ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Dietary Laws

Updated on May 22, 2010

Dietary laws are laws indicating which foods or combinations of foods may be eaten or must be abstained from, according to certain religious principles. Although such laws are generally associated with the Jewish tradition, their origin is pre-Israelitic, and their practice was known to the ancient Babylonians, Egyptians, and Hindus. Most scholars are convinced that the dietary laws of the Old Testament, known as Kashrut, were established to stress holiness, discipline, or moral sensitivity, rather than for hygienic reasons. They identify which foods are kosher, or suitable for eating; forbidden foods are known as trayfah, or unfit, a term originally referring to an animal that had been torn apart by predatory beasts. The laws are specifically described in Deuteronomy 14. Listed among the "abominable" or "unclean" foods are fish without scales or fins (such as shellfish), birds of prey, insects, and reptiles. Among mammals, only those that have cloven hoofs and chew their cud are permitted; hares and pigs are among the animals specifically forbidden.

The laws of the Kashrut dictate not only which animals may be eaten but the method of slaughter as well. The animal must be killed by an expertly trained and religiously observant Jew (a shohet), using a clean, sharp knife to sever the animal's windpipe with a single stroke. Blood, as a symbol of life, cannot be eaten, and is to be drained out of the animal; traces of blood are removed by washing and salting. Animals that die from natural causes or have been killed by wild beasts cannot be eaten, because of ethical considerations.

The commandment "You shall not boil a kid in its mother's milk" (Exodus 23:19) is thought to be the origin of the Talmudic prohibition against having meat and milk or milk products at the same meal. Meat and milk products are prepared in separate pots and served on dishes that are carefully differentiated. Foods that are designated as parue, or neutral, such as fish, eggs, vegetables, and fruits, can be eaten with either meat or dairy dishes.

Traditional Jews (Orthodox and Conservative) continue to follow the dietary commandments. Some Reform Jews consider them as a means of separation and tend to disregard them.

The New Testament rejected dietary laws as a means of separation or of establishing religious identity. In Mark 7:19, all foods are declared clean. Food laws have been retained, however, by certain Christian sects, as well as by Muslims. Other dietary laws, seemingly unrelated to those of the Old Testament though possibly also springing from an effort to instill holiness and discipline, are found throughout the world— among Hindus, for example.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)