ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Types of Cichlid Dish

Updated on September 20, 2010

Types of Cichlid Dish

A lot of people have problems when understanding what cichlid fish type they are in front. This is because there are many possible species and they are all different in appearance and temperament. Even the feeding patterns noticed are different. Also, sometimes fish stores do give out inaccurate info and such a fact can make all a lot harder to properly understand. Although it can be really hard to sometimes identify cichlid types we can give you a number of useful tips that you can use. Let us now analyze what can be expected.

We should think about cichlid fish categories while analyzing appearance. We mean that we need to look at cichlid fish based on hobbies that include them and not scientifically. Categories mentioned below are created basd mostly on the use of physical appearance traits and are used to properly identify cichlids species. You can always find additional information so that you know what fish you are in front of. While thinking about this we can say that we have 4 main cichlid fish types: Neotropical, African, Asian and Madagascar.

If you want to properly identify a cichlid fish it must be first placed in one of the groups. Madagascar cichlids are really rare and you most likely never see them in any supermarket. Most Asian cichlids are oddball fish. Three main species currently exist in India and Sri Lanka and are a part of the Etroplus genus. The one that is most common is Etroplus maculates, also known as orange chromide. You will see that it is just around 2 inches long and will be really easy to breed. We should also mention the etroplus suratensis (commonly known as green chromide) and the rarest one, Etroplus canarensis.

Although there are roughly around one thousand five hundred species we can still mention a number of guidelines that can show you what you are dealing with. Sometimes you do need to look on the Internet or read some books to identify some species. Neotropical cichlids are usually divided in 5 main kinds: pike cichlids, cichlasoma-like cichlids, eartheater cichlids and apistogramma-like cichlids. African cichlid variations are: Lake Malawi cichlids, West African dwarf cichlids, Lake Victoria cichlids, Lake Tanganyikan cichlids and other cichlids.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.