ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Curried Noodles - Vegan, Gluten Free, Kosher

Updated on July 21, 2018
Natalie Frank profile image

Natalie Frank, a Ph.D. in clinical psychology, is the Managing Editor for Novellas & Serials at LVP Publishers. She also publishes fiction.

If you are looking for a good alternative to wheat based pasta, then Asian rice noodles are a good choice. They are extremely easy to make which is why they are the most common rice product used in Asian countries. You just have to soak them in water you’ve brought to a boil off the heat for a short period of time. Most brands are made with just rice flour and water without any other preservatives or additives that might add the risk of hidden gluten. This also means that it is easy to find brands that are certified vegan and kosher as well as gluten free.

RIce noodles come in different widths from very thin to wide. For this dish, you will need thin noodles, which may be called vermicelli or rice stick noodles. One brand I love especially for this dish is Osha RIce Vermicelli. One reason I prefer this product is that it doesn’t have a strong flavor so it won’t alter the taste of whatever dish you are making. The mild tasting noodles take on the flavor of the dish and this makes them great to use with all kinds of sauces or to add to favorite soups. They hold together well as opposed to some brands which tend to fall apart if cooked even a little bit too long and can therefore be used with dishes you use a high heat setting to make such as stir-frys.

Osha rice vermicelli are fat free and trans fat free which is an added bonus for health. They are under the kashrut supervision of MK of Manchester & Bais Din Beit Yosef of R’ Oivadiya Yosef and are certified Kosher for Passover (kitniyot) and all year around. If choosing another brand make sure to see that they are certified gluten free as some rice noodles have a small amount of wheat flour added for consistency.

Recipe

Servings: 6

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces thin rice noodles

  • 1 tablespoon peanut oil (vegetable oil may be substituted)

  • 1 medium yellow bell pepper, cut into thin strips

  • 1 medium red bell pepper, cut into thin strips

  • 1 medium white or yellow onion, cut into thin strips

  • 2 scallions, cut into ½ inch pieces (discard the bulb)

  • ½ carton fresh mushrooms, sliced

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (can use store bought in the jar)

  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced (can use store bought in the jar)

  • 2 teaspoons curry powder

  • ¼ teaspoon red pepper flakes

  • ½ cup vegetable broth

  • 3 tablespoons gluten free, kosher soy sauce

  • Juice from half a lime

Instructions:

  1. Place noodles in large bowl and cover with boiling water. Let soak for 15 minutes. Drain and cut in half.

  2. Heat oil in a large skillet or wok over medium high heat. Add red and yellow pepper strips and stir fry for 2 minutes.

  3. Add white or yellow onion, scallions, mushrooms, garlic and ginger and stir fry for 2 minutes.

  4. Add curry powder and crushed red pepper and stir for 1 minute

  5. Add vegetable broth and soy sauce and stir for 2 minutes.

  6. Add noodles and stir for 3 minutes or until heated all the way through.

  7. Remove from heat. Squeeze lime over dish, transfer to plates and serve.

Wine Pairings

If you want a wine that tones down the spiciness of the red pepper then there are several wines you might like. Try a slightly sweet white blend, with a hint of floral, such as a Chardonnay–Pinot Gris or Pinot Grigio blend. If you want another wine that will help decrease the effect of the spices try a fruity rose, an off-dry riesling, or a sweetly aromatic Gewürztraminer. For those who want to play up the heat of the dish, a young Chardonnay or spicy Shiraz will make your tongue sizzle.

There are several vegan Kosher for Passover (i.e. gluten free) wines available year round. One good winery that produces kosher, gluten free, vegan wine is Hafner Family Estate. Hafner produces a number of Kosher for Passover wines that are also vegan friendly, including several of the ones listed above. The vegan varieties are produced under the parent label, Hafner, as well as under the Queen Esther label. In particular, Hafner label wines that go well with this dish include a sweet, semi-dry Fermint-White Riesling and there is a nice floral Pinot Grigio and a light Shiraz under the Queen Esther label.

Types of Kosher Wines

There are different types of designations for kosher wine. These are listed below.

