ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

What Do Vegetarians Eat?

Updated on August 5, 2010


There are many different categories of vegetarianism because there are many different reasons that people choose an alternative diet.  Whether you choose a Su Vegetarian diet, Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian diet or Vegan diet depends on why you are excluding certain foods.  Generally speaking, people choose a diet for reasons including health, ethics, environment, religion, culture, aesthetics, allergies and economics.  I've broken down the definitions of the various vegetarian diets below.

Ovo-Lacto Vegetarianism

The ovo-lacto vegetarian is the most common category of vegetarian and is usually simply referred to as vegetarian.  Ovo-lacto vegetarians do not eat meat.  They don't eat fish, crustaceans, poultry or red meat.  The "ovo-lacto" qualification in the title means that they do eat other animal products such as eggs and milk products. 

Lacto Vegetarianism

Lacto Vegetarianism is very similar to ovo-lacto vegetarianism.  The only difference is that lacto vegetarians don't eat eggs.  To be clear, lacto vegetarians don't eat any animal flesh or eggs, but they do eat milk products.

Ovo Vegetarianism

As you've probably already deduced, ovo vegetarians don't eat any animal flesh or milk products, but they do eat eggs.


As the vegan diet becomes more mainstream, the distinction from vegetarianism is more clear.  However, I still come across quite a few people who don't know what vegans eat and don't eat.  Vegans do not eat any animal flesh or animal products, such as eggs or milk.  There is some debate in the vegan community on whether honey is included in the vegan diet.

Raw Veganism

The raw vegan diet includes only fresh, uncooked vegetables and fruit, nuts and seeds.  Raw vegans do not eat any animal meat or products.


Fruitarians do not eat any animal products or flesh.  The fruitarian diet includes only fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds that can be collected without harming the plant that produced them.

Su Vegetarianism

This vegetarian diet is mostly followed by Buddhists.  Su vegetarians do not eat any animal flesh or products and also exclude vegetables in the allium family, such as onions, garlic, scallions and leeks.

Some people identify as vegetarians, but still eat fish and/or poultry.  Strictly speaking, a vegetarian diet excludes all meat by definition.  There are probably a lot of reasons for this mistake in labels but a more accurate term for this diet is semi-vegetarian.

Vegetarianism is usually associated with diet but many vegetarians do not use or purchase any product that is tested on animals or comes from an animal, such as skin or fur.  Many animal-friendly brands will advertise that they don't test their products on animals.

I've included some great resources below, for different perspectives on the vegetarian diet.  If you still have questions, feel free to leave them in the comments section and I'll do my best to answer.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image


      7 years ago

      I have always wondered what vegetarians eat!

      Thanks for explaining. The amazing thing is once i found your hub i came across this great website called Vegetarian Newbie . I joined their free newsletter and recieve a free report .

      Another great resource

    • profile image


      7 years ago

      "There is some debate in the vegan community on whether honey is included in the vegan diet."

      No, there isn't. That's ridiculous.

      The Vegan Society -- the founders of veganism, and therefore the authority on veganism -- defined veganism as:

      "Veganism is a way of living that seeks to exclude, as far as possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing and any other purpose."

      Are bees animals? Yes, they are. And in some of their definitions they also specifically mention honey as a no-no. There's only "debate" among ignorant people that don't seem to get that insects are animals, too, or people who want to cling to some trendy vegan title when it doesn't apply. These are the same sort of people who call themselves vegetarian and then eat chicken and fish. If you eat intentionally and knowingly honey, you're not vegan, period.

      Also, note again The Vegan Society definition. Veganism is not a diet. It is a philosophy that informs many choices, including but definitely not limited to one's diet.

      As for "semi-vegetarians", that makes as much sense as "semi-vegetarians" that eat beef. Eating more, smaller animals doesn't bring you closer to vegetarianism.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)