ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Wells Banana Bread Beer - Detailed Review

Updated on March 3, 2013

Wouldn't you love to try, at least just for the sake of trying, a beer that smells like a banana cream pie with a drizzle of caramel? Never in my life had I dreamed of coming across such a beverage. Thanks to my desire for a first taste of Scotch eggs, my worse half and I decided to have dinner at a local English pub last night. We liked the place quite a bit. Bangers and fish'n chips seemed to be popular items. The television was showing a Premier League match. And yes, the Union Jack flags were part of the wall decorations. The fact that Johnny Cash's Walk the Line was blaring from the jukebox, however, somewhat jeopardized the "British-ness" of the pub. Anyway, since we were going to have a Scotch appetizer, we thought we might as well "brit up" our palates with an imported beer from the UK. That was when I spotted Wells Banana Bread Beer on the beverage menu. As someone who's always eager to experience whimsical foods, I knew it undoubtedly had to be my drink of the night.

Wells Banana Bread Beer
Wells Banana Bread Beer | Source

Wells Banana Bread Beer - In A Nutshell

Brewery
Wells and Young's, UK
Alcohol By Volume
5.2%
Color
Amber
Body/Mouthfeel
Between medium and light
Aroma
Banoffee
Taste
Malty with a dry finish
Accolade
"Beer of the Festival" award, CAMRA's London Drinker Festival, March 2002
Calories (12 oz bottle)
199

My Take on Wells Banana Bread Beer

It certainly fulfills what the label promises. At the very first sip, the beer hits me with its pronounced banoffee nose without being overwhelming. This unique brew delivers not the scent of plain banana but the more complex aroma of banana pastry with luxurious caramel and warm spices. Its dark golden brown color reminds me of a caramel as well, while its body is just a tad above thin and contains little carbonation. Its head or the foam on top is flimsy, off-white, and pretty quick to dissipate. At first, it tastes delicately malty and fresh, which I love. The faintly astringent aftertaste, however, is what I find a bit off-putting for my personal liking. Overall, I'd say it's a good beer. If you, like myself, have an adventurous palate that constantly yearns for playful combinations of flavors, Wells Banana Bread Beer could be something to add to your "favorite funky beers of all time" list. On the other hand, if you tend to prefer brews with a fuller body and more "serious" taste, chances are you might hate this fruity beer. But still, try it anyway! It doesn't taste as silly as it sounds.

Quick Survey

Would you try this beer?

See results

Wells Banana Bread Beer - Where to Buy in the U.S.

  • Large liquor stores - You will unlikely find this banana bread beer in a mainstream supermarket or grocery store. A liquor store with a wide array of imported alcoholic beverages is your best bet.
  • English pubs - Most of these pubs in the U.S. offer at least a few British beers. If you have one in your neighborhood, be sure to stop by and see if they have Wells Banana Bread Beer on their menu.
  • European grocery stores that sell liquor - It's not as promising as the two options above, but still, it's absolutely worth checking out.
  • Online - Yes, you can purchase anything online! More often than not, you will have to order at least a pack of four, though.

If you have tried this banana bread beer, feel free to rate it!

4 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of Wells Banana Bread Beer

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Om Paramapoonya profile imageAUTHOR

    Om Paramapoonya 

    5 years ago

    @chef-de-jour - Thanks for stopping by, chef-de-jour. Glad to know you also enjoy Wells banana bread beer. Old Speckled Hen sounds very interesting as well. What an awesome name for a beer. :)

  • chef-de-jour profile image

    Andrew Spacey 

    5 years ago from Near Huddersfield, West Yorkshire,UK

    Love Banana Bread beer - not too heavy, rich and quite versatile. I like your in depth analysis of a good old British beer. Might I point you in the direction of Old Speckled Hen (named after an MG sports car!...long story), Theakston's Old Peculier and Whitechapel Porter...amongst many too numerous to name.

    Quaff well! Votes and a share.

  • Om Paramapoonya profile imageAUTHOR

    Om Paramapoonya 

    5 years ago

    @lindacee - Hope you can find it, Linda. My guess is that you would like it ;)

  • lindacee profile image

    lindacee 

    5 years ago from Arizona

    I'm not much of a beer drinker, but am intrigued with all of the fanciful flavored brews out there. Some sound downright awful and others seem like they might be worth a go. Banana Bread Beer is just too quirky to pass up. Next time at the liquor store I will look for it. Hopefully I'll be able to buy it by the bottle, as a six-pack may just end up sitting for a long time in the fridge! Enjoyed reading the review and hearing about your pub experience. Voted up, useful and awesome! :)

  • Om Paramapoonya profile imageAUTHOR

    Om Paramapoonya 

    5 years ago

    @BLACKANDGOLDJACK - Banana bread beer for breakfast? Heheee...I might try that, too! Thanks for the wonderful idea!

    @truthfornow - If you like bananas, you'll probably at least think this beer smells awesome! As for the taste, I don't know. Hope you enjoy it, though.

    @prasetio - Thanks for your comment and vote, Pras. Always glad too hear from you :)

    @Ruchira - Thanks, Ruchira. Glad to hear you found this beer interesting!

  • Ruchira profile image

    Ruchira 

    5 years ago from United States

    Never tried it on. Infant heard it the first time:)

    Will look out for it, next time.

    Thanks! Voted up as interesting.

  • prasetio30 profile image

    prasetio30 

    5 years ago from malang-indonesia

    It sound great. But unfortunately, I don't drink beer. I will always give my vote to you. Thanks for writing and share with us. Voted up!

    Prasetio

  • truthfornow profile image

    truthfornow 

    5 years ago from New Orleans, LA

    I would give it a try. Not much of a beer drinker, but I do like bananas.

  • BLACKANDGOLDJACK profile image

    Jack Hazen 

    5 years ago from Blitzburgh area

    Oh yeah, I'd give it a go. Maybe for breakfast.

    I had a caramel porter recently that was excellent. I'm drinking a Dundee India Pale Ale right now. Although I think maybe it was brewed in Australia by Crocodile Dundee and not India.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)