  • Certified Kosher - These wines are produced in accordance with Jewish dietary laws. No animal products including milk are used in making or bottling these wines though small amounts of egg may be used in the refining process.
  • Certified Kosher For Passover - These wines are made in accordance with Jewish dietary laws and haven’t come into contact with wheat and other types of grain or any leavened products. Most kosher wines are also certified Kosher for Passover which makes them a good choice for those observing a gluten free diet whether you keep kosher or not.
  • Certified Kosher Le Mehadrin - This designations means that the Jewish dietary laws have been stringently followed and this has been documented by an appropriate authority. There are Mehadrin wines that are also Kosher for Passover
  • Certified Mevushal - These wines are flash pasteurized during their production. Overall, because of this, many people find Mevushal wines to be of lower quality than non - mevushal wines.
  • Sacramental - Although not an official Kashrut classification, sacramental wine is often used in religious ceremonies such as when saying the blessing over the wine on the Sabbath and holidays. These wines are often very sweet and not of very good quality so they are not typically drunk as table wines. Manaschevets is probably the most well known type of kosher sacramental wine.

What Makes Wine Vegan?

Wine is clarified through a process termed ‘fining’. Young wines have a murkiness to them made up of small particles of proteins, tannin and other molecules. While not harmful these particles make the wine’s appearance less attractive. If left alone long enough, most will self-fine. But some winemakers use products to speed up the fining process. The products act as a magnet, attracting undesirable particles and fusing them into larger particles that are easier to remove.

The most frequently used fining products are casein (a milk protein), albumin (egg whites), gelatin (animal protein) and isinglass (protein from a fish bladder). It is assumed that these products are removed with the particles they have been used to bind but there may be some of the fining ingredient that has been absorbed by the wine.

While no animal products can be used in fining kosher wine, on occasion, egg whites are still used which isn’t a problem usually for vegetarians but is for vegans. Vegans should make sure that a wine is labeled as vegan to insure that no objectionable ingredients have been used in its production.

Are All Kosher Wines Vegan?

There has been a great deal of discussion to clarify what ingredients are used when producing kosher wine. There are some who say that all kosher wines are, in fact, vegan but this is incorrect. While there can be no animal products used when producing them and isinglass comes from a non-kosher fish and thus can't be used, sometimes egg whites are used as a fining agent.

Unfortunately, there is no push to label kosher wines as vegan and while a few are labeled this way, many which actually are vegan are not labeled as such. It is believed by most in the kosher wine that such labeling practices are unnecessary. This is because almost all of the fining agents are filtered out of the final product, and therefore they consider the wine to be vegan. However, as minute traces remain this is a problem for vegans.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Natalie Frank profile imageAUTHOR

      Natalie Frank 

      13 months ago from Chicago, IL

      I also like sipping wine while cooking though usually also fill the glass and carry it to the table when the meal is ready. The addition of protein would certainly be possible though I have to say I'm not a fan of tofu. Chick peas or maybe even black beans might work for me. Thanks for stopping by and for commenting.

    • Kenna McHugh profile image

      Kenna McHugh 

      13 months ago from Northern California

      I would pair the noodles with tofu or another type of protein - perhaps a bean like chickpeas. The wine pairing addition to the article is interesting. I never thought of that since I don't pair wine with my meals. I like wine, reds - Merlot, Cab, Pinot. I tend to sip wine while I prepare my meals. Thank you for sharing

    • Natalie Frank profile imageAUTHOR

      Natalie Frank 

      14 months ago from Chicago, IL

      I had a similar experience, Bill, thinking vegan = yuck. How could anything made without anything not just from animals but even produced by animals be any good? I was surprised to find how unbelievably delicious some of them were when I was introduced to vegan by a friend who is also an amazing cook.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      14 months ago from Olympia, WA

      A little story to explain my experience with vegan foods. I am in charge of the local farmers market, and we had a vegan donut maker ask if he could be a vendor. We permitted it, but I expressed concern that he might find it hard to sell anything at our market...how many vegans could there be at our market? He sold out three weeks in a row, proving once again how very little I really know. lol

    • Natalie Frank profile imageAUTHOR

      Natalie Frank 

      14 months ago from Chicago, IL

      Yes, Flourish, for non-kosher wine it isn't uncommon. Though there is currently a push to use clay particles for fining which will make it so there are no problems for vegans or others who don't like the idea of meat, milk or egg whites as part of their wine.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      14 months ago from USA

      I had no idea that animal products may have come into contact with wine during production as you describe here! Go figure!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)