes, up to their elbows!

    • Glimmer Twin Fan profile image

      Claudia Mitchell 5 years ago

      Nothing beats a Hot Pastrami on Rye with lots of deli mustard and a bowl of garlic pickles from the Carnegie Deli! I am salivating now. Awesome hub that has me remembering my days of living in NYC!

    • cynthtggt profile image

      Cynthia Taggart 5 years ago from New York, NY

      Do they wear gloves?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)